Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
1234.964295
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

I have been the sponsor of several special needs cats at the Hermitage. This is a wonderful organization. The staff really care for the cats, and have made great strides in finding forever homes for more and more cats over the years. This is a no kill shelter, they care for cats that can't be adopted as well.
The marketing department at the Hermitage has come up with some very creative strategies over the years. I loved the Cat Camp idea, also the Men who Love Cats Calendar, and the Kitten Shower. The ads for the Thrift Store were excellent too.
Most Pet Rescue organizations are deserving of support, but in my opinion the Hermitage stands out as one of the best. They take excellent care of the cats and their fundraising efforts are creative, humorous, and always upbeat and in good taste.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think that even more efforts to involve our youth would be beneficial. It is so important for young people to understand the importance of pets in our lives.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

When no one else listens, The Hermitage is there; I have proof.

I have been trapping, neutering and releasing a colony of feral cats for 8 months and one of them went missing 5 days ago. I found her in a neighbor's yard, severely injured and hiding under a shed. The neighbor was
uncooperative in allowing me to place a trap on his property; he also had a large dog whom he said would kill the cat if she came out.

I called everyone: the Police, Animal Control, the Animal Defense League, the Animal Cruelty Taskforce, the media, private wildlife rescue organizations, feral cat networks, even veterinarians. No one would help because the cat was on private property. Today it was 100 degrees and the cat had been without food, water and medical care for days; I was desperate and the homeowner was becoming belligerent with my efforts to coax the cat off his property without trespassing.

I called The Hermitage and explained the situation to the Executive Director. Within an hour the Cat Care Manager (Michele Wilson) and two rescue techs (Ken and Carina) were on the property with nets, traps and supplies. While they were unable to catch the cat, they were successful in getting her off the property and back to her colony where I feel confident I can trap her and get her medical care.

I was beginning to feel like I was the only person crazy enough to care so much, but I today I learned I'm not. I am enormously grateful to The Hermitage, their staff and their mission and will continue to donate whatever and whenever I can so they can continue to save cats' lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Build them a state-of-the-art hospital and shelter.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 17, 2013

more

May 17, 2013

The Hermitage is te best place for kitties of all ages and in all stages of health to find loving care and acceptance! I have donated and will continue to do so, especially when I hear from friends and from FB postings that their work continues to make a huge difference!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NONE!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I went to the Hermitage to talk about bringing in a stray cat that was hanging around our house. We already had an old female cat who did not take kindly to strange cats. However, the staff at Hermitage talked to me about things I could do to help the cats get used to each other. I never wanted to have another cat while my old girl was still alive, but following their advice made it possible for us to care for the stray which turned out to be a very affectionate and gentle cat. He's now part of our family and is very respectful of our elderly cat. Having toured the Hermitage, seen how the cats were cared for, and interacted with a staff who clearly love cats and care about their well being, I decided that the Hermitage would be my charity of choice because I love cats too, and am so glad that there is a no-kill, compassionate shelter like the Hermitage. We need more places like this!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

I originally donated to this organization (I am a fundraising in another state) because a dear friend, now deceased, was involved. She volunteered, donated, and cared for the cats...and I respected her opinion. Being a no-kill shelter is important and this shelter maintains this policy with integrity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

I became acquainted with Hermitage three or four years ago when I saw the cutest You Tube video of a kitty named Missy. I contacted the shelter and was happy to be able to sponsor her. Soon after Missy was adopted :) and I have sponsored four or five other kitties since then - and continue to. I have never visited the shelter because I live in Boise, Idaho but I read their posts every day, see their pictures and just feel the love and such caring that these volunteers have for their little buddies. Three years ago my husband and I adopted two five month old brothers from our local shelter. They were picked up from the streets when they were four months old. They are the most loving, personality-plus cats I've ever had. Every time I see a picture or story of a Hermitage cat I look at my guys and say a little prayer that that Hermitage kitty's "forever family" discovers them soon so that their life will be as blessed as ours have been.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 20, 2012

more

January 20, 2012

When my mother named me Tabitha, she knew she had a cat fan from a very young age. Tabi, Tabby, and Tabby cat are the only nicknames I remember as a child. So now, in my late 20's, I am the crazy cat lady. I know my limits, which is why the Hermitage is such a great place. I know I can't take care of 50 cats, but if I did, I would. Instead, I can go to a place like the Hermitage and know that these cats are well taken care of until their dying day. Even those that have FIV, or cancer, or something else that most people would put the animal down, these people at the Hermitage work day and night to make sure these 500+ cats are happy and healthy. What gets me is, if you take the tour of the place, every single volunteer there knows every cat's name. It's not just 'oh, that's fluffy'. It's 'there's Winston, waiting for his wet food' (I am Winston's sponsor). Anyone who asks me where to get a cat, immediately gets the Hermitage as a response. I've never seen a better place for a homeless cat to go.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've adopted a Maine Coon from them, and have visited numerous times.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have a bigger property, or more donations!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Every cat needs a home, a place to snuggle, and of course, a fat belly.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

Because there are 2 cats that really struck my heart, and I couldn't let go. Winston and Bubba. If I could, those boys would be at home with me now, curled up on my bed, or in a chair. At least the funds I send each month help keep Bubba and Winston warm at night.

What would you tell others about this organization?

That they are, by far, a phenomenal organization, one that truly cares.

January 6, 2012

more

January 6, 2012

The Hermitage Cat Shelter is a wonderful organization of dedicated cat caregivers. We have been supporters ever since we moved to Tucson 9 years ago and discovered the shelter. We have not yet the opportunity to adopt a cat from the shelter as the cat we moved here with is comfortable only in a single cat household. However, we have no hesitation whatsoever in highly recommending the Hermitage Cat Shelter for anyone wishing to adopt a cat who needs a home. Even if you cannot adopt, please consider financially or otherwise supporting the Hermitage Cat Shelter for the wonderful work it does.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Participate in Off-site Adoption events, Help keep the shelter clean for our resident kitties, Help to socialize shy kitties, help with administrative duties. Volunteer