Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
1234.958335
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

I've been a donor to The Hermitage for about 10 years and a Board member for 4 years. I continue to be impressed by the care the staff give the cats. They know the cats' names and their stories. I'm especially proud that the shelter provides a home for "special needs" cats, with medical or physical disabilities. These cats would not do well in another type of shelter.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

I have been involved with the shelter for over two years now and became Board President last year. Shelter staff and the Board work hard to make the Hermitage "The Best Little Cathouse in Tucson" Our cats are well cared for and loved.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I became a donor to The Hermitage in 1998, soon after moving to Tucson. In 2002, after my 20-year old cat died, my adopted son and I went to The Hermitage to find a kitten for him and an older (preferably tortoiseshell) cat for my husband and me. My son picked out a wonderful grey tabby kitten and I found a crazy half-Siamese tortie. They are wonderful cats. Three years ago, I joined the Board of Directors and have been impressed by the care the staff members and other board members show to the cats. I'm pleased that the shelter limits the number of cats to about 200, as that permits better care for the cats. The board members and staff are committed to serving the cats who are permanent residents due to medical conditions, and finding forever homes for the others. The Hermitage also has a Trap-Neuter-Release program to reduce the number of feral cats in Tucson, which is a great community service.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 14, 2012

more

January 14, 2012

I have been a supporter of The Hermitage since the mid-90s when a dear friend told me the story of Sister Seraphim and her cat shelter. The moment you enter The Hermitage you know it is a special place.The people who work and volunteer here do so out of pure love for cats and a desire to make a difference. We all work very hard to rescue cats who are in need and find homes for as many as possible. For those who have not been fortunate enough to be adopted, we provide a lifetime of care and security under our roof. Since 1965, we've done this with the help of private donations from people who believe in what we do. Our founder believed that animals are innocent beings and it is our responsibility to care for them. I agree completely and am so very proud to be a part of this noble legacy as a volunteer, board member and most importantly, a donor.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 12, 2012

more

January 12, 2012

I am a Board member for the Hermitage, but both my husband and I volunteer at the shelter. While we have not yet adopted a cat(s) from the shelter (we have four already), we certainly think every day about it!!. The staff and volunteers are terrific and very dedicated to the cats. All of the Board members spend considerably time in developing better ways to care for the cats and promote the shelter. I am proud to be involved with the Hermitage and look forward to many more years of helping the cats. Jean Getek

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Participate in Off-site Adoption events, Help keep the shelter clean for our resident kitties, Help to socialize shy kitties, help with administrative duties. Volunteer