Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
1234.964295
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

I got my two kitties from here, an elderly tabby lady and a young mama who is tabby and white, and they are the lights of my life! The hermitage took such good care of them and made sure that they didn't get overlooked even though they weren't kittens. Whenever I go there the hermitage is clean with lots of places for cats of all temperaments and abilities to be comfortable and safe-- it is truly a unique and wonderful place!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hmmmm... give them more money to help take care of the kitties! Does that count?

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

Wonderful staff that are very active in social networking to find homes for their cats. The care they take of their kitties (and the adopters as well) is fantastic. Their thrift store has a wonderful selection of cat and people things. I needed a replacement for my flat screen monitor and found one there at a very reasonable price. We got our current kitty from them and when we have more room, we'll be going back to them for another.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 12, 2014

more

June 12, 2014

The Hermitage was able to help me and my family out of a painful and difficult situation. I adopted my cat from a shelter and he was with me for about 5 years without any issues before he started acting out and urinating on things. Without going into a very long story that lasted years and cost many thousands of dollars, his problem got worse and worse. My husband and I tried every method that we could find including medication to get him to stop. We ended up with a completely ruined home and although we loved our cat, after I had our son, we had to make the difficult decision to find a new home for our cat. No one we knew would take him with his issue and the more I researched, the more I thought there was no hope. Euthanasia was not an option. When I first contacted The Hermitage, they were supportive. Although they had no room for him at that time, they said they would contact me if they did. I kept in contact with them and they made arangements to take him. We drove him almost 2 hours away to leave him there forever. Without the Hermitage and what they do, I'm not sure what we would have done. I will forever be grateful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 7, 2013

more

November 7, 2013

The staff is wonderful! They are very helpful and informative about the cats. They know their names and personalities. You are welcomed to a tour of the facility and meet each cat, to make the right choice for you and your new Buddie.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

Out family- traditional nuclear, adopted 2 kittens from this shelter. The kittens are great and came with antibiotic ointment for 1 as he had eye infection. Clean and loving staff- our family is really happy and kittens are doing great. Thanks!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

The Hermitage No-Kill Cat Shelter is an oasis of kindness in a world of cruelty and apathy. It is a critical animal care resource but also an incredible human resource that inspires everyone who visits it with the kindness and humanity that pervades the shelter.

The Hermitage is a
wonderful, fun place from the moment you walk in. The cats roam around and lounge in comfort and the volunteers are always busy attending to them.

I love the Hermitage and their volunteers and staff for the kind and empathetic work they do- it goes well beyond helping cats. It restores faith in humanity, and that may be its most important role.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Sell more Hermitage merchandise to help support the shelter.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 17, 2013

more

May 17, 2013

They are great. The place is verry clean and all the kittys are well taken care of. The can we adopted is doing great and we love her very much. one of the things I love the most is how much they know about every individual cat personality.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them a bigger building so they can help more cat

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 17, 2013

more

May 17, 2013

Not only have I adopted from the Hermitage, but I used to volunteer for them too. There is something wonderful about a place where the animals come first, and it is the people who genuinely provide the care it takes to manage a no-kill, cage-free cat shelter where no matter what, every kitty has a home. I constantly recommend them to friends and family who are looking for pets, and to young people looking for a good way to support their community. I have always, and will always support The Hermitage, may it continue its existence for another 50 years!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 10, 2013

more

May 10, 2013

In addition to visiting The Hermitage Cat Shelter as an adopter I also contributed to the shelter after seeing what an impressive facility it is. The shelter is very large and spacious and the cats enjoy free reign in open areas with plenty of places to climb, rest and play.

The staff
genuinely love cats and do their work with pride and care. It is uplifting to see. This facility is a model for a cat sanctuary and a great place to adopt from and to offer support to.

The Hermitage Cat Shelter is a must-visit resource for cat and animal lovers. They do a wonderful job and I am very thankful for them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

I have had the experiences of working with the volunteers on the board, being a donor, an adoption recipient as well as having to use the shelters services for a family pet that was not able to remain in our home any longer. Throughout all of these circumstances the Hermitage Cat Shelter was amazing. They are dedicated to the welfare of saving, nurturing and loving the many cats that are desperate need. Making sure that none go over the rainbow bridge before their time. There should be more shelters like this in the world!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Participate in Off-site Adoption events, Help keep the shelter clean for our resident kitties, Help to socialize shy kitties, help with administrative duties. Volunteer