Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
49 Reviews
1234.959185
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
June 12, 2014

more

June 12, 2014

The Hermitage was able to help me and my family out of a painful and difficult situation. I adopted my cat from a shelter and he was with me for about 5 years without any issues before he started acting out and urinating on things. Without going into a very long story that lasted years and cost many thousands of dollars, his problem got worse and worse. My husband and I tried every method that we could find including medication to get him to stop. We ended up with a completely ruined home and although we loved our cat, after I had our son, we had to make the difficult decision to find a new home for our cat. No one we knew would take him with his issue and the more I researched, the more I thought there was no hope. Euthanasia was not an option. When I first contacted The Hermitage, they were supportive. Although they had no room for him at that time, they said they would contact me if they did. I kept in contact with them and they made arangements to take him. We drove him almost 2 hours away to leave him there forever. Without the Hermitage and what they do, I'm not sure what we would have done. I will forever be grateful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 7, 2013

more

November 7, 2013

The staff is wonderful! They are very helpful and informative about the cats. They know their names and personalities. You are welcomed to a tour of the facility and meet each cat, to make the right choice for you and your new Buddie.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

Out family- traditional nuclear, adopted 2 kittens from this shelter. The kittens are great and came with antibiotic ointment for 1 as he had eye infection. Clean and loving staff- our family is really happy and kittens are doing great. Thanks!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

The Hermitage No-Kill Cat Shelter is an oasis of kindness in a world of cruelty and apathy. It is a critical animal care resource but also an incredible human resource that inspires everyone who visits it with the kindness and humanity that pervades the shelter.

The Hermitage is a
wonderful, fun place from the moment you walk in. The cats roam around and lounge in comfort and the volunteers are always busy attending to them.

I love the Hermitage and their volunteers and staff for the kind and empathetic work they do- it goes well beyond helping cats. It restores faith in humanity, and that may be its most important role.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Sell more Hermitage merchandise to help support the shelter.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 17, 2013

more

May 17, 2013

They are great. The place is verry clean and all the kittys are well taken care of. The can we adopted is doing great and we love her very much. one of the things I love the most is how much they know about every individual cat personality.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them a bigger building so they can help more cat

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 17, 2013

more

May 17, 2013

Not only have I adopted from the Hermitage, but I used to volunteer for them too. There is something wonderful about a place where the animals come first, and it is the people who genuinely provide the care it takes to manage a no-kill, cage-free cat shelter where no matter what, every kitty has a home. I constantly recommend them to friends and family who are looking for pets, and to young people looking for a good way to support their community. I have always, and will always support The Hermitage, may it continue its existence for another 50 years!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 10, 2013

more

May 10, 2013

In addition to visiting The Hermitage Cat Shelter as an adopter I also contributed to the shelter after seeing what an impressive facility it is. The shelter is very large and spacious and the cats enjoy free reign in open areas with plenty of places to climb, rest and play.

The staff
genuinely love cats and do their work with pride and care. It is uplifting to see. This facility is a model for a cat sanctuary and a great place to adopt from and to offer support to.

The Hermitage Cat Shelter is a must-visit resource for cat and animal lovers. They do a wonderful job and I am very thankful for them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

I have had the experiences of working with the volunteers on the board, being a donor, an adoption recipient as well as having to use the shelters services for a family pet that was not able to remain in our home any longer. Throughout all of these circumstances the Hermitage Cat Shelter was amazing. They are dedicated to the welfare of saving, nurturing and loving the many cats that are desperate need. Making sure that none go over the rainbow bridge before their time. There should be more shelters like this in the world!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 28, 2012

more

December 28, 2012

I first heard about the shelter after a friend passed and his family requested donations in lieu of flowers. As I researched Hermitage, I was quite impressed by their policies. Some months later, I was finally ready to adopt a new kitten and so went to Hermitage to visit. What a wonderful facility! The cats and kittens all looked so healthy and happy. No cages. Just cats lounging on cat trees. I petted and loved on many cats that day. One tiny kitten, however, won my heart and I has been with me for nearly 2 weeks now. He's healthy and happy and just want I needed in my life. I hope to not only continue supporting Hermitage with donations but find time to volunteer there. Everyone at the shelter was kind and cheerful. Cat lovers with big hearts.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Hermitage is such a wonderful place. I love cats and have always cared about their well being. All shelters try their best but the Hermitage has created an atmosphere that is centered around cats' needs. They are very caring, do their best to love the cats and keep them healthy. They take in unwanted cats and find adoptive homes for those who can be adopted. Those who are too sick get extra special care and the Hermitage is a no-kill shelter, so cats are taken care of no matter how sick or what type of behavioral problem. They understand cats, and do all they can for them. This is the main charity of have donated to over the years, and will continue to as I am able. This place is an inspiration to me and it blesses me to know about this place and the people who work and volunteer there.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Participate in Off-site Adoption events, Help keep the shelter clean for our resident kitties, Help to socialize shy kitties, help with administrative duties. Volunteer