Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
1234.964295
Write A Review
August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

I volunteer at the Hermitage as much for myself as for the cats, and I know that their care and lives count to every employee there! Because this is a no-kill facility, all of the cats (including special needs cats) will have a home there for the rest of their lives if necessary. As human beings I think we will be judged by how we care for our animals (among other things), and the Hermitage is an excellent example of that. It is also fun to share in the joy of adoptions of both the adult cats and the delightful kittens, knowing that they will become members of a new family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was so happy to volunteer here and felt like even the first day there I made a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 21, 2013

Hermitage was an amazing in helping me with 2 boxes of kittens that were abandoned at my church; I took the kitties home that were ducted taped into a couple of plastic boxes with the tiniest of holes... more

August 19, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

A year or two ago, I was at church and noticed 2 plastic boxes that were duct taped out front, didn't think much of it until I came out of mass and a woman was beside herself. She was furious that inside the nearly airless, duct taped boxes were 8 kittens, different litters. They were put in with some kitty litter, they could barely breath and were scared, hungry and probably sick.
No one at church wanted to take them, so I took them home, gave them a bath, washed them up and fed these kitten's that were about 6 weeks old, one of them was about 8-10 weeks old.
My husband reminded me that our two 15 year old cats (at the time), were not happy about this, so as much as I was enjoying the babies, I had to find a solution that was humane; I was NOT going to take them to PACC because I KNOW they put them down, and that wasn't going to happen on my time. I strongly believe that the Ten Commandments when it says 'Thou shalt NOT kill' means animals, as well, for me (and probably many others)

So, I contacted Hermitage No-Kill Cat Shelter, I knew of them but never contacted them prior to this, and they took them in. They nursed them back to health, and found homes for all of them. They were so nice to keep me in the loop of their results. I was so happy that they were the ones I brought them to be saved. SPCA at the time was full.

Since then, I offered to do murals for them. I donated a mural in thanks for their kindness to animals. Bless ALL those who work with these animals. Thank for Sr. Seraphim for starting such a wonderful thing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes, gosh! I wish I had the money, I'd get them a new floor that they desperately need, maybe some new run areas for the kitties, and well, they need everything. I have seen some cool fun wall blocks that are fun for cats, that would be nice to do too. I hope that they bring awareness to having cats as a wonderful family member is a long wonderful life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Hermitage was an amazing in helping me with 2 boxes of kittens that were abandoned at my church; I took the kitties home that were ducted taped into a couple of plastic boxes with the tiniest of holes for breathing; nearly suffocated them in the kitty litter the 'human' left them in. I washed them, fed them and knowing I couldn't keep these babies; I called and found Hermitage, they took them all in, 8 I think there were. They got them back to health; and found them all homes. I was so moved that I being an artist, felt I need to do something nice for them, I painted a room with a mural for them.. the whole room in thanks for doing this for the kittens. These people have been exceptional in kindness towards animals, they even helped someone find their pet mouse, dogs even to post on their internet sites. We need more people like the ones who work/volunteer at Hermitage No-Kill Cat shelter. It gives me hope for humanity towards animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had the money! I'd build them a whole new facility, they need new concrete floors, new building, new cat area's, specialty areas for special needs cats, and hospital area. I know myself well, I'd do that for them if I had money to do it for them, but I can't so I paint murals for them. It's the least I could do as a caring human.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
January 6, 2012

AWESOME ORGANIZATION......I have been volunteering at the Hermitage for just about a year now and I started out with grooming and working with the shy cats 2 hours a week....now I'm there 3-4 days a w... more

May 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering at the Hermitage No Kill No Cage Cat Shelter for almost 2 1/2 years. The 8000+ square foot indoor/outdoor facility gives the kitties the best of both worlds--safe outdoor area for the feral or unsocialized kitties to hide and an indoor area for those days that either get too cold or too hot. Sister Seraphin started an awesome shelter for animals that has grown immensely over the years and continues to get better. I think of nothing else when I am there--whether it be cleaning, socializing, or just giving an extra pet to each one. If you've never been at this shelter, it is a must see!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 6, 2012

AWESOME ORGANIZATION......I have been volunteering at the Hermitage for just about a year now and I started out with grooming and working with the shy cats 2 hours a week....now I'm there 3-4 days a week. They are a great organization and have rescued many cats from the Pima Animal Control Center giving them a chance at a full and loving life, whether it be at the shelter or with their furever family! They provide loving care to the sick and aging kitties that need a little extra TLC as well as the little ones with URIs. Their #1 priority is the cats..................and that's the way it should be! I'll be volunteering there for a very long time to come!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 17, 2013

more

May 17, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about this place. I first encountered the Hermitage when I was trying to place a cat whose owner could no longer care for them. The shelter took him in, even though they were filled to capacity, and worked so that he were almost instantly adopted out. I began volunteering there and one thing that impresses me is the overall kindness and respect given to every cat who is accepted through the doors. Even special needs cats whose prospects of adoption are low are treated with loving kindness and affection. This means that potential owners are vetted carefully to ensure that each cat receives optimal placement. I love this place--volunteering there is the highpoint of my week.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to update and upgrade the physical plant.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

Soon after I moved to Tucson seven years ago I discovered The Hermitage. The shelter was clean, the cats were healty, the staff had gone thru the process of becoming a 501(c)3, and I decided that was a place I wanted to volunteer.
I was impressed that all cats were healthy, chipped, and
neutered before they were adopted out. (And there have been many, many adoptions through the years.) I think the one thing that made me want to belong there was I knew if a cat was never adopted, it had a good place to live out its years.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We, my husband and myself own Gabi Kat Grooming, cats only mobile in Tucson. We volunteer by bringing our grooming van to Hermitage each Friday to groom as many cats that day as we can. So far our record is 2 hours after grooming the cat got adopted! How great is that. We bath, shave and trim the cat. And get to spend about an hour loving on them. The cat are not in cages, they get to roam around be in the sun, up in a cat tree, where ever they feel happy at the moment. This summer we adopted 3 kittens that needed a home together. They are the best boys. We look forward to our Friday grooming visits...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 19, 2012

more

December 19, 2012

I have spent the last year or so volunteering for the Hermitage Cat Shelter and these are some great folks! The staff know the kitties pretty well and take good care of them. The cats are fed regularly and the medical staff do a great job of keeping up with updating the cats on their vaccinations, treatments, and other medical needs. Through the Hermitage, I have learned a lot about the health and care of my cats and have gained a much greater appreciation of our feline friends.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 11, 2012

more

January 11, 2012

I am a volunteer at the Hermitage Cat Shelter and I love this place! The cats are very well taken care of by all of the staff. Each staff member and volunteer really has a heart for each of the cats and take the time to get to know the cats. The Hermitage has been making huge strides in getting the word out to people about their mission and have gotten hundreds of cats adopted out to good homes. The kitties have a wonderful home at the shelter before they get adopted!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have had contact with the Hermitage on many occasions and under many different circumstances. I rescue and foster neurologically impaired cats as well as those who have other special needs or those who are elderly. Over the years I have fostered for, adopted from, donated, and volunteered for the Hermitage. On one occasion I needed assistance from them as well and they were quick to assist. Each time I have had an opportunity to interact with them the experience has been extremely positive. I enjoy visiting the kitties and plan on adopting from the Hermitage again in the future when an appropriate special needs cat is identified as needing a home such as I provide. It is a pleasure to spend time at the Hermitage and the staff works very hard to keep it clean and ready for visitors. The cats all seem so happy there and the cage free environment is a joy to see. I like that they have the ability to house so many different needs there. This is a worthwhile organization to support! Sincerely, Mary Barker

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Participate in Off-site Adoption events, Help keep the shelter clean for our resident kitties, Help to socialize shy kitties, help with administrative duties. Volunteer