Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.963645
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
May 17, 2013

more

May 17, 2013

I have volunteered for The Hermitage in the past, but I see the impacts of their work everyday with the public. They're a wonderful organization that fills a void in the community. Tucson is grateful to have The Hermitage and we all hope they continue to do wonderful work that impacts and inspires us.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 17, 2013

more

May 17, 2013

Not only have I adopted from the Hermitage, but I used to volunteer for them too. There is something wonderful about a place where the animals come first, and it is the people who genuinely provide the care it takes to manage a no-kill, cage-free cat shelter where no matter what, every kitty has a home. I constantly recommend them to friends and family who are looking for pets, and to young people looking for a good way to support their community. I have always, and will always support The Hermitage, may it continue its existence for another 50 years!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 17, 2013

more

May 17, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about this place. I first encountered the Hermitage when I was trying to place a cat whose owner could no longer care for them. The shelter took him in, even though they were filled to capacity, and worked so that he were almost instantly adopted out. I began volunteering there and one thing that impresses me is the overall kindness and respect given to every cat who is accepted through the doors. Even special needs cats whose prospects of adoption are low are treated with loving kindness and affection. This means that potential owners are vetted carefully to ensure that each cat receives optimal placement. I love this place--volunteering there is the highpoint of my week.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to update and upgrade the physical plant.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2013

more

May 15, 2013

Last year I had the pleasure of assisting the Hermitage with the relocation of two cats that had been adopted to a Tucson family who eventually relocated out of state. When this family could no longer care for the pets, they contacted Hermitage to see if the cats were welcome to come back to the shelter. Of course, the Hermitage said "yes" and we made the flight arrangements for the cats' safe return to Tucson. The cats were able to stay until they were eventually adopted out again TOGETHER. Some rescue organizations might have turned these cats away, but the Hermitage stands by their kitties for life. I can’t say enough about the Hermitage and they work they do.
May 14, 2013

more

May 14, 2013

I can not say enough wonderful things about the Hermitage and all the folks working there. I have visited there for years and now I am taking my grandkids as often as possible. Its our pleasure to go buy food and treats and come donate them. The kids walk around and give the kitties little treats and love patting and playing with them. The staff couldn't be nicer or more patient.

The cats are so well treated and the place is always clean and tidy. You can tell there is definitely a lot of love from all the folks there. There work there deserves nothing but praise and some of your donations if you can..!!

Judi Putnam

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 14, 2013

more

May 14, 2013

The Hermitage is truly a special place, ran by people who above all care for the well being of their animals. I have adopted 3 animals over the course of time from the Hermitage and they are just truly spectacular people.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 10, 2013

more

May 10, 2013

In addition to visiting The Hermitage Cat Shelter as an adopter I also contributed to the shelter after seeing what an impressive facility it is. The shelter is very large and spacious and the cats enjoy free reign in open areas with plenty of places to climb, rest and play.

The staff
genuinely love cats and do their work with pride and care. It is uplifting to see. This facility is a model for a cat sanctuary and a great place to adopt from and to offer support to.

The Hermitage Cat Shelter is a must-visit resource for cat and animal lovers. They do a wonderful job and I am very thankful for them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2013

more

May 9, 2013

I am a "snow bird" traveling between warm winters in the south of our nation and cool summers in the north. I visit and volunteer at Humane Societies or Cat Shelters whenever I can. Of all the places I have visited, the Hermitage Cat Shelter in Tucson AZ is the best maintained, best run facility with the most wonderful volunteers and great interaction between staff and volunteers. I LOVE this place.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

Soon after I moved to Tucson seven years ago I discovered The Hermitage. The shelter was clean, the cats were healty, the staff had gone thru the process of becoming a 501(c)3, and I decided that was a place I wanted to volunteer.
I was impressed that all cats were healthy, chipped, and
neutered before they were adopted out. (And there have been many, many adoptions through the years.) I think the one thing that made me want to belong there was I knew if a cat was never adopted, it had a good place to live out its years.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

I have had the experiences of working with the volunteers on the board, being a donor, an adoption recipient as well as having to use the shelters services for a family pet that was not able to remain in our home any longer. Throughout all of these circumstances the Hermitage Cat Shelter was amazing. They are dedicated to the welfare of saving, nurturing and loving the many cats that are desperate need. Making sure that none go over the rainbow bridge before their time. There should be more shelters like this in the world!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Participate in Off-site Adoption events, Help keep the shelter clean for our resident kitties, Help to socialize shy kitties, help with administrative duties. Volunteer