Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
49 Reviews
1234.959185
| 1 2 3 45 |
Write A Review
May 10, 2013

more

May 10, 2013

In addition to visiting The Hermitage Cat Shelter as an adopter I also contributed to the shelter after seeing what an impressive facility it is. The shelter is very large and spacious and the cats enjoy free reign in open areas with plenty of places to climb, rest and play.

The staff
genuinely love cats and do their work with pride and care. It is uplifting to see. This facility is a model for a cat sanctuary and a great place to adopt from and to offer support to.

The Hermitage Cat Shelter is a must-visit resource for cat and animal lovers. They do a wonderful job and I am very thankful for them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2013

more

May 9, 2013

I am a "snow bird" traveling between warm winters in the south of our nation and cool summers in the north. I visit and volunteer at Humane Societies or Cat Shelters whenever I can. Of all the places I have visited, the Hermitage Cat Shelter in Tucson AZ is the best maintained, best run facility with the most wonderful volunteers and great interaction between staff and volunteers. I LOVE this place.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

Soon after I moved to Tucson seven years ago I discovered The Hermitage. The shelter was clean, the cats were healty, the staff had gone thru the process of becoming a 501(c)3, and I decided that was a place I wanted to volunteer.
I was impressed that all cats were healthy, chipped, and
neutered before they were adopted out. (And there have been many, many adoptions through the years.) I think the one thing that made me want to belong there was I knew if a cat was never adopted, it had a good place to live out its years.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

I have had the experiences of working with the volunteers on the board, being a donor, an adoption recipient as well as having to use the shelters services for a family pet that was not able to remain in our home any longer. Throughout all of these circumstances the Hermitage Cat Shelter was amazing. They are dedicated to the welfare of saving, nurturing and loving the many cats that are desperate need. Making sure that none go over the rainbow bridge before their time. There should be more shelters like this in the world!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

I've been a donor to The Hermitage for about 10 years and a Board member for 4 years. I continue to be impressed by the care the staff give the cats. They know the cats' names and their stories. I'm especially proud that the shelter provides a home for "special needs" cats, with medical or physical disabilities. These cats would not do well in another type of shelter.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

I have been involved with the shelter for over two years now and became Board President last year. Shelter staff and the Board work hard to make the Hermitage "The Best Little Cathouse in Tucson" Our cats are well cared for and loved.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We, my husband and myself own Gabi Kat Grooming, cats only mobile in Tucson. We volunteer by bringing our grooming van to Hermitage each Friday to groom as many cats that day as we can. So far our record is 2 hours after grooming the cat got adopted! How great is that. We bath, shave and trim the cat. And get to spend about an hour loving on them. The cat are not in cages, they get to roam around be in the sun, up in a cat tree, where ever they feel happy at the moment. This summer we adopted 3 kittens that needed a home together. They are the best boys. We look forward to our Friday grooming visits...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 28, 2012

more

December 28, 2012

I first heard about the shelter after a friend passed and his family requested donations in lieu of flowers. As I researched Hermitage, I was quite impressed by their policies. Some months later, I was finally ready to adopt a new kitten and so went to Hermitage to visit. What a wonderful facility! The cats and kittens all looked so healthy and happy. No cages. Just cats lounging on cat trees. I petted and loved on many cats that day. One tiny kitten, however, won my heart and I has been with me for nearly 2 weeks now. He's healthy and happy and just want I needed in my life. I hope to not only continue supporting Hermitage with donations but find time to volunteer there. Everyone at the shelter was kind and cheerful. Cat lovers with big hearts.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 19, 2012

more

December 19, 2012

I have spent the last year or so volunteering for the Hermitage Cat Shelter and these are some great folks! The staff know the kitties pretty well and take good care of them. The cats are fed regularly and the medical staff do a great job of keeping up with updating the cats on their vaccinations, treatments, and other medical needs. Through the Hermitage, I have learned a lot about the health and care of my cats and have gained a much greater appreciation of our feline friends.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Hermitage is such a wonderful place. I love cats and have always cared about their well being. All shelters try their best but the Hermitage has created an atmosphere that is centered around cats' needs. They are very caring, do their best to love the cats and keep them healthy. They take in unwanted cats and find adoptive homes for those who can be adopted. Those who are too sick get extra special care and the Hermitage is a no-kill shelter, so cats are taken care of no matter how sick or what type of behavioral problem. They understand cats, and do all they can for them. This is the main charity of have donated to over the years, and will continue to as I am able. This place is an inspiration to me and it blesses me to know about this place and the people who work and volunteer there.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Participate in Off-site Adoption events, Help keep the shelter clean for our resident kitties, Help to socialize shy kitties, help with administrative duties. Volunteer