Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
49 Reviews
1234.959185
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
May 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
January 6, 2012

AWESOME ORGANIZATION......I have been volunteering at the Hermitage for just about a year now and I started out with grooming and working with the shy cats 2 hours a week....now I'm there 3-4 days a w... more

May 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering at the Hermitage No Kill No Cage Cat Shelter for almost 2 1/2 years. The 8000+ square foot indoor/outdoor facility gives the kitties the best of both worlds--safe outdoor area for the feral or unsocialized kitties to hide and an indoor area for those days that either get too cold or too hot. Sister Seraphin started an awesome shelter for animals that has grown immensely over the years and continues to get better. I think of nothing else when I am there--whether it be cleaning, socializing, or just giving an extra pet to each one. If you've never been at this shelter, it is a must see!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 6, 2012

AWESOME ORGANIZATION......I have been volunteering at the Hermitage for just about a year now and I started out with grooming and working with the shy cats 2 hours a week....now I'm there 3-4 days a week. They are a great organization and have rescued many cats from the Pima Animal Control Center giving them a chance at a full and loving life, whether it be at the shelter or with their furever family! They provide loving care to the sick and aging kitties that need a little extra TLC as well as the little ones with URIs. Their #1 priority is the cats..................and that's the way it should be! I'll be volunteering there for a very long time to come!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

When no one else listens, The Hermitage is there; I have proof.

I have been trapping, neutering and releasing a colony of feral cats for 8 months and one of them went missing 5 days ago. I found her in a neighbor's yard, severely injured and hiding under a shed. The neighbor was
uncooperative in allowing me to place a trap on his property; he also had a large dog whom he said would kill the cat if she came out.

I called everyone: the Police, Animal Control, the Animal Defense League, the Animal Cruelty Taskforce, the media, private wildlife rescue organizations, feral cat networks, even veterinarians. No one would help because the cat was on private property. Today it was 100 degrees and the cat had been without food, water and medical care for days; I was desperate and the homeowner was becoming belligerent with my efforts to coax the cat off his property without trespassing.

I called The Hermitage and explained the situation to the Executive Director. Within an hour the Cat Care Manager (Michele Wilson) and two rescue techs (Ken and Carina) were on the property with nets, traps and supplies. While they were unable to catch the cat, they were successful in getting her off the property and back to her colony where I feel confident I can trap her and get her medical care.

I was beginning to feel like I was the only person crazy enough to care so much, but I today I learned I'm not. I am enormously grateful to The Hermitage, their staff and their mission and will continue to donate whatever and whenever I can so they can continue to save cats' lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Build them a state-of-the-art hospital and shelter.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 17, 2013

more

May 17, 2013

The Hermitage is te best place for kitties of all ages and in all stages of health to find loving care and acceptance! I have donated and will continue to do so, especially when I hear from friends and from FB postings that their work continues to make a huge difference!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NONE!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 17, 2013

more

May 17, 2013

They are great. The place is verry clean and all the kittys are well taken care of. The can we adopted is doing great and we love her very much. one of the things I love the most is how much they know about every individual cat personality.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them a bigger building so they can help more cat

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 17, 2013

more

May 17, 2013

I have volunteered for The Hermitage in the past, but I see the impacts of their work everyday with the public. They're a wonderful organization that fills a void in the community. Tucson is grateful to have The Hermitage and we all hope they continue to do wonderful work that impacts and inspires us.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 17, 2013

more

May 17, 2013

Not only have I adopted from the Hermitage, but I used to volunteer for them too. There is something wonderful about a place where the animals come first, and it is the people who genuinely provide the care it takes to manage a no-kill, cage-free cat shelter where no matter what, every kitty has a home. I constantly recommend them to friends and family who are looking for pets, and to young people looking for a good way to support their community. I have always, and will always support The Hermitage, may it continue its existence for another 50 years!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 17, 2013

more

May 17, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about this place. I first encountered the Hermitage when I was trying to place a cat whose owner could no longer care for them. The shelter took him in, even though they were filled to capacity, and worked so that he were almost instantly adopted out. I began volunteering there and one thing that impresses me is the overall kindness and respect given to every cat who is accepted through the doors. Even special needs cats whose prospects of adoption are low are treated with loving kindness and affection. This means that potential owners are vetted carefully to ensure that each cat receives optimal placement. I love this place--volunteering there is the highpoint of my week.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to update and upgrade the physical plant.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2013

more

May 15, 2013

Last year I had the pleasure of assisting the Hermitage with the relocation of two cats that had been adopted to a Tucson family who eventually relocated out of state. When this family could no longer care for the pets, they contacted Hermitage to see if the cats were welcome to come back to the shelter. Of course, the Hermitage said "yes" and we made the flight arrangements for the cats' safe return to Tucson. The cats were able to stay until they were eventually adopted out again TOGETHER. Some rescue organizations might have turned these cats away, but the Hermitage stands by their kitties for life. I can’t say enough about the Hermitage and they work they do.
May 14, 2013

more

May 14, 2013

I can not say enough wonderful things about the Hermitage and all the folks working there. I have visited there for years and now I am taking my grandkids as often as possible. Its our pleasure to go buy food and treats and come donate them. The kids walk around and give the kitties little treats and love patting and playing with them. The staff couldn't be nicer or more patient.

The cats are so well treated and the place is always clean and tidy. You can tell there is definitely a lot of love from all the folks there. There work there deserves nothing but praise and some of your donations if you can..!!

Judi Putnam

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 14, 2013

more

May 14, 2013

The Hermitage is truly a special place, ran by people who above all care for the well being of their animals. I have adopted 3 animals over the course of time from the Hermitage and they are just truly spectacular people.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Participate in Off-site Adoption events, Help keep the shelter clean for our resident kitties, Help to socialize shy kitties, help with administrative duties. Volunteer