Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.963645
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was so happy to volunteer here and felt like even the first day there I made a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

The Hermitage No-Kill Cat Shelter is an oasis of kindness in a world of cruelty and apathy. It is a critical animal care resource but also an incredible human resource that inspires everyone who visits it with the kindness and humanity that pervades the shelter.

The Hermitage is a
wonderful, fun place from the moment you walk in. The cats roam around and lounge in comfort and the volunteers are always busy attending to them.

I love the Hermitage and their volunteers and staff for the kind and empathetic work they do- it goes well beyond helping cats. It restores faith in humanity, and that may be its most important role.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Sell more Hermitage merchandise to help support the shelter.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 21, 2013

Hermitage was an amazing in helping me with 2 boxes of kittens that were abandoned at my church; I took the kitties home that were ducted taped into a couple of plastic boxes with the tiniest of holes... more

August 19, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

A year or two ago, I was at church and noticed 2 plastic boxes that were duct taped out front, didn't think much of it until I came out of mass and a woman was beside herself. She was furious that inside the nearly airless, duct taped boxes were 8 kittens, different litters. They were put in with some kitty litter, they could barely breath and were scared, hungry and probably sick.
No one at church wanted to take them, so I took them home, gave them a bath, washed them up and fed these kitten's that were about 6 weeks old, one of them was about 8-10 weeks old.
My husband reminded me that our two 15 year old cats (at the time), were not happy about this, so as much as I was enjoying the babies, I had to find a solution that was humane; I was NOT going to take them to PACC because I KNOW they put them down, and that wasn't going to happen on my time. I strongly believe that the Ten Commandments when it says 'Thou shalt NOT kill' means animals, as well, for me (and probably many others)

So, I contacted Hermitage No-Kill Cat Shelter, I knew of them but never contacted them prior to this, and they took them in. They nursed them back to health, and found homes for all of them. They were so nice to keep me in the loop of their results. I was so happy that they were the ones I brought them to be saved. SPCA at the time was full.

Since then, I offered to do murals for them. I donated a mural in thanks for their kindness to animals. Bless ALL those who work with these animals. Thank for Sr. Seraphim for starting such a wonderful thing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes, gosh! I wish I had the money, I'd get them a new floor that they desperately need, maybe some new run areas for the kitties, and well, they need everything. I have seen some cool fun wall blocks that are fun for cats, that would be nice to do too. I hope that they bring awareness to having cats as a wonderful family member is a long wonderful life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Hermitage was an amazing in helping me with 2 boxes of kittens that were abandoned at my church; I took the kitties home that were ducted taped into a couple of plastic boxes with the tiniest of holes for breathing; nearly suffocated them in the kitty litter the 'human' left them in. I washed them, fed them and knowing I couldn't keep these babies; I called and found Hermitage, they took them all in, 8 I think there were. They got them back to health; and found them all homes. I was so moved that I being an artist, felt I need to do something nice for them, I painted a room with a mural for them.. the whole room in thanks for doing this for the kittens. These people have been exceptional in kindness towards animals, they even helped someone find their pet mouse, dogs even to post on their internet sites. We need more people like the ones who work/volunteer at Hermitage No-Kill Cat shelter. It gives me hope for humanity towards animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had the money! I'd build them a whole new facility, they need new concrete floors, new building, new cat area's, specialty areas for special needs cats, and hospital area. I know myself well, I'd do that for them if I had money to do it for them, but I can't so I paint murals for them. It's the least I could do as a caring human.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2013

more

August 19, 2013

2005 was a rough year for my husband and me. We had two cats (18 and 11 yrs) and a greyhound (12 yrs) at that time. The hound and one of the cats were best buddies, so when we had to euthanize the hound due to a severe stroke, the cat was depressed and grieving. The second cat didn't like dogs at all, but was not helping his friend through the process. We did our best and after a month of trying thought that maybe another dog would help, so we adopted a dog that likes cats from one of the rescues. He did his best to help our older cat. After a couple of weeks with no improvement, we took our older cat to the vet and found that he was diabetic and his organs were failing. We couldn't bear to put him though more and decided that since he'd reached a respectable age, his organs wouldn't improve by treating the diabetes and getting a new dog wasn't helping his grief, we made the sad decision to euthanize him. Which left us with a dog that liked cats and a cat that didn't like dogs.

I had seen (and put change in) several donation containers for The Hermitage around town and knew that they really cared about the cats in our community. We went with the intention of adopting an older cat who liked dogs. We spent about 3 hours there being 'interviewed' by various cats and guided through the facility by knowledgeable and caring staff who knew the residents well, but none of the cats 'claimed' us. My husband passed one of the large wire kennels they used to integrate kittens into the larger group when one of the kittens climbed the wires, reached a paw out to snag his jeans and yelled at him. He asked to hold the kitten, who promptly snuggled into his chest. He was enthralled. After a while he passed her to me. She took one look at me, carefully reached out a paw and pulled my glasses off. I left them off while she carefully sniffed my face and when I put them back on, she took them off again. My husband and I went home to think carefully about our choices. We adopted the kitten who had claimed my husband, brought her home and she immediately warmed up to our dog.

She's 7 years old now, and our only cat. Our older cat passed away two years ago at the age of 17 and I think our girl is happy to have the dog all to herself. When we're ready to get another cat, we'll be going back to The Hermitage to find another companion. I still put change in the containers for The Hermitage, thankful for all they do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

recommend they utilize social media better to more aggressively promote fundraisers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2013

more

June 28, 2013

I love to hear and read all the wonderful reviews about the Hermitage no kill cat shelter. It is so nice to see the love and care that people have for these precious cats. To love and protect them from all the sick abusive, heartless people that torture them. Cats are very loving and feel pain just like a human. if only people thought of what pain they inflict, what it would be like if done to them? I will include Hermitage No kill Cat shelter in Tucson, AZ in my will as i do hope everyone will consider and act upon. A tax ID # and address is needed to do so, So please do it.

Pam N Perseus

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My first experience with the Hermitage was when I moved to AZ 6 years ago, and was looking for a place to volunteer ( I had volunteered with cat rescues in my previous state). The cats were all well taken care of and the volunteers were friendly and caring. Due to distance I couldn't keep volunteering, but the Hermitage was a huge help to me as a volunteer at a small municipal shelter in my area. They rescued two older cats from our shelter who were badly in need of grooming, prettied them up and I know one has found a forever home. They love cats, and it shows!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money! : )

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
January 6, 2012

AWESOME ORGANIZATION......I have been volunteering at the Hermitage for just about a year now and I started out with grooming and working with the shy cats 2 hours a week....now I'm there 3-4 days a w... more

May 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering at the Hermitage No Kill No Cage Cat Shelter for almost 2 1/2 years. The 8000+ square foot indoor/outdoor facility gives the kitties the best of both worlds--safe outdoor area for the feral or unsocialized kitties to hide and an indoor area for those days that either get too cold or too hot. Sister Seraphin started an awesome shelter for animals that has grown immensely over the years and continues to get better. I think of nothing else when I am there--whether it be cleaning, socializing, or just giving an extra pet to each one. If you've never been at this shelter, it is a must see!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 6, 2012

AWESOME ORGANIZATION......I have been volunteering at the Hermitage for just about a year now and I started out with grooming and working with the shy cats 2 hours a week....now I'm there 3-4 days a week. They are a great organization and have rescued many cats from the Pima Animal Control Center giving them a chance at a full and loving life, whether it be at the shelter or with their furever family! They provide loving care to the sick and aging kitties that need a little extra TLC as well as the little ones with URIs. Their #1 priority is the cats..................and that's the way it should be! I'll be volunteering there for a very long time to come!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

When no one else listens, The Hermitage is there; I have proof.

I have been trapping, neutering and releasing a colony of feral cats for 8 months and one of them went missing 5 days ago. I found her in a neighbor's yard, severely injured and hiding under a shed. The neighbor was
uncooperative in allowing me to place a trap on his property; he also had a large dog whom he said would kill the cat if she came out.

I called everyone: the Police, Animal Control, the Animal Defense League, the Animal Cruelty Taskforce, the media, private wildlife rescue organizations, feral cat networks, even veterinarians. No one would help because the cat was on private property. Today it was 100 degrees and the cat had been without food, water and medical care for days; I was desperate and the homeowner was becoming belligerent with my efforts to coax the cat off his property without trespassing.

I called The Hermitage and explained the situation to the Executive Director. Within an hour the Cat Care Manager (Michele Wilson) and two rescue techs (Ken and Carina) were on the property with nets, traps and supplies. While they were unable to catch the cat, they were successful in getting her off the property and back to her colony where I feel confident I can trap her and get her medical care.

I was beginning to feel like I was the only person crazy enough to care so much, but I today I learned I'm not. I am enormously grateful to The Hermitage, their staff and their mission and will continue to donate whatever and whenever I can so they can continue to save cats' lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Build them a state-of-the-art hospital and shelter.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 17, 2013

more

May 17, 2013

The Hermitage is te best place for kitties of all ages and in all stages of health to find loving care and acceptance! I have donated and will continue to do so, especially when I hear from friends and from FB postings that their work continues to make a huge difference!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NONE!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 17, 2013

more

May 17, 2013

They are great. The place is verry clean and all the kittys are well taken care of. The can we adopted is doing great and we love her very much. one of the things I love the most is how much they know about every individual cat personality.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them a bigger building so they can help more cat

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Participate in Off-site Adoption events, Help keep the shelter clean for our resident kitties, Help to socialize shy kitties, help with administrative duties. Volunteer