Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
49 Reviews
1234.959185
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
June 12, 2014

more

June 12, 2014

The Hermitage was able to help me and my family out of a painful and difficult situation. I adopted my cat from a shelter and he was with me for about 5 years without any issues before he started acting out and urinating on things. Without going into a very long story that lasted years and cost many thousands of dollars, his problem got worse and worse. My husband and I tried every method that we could find including medication to get him to stop. We ended up with a completely ruined home and although we loved our cat, after I had our son, we had to make the difficult decision to find a new home for our cat. No one we knew would take him with his issue and the more I researched, the more I thought there was no hope. Euthanasia was not an option. When I first contacted The Hermitage, they were supportive. Although they had no room for him at that time, they said they would contact me if they did. I kept in contact with them and they made arangements to take him. We drove him almost 2 hours away to leave him there forever. Without the Hermitage and what they do, I'm not sure what we would have done. I will forever be grateful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 7, 2013

more

November 7, 2013

The staff is wonderful! They are very helpful and informative about the cats. They know their names and personalities. You are welcomed to a tour of the facility and meet each cat, to make the right choice for you and your new Buddie.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2013

more

November 7, 2013

Adopted my beautiful new baby from the Hermitage cat shelter.. A wonderful,clean,safe environment for kitties. Recommended to me by a friend. A great place to find your new forever friend.. Keep up the great work. Staff are loving & friendly.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More room for more kitties.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

Out family- traditional nuclear, adopted 2 kittens from this shelter. The kittens are great and came with antibiotic ointment for 1 as he had eye infection. Clean and loving staff- our family is really happy and kittens are doing great. Thanks!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was so happy to volunteer here and felt like even the first day there I made a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

The Hermitage No-Kill Cat Shelter is an oasis of kindness in a world of cruelty and apathy. It is a critical animal care resource but also an incredible human resource that inspires everyone who visits it with the kindness and humanity that pervades the shelter.

The Hermitage is a
wonderful, fun place from the moment you walk in. The cats roam around and lounge in comfort and the volunteers are always busy attending to them.

I love the Hermitage and their volunteers and staff for the kind and empathetic work they do- it goes well beyond helping cats. It restores faith in humanity, and that may be its most important role.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Sell more Hermitage merchandise to help support the shelter.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 21, 2013

Hermitage was an amazing in helping me with 2 boxes of kittens that were abandoned at my church; I took the kitties home that were ducted taped into a couple of plastic boxes with the tiniest of holes... more

August 19, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

A year or two ago, I was at church and noticed 2 plastic boxes that were duct taped out front, didn't think much of it until I came out of mass and a woman was beside herself. She was furious that inside the nearly airless, duct taped boxes were 8 kittens, different litters. They were put in with some kitty litter, they could barely breath and were scared, hungry and probably sick.
No one at church wanted to take them, so I took them home, gave them a bath, washed them up and fed these kitten's that were about 6 weeks old, one of them was about 8-10 weeks old.
My husband reminded me that our two 15 year old cats (at the time), were not happy about this, so as much as I was enjoying the babies, I had to find a solution that was humane; I was NOT going to take them to PACC because I KNOW they put them down, and that wasn't going to happen on my time. I strongly believe that the Ten Commandments when it says 'Thou shalt NOT kill' means animals, as well, for me (and probably many others)

So, I contacted Hermitage No-Kill Cat Shelter, I knew of them but never contacted them prior to this, and they took them in. They nursed them back to health, and found homes for all of them. They were so nice to keep me in the loop of their results. I was so happy that they were the ones I brought them to be saved. SPCA at the time was full.

Since then, I offered to do murals for them. I donated a mural in thanks for their kindness to animals. Bless ALL those who work with these animals. Thank for Sr. Seraphim for starting such a wonderful thing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes, gosh! I wish I had the money, I'd get them a new floor that they desperately need, maybe some new run areas for the kitties, and well, they need everything. I have seen some cool fun wall blocks that are fun for cats, that would be nice to do too. I hope that they bring awareness to having cats as a wonderful family member is a long wonderful life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Hermitage was an amazing in helping me with 2 boxes of kittens that were abandoned at my church; I took the kitties home that were ducted taped into a couple of plastic boxes with the tiniest of holes for breathing; nearly suffocated them in the kitty litter the 'human' left them in. I washed them, fed them and knowing I couldn't keep these babies; I called and found Hermitage, they took them all in, 8 I think there were. They got them back to health; and found them all homes. I was so moved that I being an artist, felt I need to do something nice for them, I painted a room with a mural for them.. the whole room in thanks for doing this for the kittens. These people have been exceptional in kindness towards animals, they even helped someone find their pet mouse, dogs even to post on their internet sites. We need more people like the ones who work/volunteer at Hermitage No-Kill Cat shelter. It gives me hope for humanity towards animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had the money! I'd build them a whole new facility, they need new concrete floors, new building, new cat area's, specialty areas for special needs cats, and hospital area. I know myself well, I'd do that for them if I had money to do it for them, but I can't so I paint murals for them. It's the least I could do as a caring human.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2013

more

August 19, 2013

2005 was a rough year for my husband and me. We had two cats (18 and 11 yrs) and a greyhound (12 yrs) at that time. The hound and one of the cats were best buddies, so when we had to euthanize the hound due to a severe stroke, the cat was depressed and grieving. The second cat didn't like dogs at all, but was not helping his friend through the process. We did our best and after a month of trying thought that maybe another dog would help, so we adopted a dog that likes cats from one of the rescues. He did his best to help our older cat. After a couple of weeks with no improvement, we took our older cat to the vet and found that he was diabetic and his organs were failing. We couldn't bear to put him though more and decided that since he'd reached a respectable age, his organs wouldn't improve by treating the diabetes and getting a new dog wasn't helping his grief, we made the sad decision to euthanize him. Which left us with a dog that liked cats and a cat that didn't like dogs.

I had seen (and put change in) several donation containers for The Hermitage around town and knew that they really cared about the cats in our community. We went with the intention of adopting an older cat who liked dogs. We spent about 3 hours there being 'interviewed' by various cats and guided through the facility by knowledgeable and caring staff who knew the residents well, but none of the cats 'claimed' us. My husband passed one of the large wire kennels they used to integrate kittens into the larger group when one of the kittens climbed the wires, reached a paw out to snag his jeans and yelled at him. He asked to hold the kitten, who promptly snuggled into his chest. He was enthralled. After a while he passed her to me. She took one look at me, carefully reached out a paw and pulled my glasses off. I left them off while she carefully sniffed my face and when I put them back on, she took them off again. My husband and I went home to think carefully about our choices. We adopted the kitten who had claimed my husband, brought her home and she immediately warmed up to our dog.

She's 7 years old now, and our only cat. Our older cat passed away two years ago at the age of 17 and I think our girl is happy to have the dog all to herself. When we're ready to get another cat, we'll be going back to The Hermitage to find another companion. I still put change in the containers for The Hermitage, thankful for all they do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

recommend they utilize social media better to more aggressively promote fundraisers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2013

more

June 28, 2013

I love to hear and read all the wonderful reviews about the Hermitage no kill cat shelter. It is so nice to see the love and care that people have for these precious cats. To love and protect them from all the sick abusive, heartless people that torture them. Cats are very loving and feel pain just like a human. if only people thought of what pain they inflict, what it would be like if done to them? I will include Hermitage No kill Cat shelter in Tucson, AZ in my will as i do hope everyone will consider and act upon. A tax ID # and address is needed to do so, So please do it.

Pam N Perseus

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My first experience with the Hermitage was when I moved to AZ 6 years ago, and was looking for a place to volunteer ( I had volunteered with cat rescues in my previous state). The cats were all well taken care of and the volunteers were friendly and caring. Due to distance I couldn't keep volunteering, but the Hermitage was a huge help to me as a volunteer at a small municipal shelter in my area. They rescued two older cats from our shelter who were badly in need of grooming, prettied them up and I know one has found a forever home. They love cats, and it shows!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money! : )

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Participate in Off-site Adoption events, Help keep the shelter clean for our resident kitties, Help to socialize shy kitties, help with administrative duties. Volunteer