Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
34 Reviews
1234.970595
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
June 29, 2014

more

June 29, 2014

As a design professional working with the Heart Smiles Organization in Ghana and San Antonio, I've seen numerous debilitating obstacles arise, yet each time they bounced back stronger and actually lept forward.

I've visited the children at the site and spent time understanding Ama's long
term vision and aspirations for not just the organization, but for how children can piece together a sense of family and self identity.

Ama's dedication is unshakable, and nothing will stop her. (Trust me!) Each member of the organization is aligned in the same way, each aligned with the common goal.



More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

I met Ama Osei-Bonsu at work. She told me about her cause and I was captivated by her passion to give back to her country. I have shared her mission with others; patients, staff, friends, and family. All the compassion and love this organization demonstrates should be an example to the world...if we all pay it forward and remember someone, somewhere did the same for us...we would all be so much better off. Special thanks to Ama for introducing me to this organization and I look forward to working with her and the others in the near future.
Lisa M Zarfas, RN

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change anything!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2013

more

September 8, 2013

A special thank you to Ama and these wonderful ladies who have selflessly given the time to provide, and care for these precious little angels. You all are truly making a difference in the lives of these children and your works will continue to be blessed. Keep up the good work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013

more

September 7, 2013

The Heart Smiles is a wonderful organization making a huge difference in the lives of children. All of the board members and volunteers not only work completely for free but take out of their own pockets to help with the childrens needs. I was fortunate enough to go to Africa last year and see for myself the great progress that the Heart Smiles has made and meet the wonderful children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Work harder for more people to know about what the Heart Smiles is about.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013

more

September 7, 2013

This is an AMAZING group of women who are passionate and dedicated to improving the lives of those who don't always have the ability to help themselves. They provide lots of opportunities for the community to get involved, and the earned money goes to such a great cause. Keep up the good work please!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

Fantastic group of ladies! They are passionate about what they each can do to make a difference in the lives of the children in Ghana. I'm blessed to play a small part in their outreach.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 15, 2013

more

July 15, 2013

I have recently become a volunteer for The Heart Smiles, I am so happy to have been given this opportunity. I really appreciate the openness to any and all information provided directly by Ama and the board members. I can't wait to travel to Ghana so I can really dig in and help all these kids that are in such desperate need of our basic needs like daily meals, clean water, and of course shelter. I am so fond of this organization I not only donate my time but also money. Knowing this organization I KNOW every penny I give goes straight to those kids - an unheard of thing in this day and age!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 20, 2013

more

June 20, 2013

I am proud of Ama for taking this huge responsibility. I quite remember when she decided to take this path, I asked her what inspired her to do this and this is what she said 'when we cast our mind back, we know how God has BLESSED us and you know this is our passion and this our way of saying THANK YOU LORD and also giving back to our community' then I said wow. And I know you have the passion, because you frequently leave your two young daughters here and travel to Ghana for this project. And even while's here, you are still juggling between being a mother and a wife and also planing and organizing fundraising for your other children as you call them. I am very very proud..

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It is on the right path..

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 18, 2013

more

June 18, 2013

I am blessed and honored to be a part of The Heart Smiles Organization! I met Ama, the founder, a few years ago and her work in Ghana inspired me. Her dream of adopting children has been the inspiration for this organization and the outreach that it has in Ghana has impacted so many children. I think it is so important that every dollar they raise goes back to benefit the children. Meals are supplied daily, school uniforms are provided and their medical needs are met. Everyone involved in this organization has a big heart and puts the children first. To see their dream of an orphanage take shape is a true testimate to "being the change you want to see in the world"!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 15, 2013

more


1 previous review
September 24, 2012

I became a sponsor for The Heart Smiles through my lifelong friend Dr. Laural Logan-Fain, who is the secretary of the Board of Directors for this amazing organization. Knowing Laural as I do, and her... more

June 15, 2013

I donate to several charities for children, but this one is closest to my heart. Started by one woman and a dream to spend her life helping children. I see their efforts continually compounded, their joys and sorrows are open and honest, and I receive continual updates on not only the children K sponsor, but the others as well. Photo updates on the building progress, and all of the aspects of aid they provide. I know board members personally and some life long, and can vouch for the utmost integrity. I am a monthly supporter of 3 siblings, having started with one child. I will continue to support more children through Heart Smiles as I am able. They give all they can for the children.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I became a sponsor for The Heart Smiles through my lifelong friend Dr. Laural Logan-Fain, who is the secretary of the Board of Directors for this amazing organization. Knowing Laural as I do, and her heart for others, her committment to The Heart Smiles and her seal of approval on their mission and integrity was all I needed to make the decision to join them in their crusade for these precious children. Since joining, I have fallen in love with not only the faces of the 3 beautiful children I sponsor, but every child, every volunteer, every staff and board member of this group. The skills and experience of the board, staff, and volunteers from all walks of life bring a well seasoned grounded foundation to this beautiful labor of love and hope. Ama had the experience that stirred a passion that started a fire that cannot be contained until there is not and will never be another child in need. I hope to travel to Ghana next year with THS, to hug and hold the three precious ones I pray for and sponsor, and every other child there that is within my power to reach. I will to continue to support and make known the work of this amazing group, and hope that one day, I myself can become a bigger part of it in a more concrete way. How can you not want to be part of something so selfless that seeks only to bless others?
"Give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap. For with the measure you use, it will be measured to you." Luke 6:38 NIV

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers