Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
January 21, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 21, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I found this charity through another charity that helps senior dogs. Every year that I continue to volunteer with Grey Muzzle, I am awed by the variety of senior dogs they help, and by the different programs throughout the country which are coming up with ways to help senior pooches. I do other related volunteering and I must say, you can have the best program in the world but you won't be effective without money. Grey Muzzle removes some of that worry, by offering funding for non-profits who ar helping senior dogs. What a great idea! The people in the trenches can concentrate on the dogs, and Grey Muzzle can help keep those programs going. Grey Muzzle comes up with interesting fundraisers throughout the year, and as the organization has grown, so have the number of dogs they have helped. This isn't like the really huge animal welfare agencies, who take in a bunch of money and spend it on administrative costs, advertising, and return-address-stickers to be sent to unsuspecting people. This is the perfect balance of national exposure and local involvement. Money is raised all over the country, and the grants are awarded all over the country too. You can help in hands-on ways, or you can help from afar; there really is something for everyone here. But most importantly, it all goes to the dogs. If you are considering taking on a new volunteer committment, please consider Grey Muzzle. If you are considering making a donation to a great cause, please consider Grey Muzzle. And if you are a non-profit that helps senior dogs, please keep an eye on their website because grant windows open up twice a year. I have been with Grey Muzzle for years and have no intention of stopping. This is a great organization and they really are making a difference in the lives of vulnerable senior dogs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 28, 2013

more

August 28, 2013

I volunteer with a dog rescue that has received funding from Grey Muzzle. Grey Muzzle does a fantastic service in that it makes some hard-to-adopt dogs more adoptable by providing free vet care for the life of the dog. In addition, it allows rescues to make hospice dogs more comfortable by allowing us to provide the best vet care possible. I recently fostered a dog in advanced cardiac failure. She only lived a few more months, however, I was able to get to her to the vet as often as needed to ensure she was comfortable. Our rescue could not have done that without funding by Grey Muzzle.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 3, 2013

more

June 3, 2013

There is nothing like an elderly dog resting comfortably watching the world pass by. Unfortunately that is not always the case. Many old dogs are turned into shelters when their fading health becomes too much of a problem or inconvenience. I donate to Grey Muzzle every year to help those poor old dogs get medical care and find homes. I love reading the stories of the dogs that are helped and seeing their pictures. I think Grey Muzzle is a responsible and worthwhile nonprofit organization to help.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Grey Muzzle is a nonprofit organization which raises funds and distributes grants to rescues, shelters and sanctuaries that take in at risk elderly dogs. I learned about Grey Muzzle when a friend made the suggestion of a donation to Grey Muzzle in lieu of a gift for her elderly dog’s birthday. They have a beautiful assortment of gifts and certificates which are sent when a donation is made in honor of or in memory of someone. About two years ago I began attending dog events as a volunteer for Grey Muzzle raising funds and spreading their vision – A world in which no old dog dies alone and afraid. That sounds like a no brainer, but in reality it happens more often than it should. An elderly dog in an overburdened shelter is not a first priority, and the chances of finding a home for their final days are slim. With financial assistance from Grey Muzzle these dogs are able to obtain medical or hospice care and hopefully an adoption.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

There is no love like that from a senior dog. No matter how much or how little time they have left, they have so much to give and so much to teach us. They are often the forgotten population because they are "old." Thankfully, there are rescue groups and shelters who devote their efforts to caring for these old souls. And thankfully, there is THE GREY MUZZLE ORGANIZATION whose vision is that NO OLD DOG DIES ALONE AND AFRAID. The Grey Muzzle Organization raises funds to provide grants to those shelters caring for old dogs. All of the money raised, often in very creative ways, goes to helping senior dogs. By raising funds, Grey Muzzle is also raising awareness about senior dogs and how important it is that we take care of them. I have been involved with Grey Muzzle for several years and their mission has stayed true, providing for old dogs. It has been an honor to be part of this wonderful group.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 27, 2013

more

March 27, 2013

I had one dog that I adopted at 2 years old because I "dont do puppies". While I love puppies, I found them to be too time consuming for a single gal. I had always planned to adopt my second dog at 2 years of age as well since it worked great with my first boy- until Grey Muzzle. I learned that most dogs after the age of 5 or 6 years do not get adopted because they are "too old" even though they have a Lot of Love to give. Grey Muzzle made me realize that I should consider an older dog. And I did. It took a while, but I finally found "my" dog. He was 7 years old at the time. He was energetic for his age, but once I put him on a small heart murmur pill, he is now bounding with energy - you'd think he is only 2! Thank you Grey Muzzle, for opening my mind to a new way of thinking. Sincerely, Ashley Meredith McClymont

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been on the Advisory Board of The Grey Muzzle Organization since 2009. This dedicated group of volunteers offers grants and resources to rescues and shelters that promote senior dog programs and adoption. Their efforts are national and they help senior dogs receive the care they need and the dignity they deserve. I encourage everyone to support this unique organization so they can expand their reach and help more of the grey muzzles out there.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 9, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
February 9, 2013

The Grey Muzzle organization is one of the many pet-oriented groups that I work with. They have contributed to the well-being of countless older pets, and instruction to their human counterparts in numerous ways. They are a top-drawer, top-notch group of dedicated individuals.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 3, 2013

more

February 3, 2013

I learned about Grey Muzzle when a friend of mine posted a dog's story on Facebook. Having just taken in two senior dogs as fosters, I was interested to learn more about the organization. A few months later, I was volunteering. That was about three years ago. It's been wonderful watching the organization grow, but stay focused on their mission. This is a very passionate group that tries to do the most good possible with the resources available. It's incredibly rewarding reading all the stories of the dogs who have been helped thanks to Grey Muzzle!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 22, 2013

more

January 22, 2013

Anyone who has ever loved an old dog can really appreciate the mission of The Grey Muzzle Organization. They are dedicated to helping homeless senior dogs by funding programs run by carefully screened shelters and rescues. Their grants help old dogs in crisis receive things they desperately need, from medical care to warm beds, and they promote special adoption programs like Seniors for Seniors. This organization is run by great people who really care about helping dogs just at the time they need someone the most.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Send thank you cards to donors, let your local rescues and shelters know about us, pass out our brochures, nominate a rescue for dog beds, help with our newsletter, pass on our social media updates, help with various fundraising campaigns.