Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
August 5, 2014

more

August 5, 2014

As a sister to someone struggling with Crohn's disease, I'm always looking to find help for him and my family. This group gives a voice to conditions that are rarely spoken about. That voice is so powerful to anyone seeking comfort. I'm so thankful for the group and all the positive things they do.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 5, 2014

more

August 5, 2014

I stumbled upon GBM through social media and it has certainly given me a sense of community. Wearing their T shirts is one of the best ways to spread awareness. The passion and dedication for the work they do certainly shows through this organization. Their efforts are appreciated and I hope to see them grow and continue to raise awareness in the upcoming year!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 5, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 5, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

This group is using their great skills with language to help raise awareness of Crohn's and Colitis. They have constructed brochures that are very factual, fun and easy to understand. As a crohn's patient, I feel as though they are representing our community in a great way. I love the shirt i bought. I also think the individual who blog are inspirational, truthful and understanding. This group is present in other parts of the Crohn's community, such as Camp Oasis as well. KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I've been lucky enough to meet GBM at two events in Chicago and attend another in Fort Wayne, Indiana. They do a great job to spread awareness with informative blogs and help on topics ranging from school, to work, to dating. During events they provide non-pressure and non-fundraising situations for us to just enjoy a "normal" night out with others that share IBD.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am glad to see them growing. I think that going forward, GBM will find new ways to spread awareness, grow their presence, and contribute more and more to other IBD patients.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 28, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

A wonderful wonderful organization!!! They have been such a blessing in my journey with Crohn's Disease. Not only do they educate the public (I had no idea what Crohn's was until I was diagnosed) but they also encourage people with IBD to OWN IT! They encourage us daily to spread awareness and change the stigma of these diseases. They are warm and accepting and have such a positive outlook. I wish every type of chronic illness had an organization such as this one!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

I am a mom of a son with Crohn's x 27 years, who has been through about every complication, both with the disease physically -- surgeries, fistula, fungal infection from a med, gallbladder, countless meds -- and also emotionally - trying to hold onto a job, social isolation, wife who left. This site is invaluable for its educational aspect and it's support - not only for those who live with this every day but for those who love them. I cannot say enough good things about The Great Bowel Movement.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 21, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

April 21, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

I've only known about the GBM for a few short months. I was diagnosed with CD in September 2013. Since then I've had two operation and far to many complication to list. As anyone who has IBD or anyone close to you knows what a isolating and lonely disease this can be. Not only does it beat me up physically it also beats me up emotionally. I LOVE this site!!!! It keeps me well informed and reminds me I am not alone. I especially love my ASK ME t-shirt. Some days we need to give ourselves a great big hug and remember we are doing the best we can and this shirt reminds me of that.

Thanks for everything you do!!
April 21, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 21, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I can't say enough about this site. For years I suffered in silence with debilitating symptoms, too ashamed to tell a doctor. By the time I was diagnosed I was so sick at 20 years old that I thought I'd never get better. I felt so alone and I felt I had no where to turn. These folks have helped change all of that. The pays and interactions with others through this site truly changed how I cope with my IBD. It also gave me a way to educate others on my condition. I really, truly wish everyone diagnosed with IBD finds this site first because it changes everything.
April 21, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 21, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I was diagnosed with UC in December of 2012. I had no clue what UC was or what my next step would be. I owe The Great Bowel Movement a big thank you for helping me with my journey so far. I like how they spread awareness not just to fellow IBDers but also to others who do not suffer from IBD. Their topics that are posted on Facebook are incredibly helpful as well! I love the way they have incorporated "Ask Me About My IBD" apparel onto their website for purchase. The apparel alone starts some interesting topics when worn out and about. I highly appreciate The Great Bowel Movement and what they do for people like me.
July 19, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 19, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have had Crohns Disease since 1988. Throughout the years I never wanted to admit what I had due to being too embarresed. I stumbled upon The GBM at a time when I was finally accepting my disease and starting to open up to the world. Their "Ask Me About.." clothing line helped me open up about my disease not only to the general public but to myself.

Another great thing about this company is that they give back to the world. They take some of their profits and donate them to other charities. The best part is they let their customers and followers pick and vote on which charity to use. They show a compassion not only to people with IBD but anyone with an ailment.

Lastly, I got to meet one of the founders, Megan, recently and she was one of the nicest people I have ever met. She was warm and friendly and I felt like I knew her for many years. She has such a warm heart and it shows in the work she does.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not chage a thing. The GBM is great the way they are. They are inspirational and a great source for IBD support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers