Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
May 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

A wonderful wonderful organization!!! They have been such a blessing in my journey with Crohn's Disease. Not only do they educate the public (I had no idea what Crohn's was until I was diagnosed) but they also encourage people with IBD to OWN IT! They encourage us daily to spread awareness and change the stigma of these diseases. They are warm and accepting and have such a positive outlook. I wish every type of chronic illness had an organization such as this one!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

I am a mom of a son with Crohn's x 27 years, who has been through about every complication, both with the disease physically -- surgeries, fistula, fungal infection from a med, gallbladder, countless meds -- and also emotionally - trying to hold onto a job, social isolation, wife who left. This site is invaluable for its educational aspect and it's support - not only for those who live with this every day but for those who love them. I cannot say enough good things about The Great Bowel Movement.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 21, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 21, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I've only known about the GBM for a few short months. I was diagnosed with CD in September 2013. Since then I've had two operation and far to many complication to list. As anyone who has IBD or anyone close to you knows what a isolating and lonely disease this can be. Not only does it beat me up physically it also beats me up emotionally. I LOVE this site!!!! It keeps me well informed and reminds me I am not alone. I especially love my ASK ME t-shirt. Some days we need to give ourselves a great big hug and remember we are doing the best we can and this shirt reminds me of that.

Thanks for everything you do!!
April 21, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 21, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I can't say enough about this site. For years I suffered in silence with debilitating symptoms, too ashamed to tell a doctor. By the time I was diagnosed I was so sick at 20 years old that I thought I'd never get better. I felt so alone and I felt I had no where to turn. These folks have helped change all of that. The pays and interactions with others through this site truly changed how I cope with my IBD. It also gave me a way to educate others on my condition. I really, truly wish everyone diagnosed with IBD finds this site first because it changes everything.
April 21, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 21, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I was diagnosed with UC in December of 2012. I had no clue what UC was or what my next step would be. I owe The Great Bowel Movement a big thank you for helping me with my journey so far. I like how they spread awareness not just to fellow IBDers but also to others who do not suffer from IBD. Their topics that are posted on Facebook are incredibly helpful as well! I love the way they have incorporated "Ask Me About My IBD" apparel onto their website for purchase. The apparel alone starts some interesting topics when worn out and about. I highly appreciate The Great Bowel Movement and what they do for people like me.
July 19, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 19, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have had Crohns Disease since 1988. Throughout the years I never wanted to admit what I had due to being too embarresed. I stumbled upon The GBM at a time when I was finally accepting my disease and starting to open up to the world. Their "Ask Me About.." clothing line helped me open up about my disease not only to the general public but to myself.

Another great thing about this company is that they give back to the world. They take some of their profits and donate them to other charities. The best part is they let their customers and followers pick and vote on which charity to use. They show a compassion not only to people with IBD but anyone with an ailment.

Lastly, I got to meet one of the founders, Megan, recently and she was one of the nicest people I have ever met. She was warm and friendly and I felt like I knew her for many years. She has such a warm heart and it shows in the work she does.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not chage a thing. The GBM is great the way they are. They are inspirational and a great source for IBD support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

After struggling for 12 years with ulcerative colitis, I finally came across the GBM's fb page and it was there that I figured out what I needed - a support system and an organization that would help me feel empowered enough to be able to advocate for my disease on my own. This foundation has been utterly life changing for me, and has helped me to feel confident enough to find my own voice in the IBD/ostomy community. I have looked into a wide range of organizations in this community and this is truly one of the ONLY ones I have found that manages to educate, empower, find humor in the disease without minimizing what so many suffer with, keep the business aspect of it, all while creating an amazing network of support. I cannot say enough wonderful things about the GBM, the co founders, and the amazing work they do. Thank you Megan and Andrea for all your hard work!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Would love to have them organize some in person meet ups, if feasible :)

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 18, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 18, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

When my son was first diagnosed with Inflammatory Bowel Disease I had no idea what it was. GBM was one of the first sources I found on the internet with resources and information I needed in order to be able to help my son! They provide a huge amount of support for the IBD, Crohn's, and Colitis community!

I absolutely LOVE The Great Bowel Movement and I highly suggest it for patients, caregivers, and those who want to know more about IBD, Crohn's, and Colitis.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers