Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 27, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 27, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

For the longest time, I didn't really talk about my Ulcerative Colitis. I didn't know anyone who had it either. After a really bad time health wise that included a hospital stay, medication changes, and my diagnosis changing to Crohn's disease, I knew I had to reach out and find some support and community-- meeting Andrea and learning about The Great Bowel Movement was very cathartic for me. I immediately felt drawn into a supportive, informative and fun group of people I knew I could count on. It also encouraged me to start talking about educating others about IBD. Just other night, while wearing my "Ask Me About My Crohn's Disease" shirt, I had such a great conversation with my two young daughters about this disease and why it is important to talk about it. I cannot thank you enough for that!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Ever since I was diagnosed with Crohn's Dosease in 2004, I have been on a mission to advocate for myself (as a patient in the medical world) and to educate others about Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD). The GBM has been an inspiration to me on this journey. The founders of the GBM have created a platform to educate, inspire and empower individuals living with IBD. They have filled an unmet need in the IBD world for an informal, yet extremely professional Crohn's Disease and Ulcerstive Colitis community. The merchandise they have created such as their t-shirts that read, "Ask me about my Crohn's/Colitis/osteomy" and "IBD can't stop me," give patients an opportunity to publicly demonstrate that they are "bigger" than their disease. Unlike other organizations committed to IBD awareness, the GBM strives to translate patients' resilience into a strong sense of individual empowerment and a desire to educate others about IBD. Andrea and Megan are role models, true mensches and work incredibly hard to inspire IBD patients of all ages. I think that much of the IBD community would agree that the GBM is an inspirational non-profit that is truly inspiring, educating and changing patients' outlook on their disease.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I absolutely love The Great Bowel Movement. Not only have I come in contact with some amazing people who share IBD, but the "Ask Me About My..." clothes are a great ice breaker to help educate people about IBD. When I'm having a particularly bad day, I know that I will get love and support from the people on the Facebook page. And I also really enjoy doing the same for others! What's inspiring me to me is that the founders of GBM are both IBD patients, and run this amazing organization on top of full time jobs! There are days when I feel like I don't have the strength to do anything, and I think about how devoted they are to all of us. Keep it up, ladies!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 22, 2013

more

July 22, 2013

I have been on the Board of a local Cycling Tour event that has been riding for nearly 5 years now. One of the Co-Founders of The Great Bowel Movement had attended our ride over a year ago and we all hit it off right away. You could tell immediately that she has more passion and drive to help both kids and adults than some of the larger organizations combined. She not only wanted to help us in our fight to get the word out regarding Crohn's & Colitis but helped us gain focus on the best practices to do so. Since then GBM has been working with our ride to assist us in our goals of serving those who are afflicted with Crohn's, Colitis, and other IBD's. They have worked hard to help our ride be the most successful we have ever been. With the support and further guidance of those at GBM we have been able to generate more excitement about our ride and our fundraising has been 100 times better. Not only that but they have really helped us gain our focus of how to help those truly in need. With all of their passion and drive they have swoop our ride up to facilitate another way for them and us to give back. We look forward to a continued relationship/partnership with GBM for many years to come.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

n/a

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

GBM is not only a great source of support for patients of IBD and ostomies, but also a fantastic source of inspiration for us as we learn the importance of advocacy and to get out there and live a full life (which can be difficult for patients of IBD).

Additionally, this nonprofit has such
a positive and helpful client base who come together in support for one another.

GBM is truly a great resource to have for patients of IBD.
There's no doubt GBM has changed my life for the better.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I have struggled for years with Ulcerative Colitis and through everything I didn't think I needed support and I didn't know that any one can be an advocate until I discovered The Great Bowel Movement. These were ladies who had been through similar struggles and were putting there blood, sweat and tears into creating a non-profit to bring awareness, education and support to people just like us and our families too. I am proud to wear their product and support their causes I only wish I could do more, they are an inspiration!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers