Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
May 29, 2014

more

May 29, 2014

The GBM is an excellent organization dedicated to raising awareness for IBD and providing the community with the latest IBD news and research. They are very creative in their mission shown in their awareness T-shirts and have a non-stop passion for helping those with IBD. Very highly recommend.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

A wonderful wonderful organization!!! They have been such a blessing in my journey with Crohn's Disease. Not only do they educate the public (I had no idea what Crohn's was until I was diagnosed) but they also encourage people with IBD to OWN IT! They encourage us daily to spread awareness and change the stigma of these diseases. They are warm and accepting and have such a positive outlook. I wish every type of chronic illness had an organization such as this one!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

I am a mom of a son with Crohn's x 27 years, who has been through about every complication, both with the disease physically -- surgeries, fistula, fungal infection from a med, gallbladder, countless meds -- and also emotionally - trying to hold onto a job, social isolation, wife who left. This site is invaluable for its educational aspect and it's support - not only for those who live with this every day but for those who love them. I cannot say enough good things about The Great Bowel Movement.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 21, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 21, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I've only known about the GBM for a few short months. I was diagnosed with CD in September 2013. Since then I've had two operation and far to many complication to list. As anyone who has IBD or anyone close to you knows what a isolating and lonely disease this can be. Not only does it beat me up physically it also beats me up emotionally. I LOVE this site!!!! It keeps me well informed and reminds me I am not alone. I especially love my ASK ME t-shirt. Some days we need to give ourselves a great big hug and remember we are doing the best we can and this shirt reminds me of that.

Thanks for everything you do!!
April 21, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 21, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I can't say enough about this site. For years I suffered in silence with debilitating symptoms, too ashamed to tell a doctor. By the time I was diagnosed I was so sick at 20 years old that I thought I'd never get better. I felt so alone and I felt I had no where to turn. These folks have helped change all of that. The pays and interactions with others through this site truly changed how I cope with my IBD. It also gave me a way to educate others on my condition. I really, truly wish everyone diagnosed with IBD finds this site first because it changes everything.
April 21, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 21, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I was diagnosed with UC in December of 2012. I had no clue what UC was or what my next step would be. I owe The Great Bowel Movement a big thank you for helping me with my journey so far. I like how they spread awareness not just to fellow IBDers but also to others who do not suffer from IBD. Their topics that are posted on Facebook are incredibly helpful as well! I love the way they have incorporated "Ask Me About My IBD" apparel onto their website for purchase. The apparel alone starts some interesting topics when worn out and about. I highly appreciate The Great Bowel Movement and what they do for people like me.
April 18, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 18, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I "celebrate" my 10 year diagnosis of IBD next year. Great Bowel Movement was a part of my journey to acceptance living with it. Not only does this non-profit use their merchandise as a great opportunity to provide awareness & promote acceptance, but they spend each day trying to educate others feature others blogs on their websites, educational & relevant material for those just newly diagnosed, a "seasoned" patient or a family member/loved one just trying to gain better understanding.

I've gotten to know each of the staff a little more each month & I could not be more excited for what is in store for each of them and each of the people they serve, with or without IBD. Not only are they each professionals dealing with Crohn's or colitis, but they take the time to chat individually and ensure they are able to provide the educational resources you may need.

Not to mention, they have figuratively the BIGGEST hearts in the world. If I have to live 10 more years on earth with this disease, I'm certainly glad to have GBM in my corner.
April 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Not only are Megan and Andrea great people, but they've found a wonderful way to utilize their creativity to become a recognizable brand. The conversations that have started because of their products, leads towards raising awareness and acceptance. They truly care about people in the IBD community, as well as giving back.
April 14, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 14, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Megan and Andrea are amazing. They have started conversations for the IBD and non-IBD community to have. They have made digestive diseases empowering allowing all voices to be heard. The GBM has been a huge asset to me during times of hardship with IBD. The GBM including Megan and Andrea have inspired me to become more involved in the IBD community. They have taught me the importance of telling one's story to let others know that they are no alone. Recently becoming a blogger for the GBM, I have learned how much of an impact sharing one's story can be. The GBM is an amazing organization that has allowed people with IBD to speak about their disease in a fun and empowering way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 27, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 27, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

For the longest time, I didn't really talk about my Ulcerative Colitis. I didn't know anyone who had it either. After a really bad time health wise that included a hospital stay, medication changes, and my diagnosis changing to Crohn's disease, I knew I had to reach out and find some support and community-- meeting Andrea and learning about The Great Bowel Movement was very cathartic for me. I immediately felt drawn into a supportive, informative and fun group of people I knew I could count on. It also encouraged me to start talking about educating others about IBD. Just other night, while wearing my "Ask Me About My Crohn's Disease" shirt, I had such a great conversation with my two young daughters about this disease and why it is important to talk about it. I cannot thank you enough for that!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers