Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
April 14, 2014

more

April 14, 2014

Megan and Andrea are amazing. They have started conversations for the IBD and non-IBD community to have. They have made digestive diseases empowering allowing all voices to be heard. The GBM has been a huge asset to me during times of hardship with IBD. The GBM including Megan and Andrea have inspired me to become more involved in the IBD community. They have taught me the importance of telling one's story to let others know that they are no alone. Recently becoming a blogger for the GBM, I have learned how much of an impact sharing one's story can be. The GBM is an amazing organization that has allowed people with IBD to speak about their disease in a fun and empowering way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 27, 2013

more

July 27, 2013

For the longest time, I didn't really talk about my Ulcerative Colitis. I didn't know anyone who had it either. After a really bad time health wise that included a hospital stay, medication changes, and my diagnosis changing to Crohn's disease, I knew I had to reach out and find some support and community-- meeting Andrea and learning about The Great Bowel Movement was very cathartic for me. I immediately felt drawn into a supportive, informative and fun group of people I knew I could count on. It also encouraged me to start talking about educating others about IBD. Just other night, while wearing my "Ask Me About My Crohn's Disease" shirt, I had such a great conversation with my two young daughters about this disease and why it is important to talk about it. I cannot thank you enough for that!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I first met Megan and Andrea (founders of The Great Bowel Movement) at Camp Oasis, a week-long summer camp for kids with Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD). It's a great program that allows kids to experience a level of normalcy and acceptance that can be hard to find in their daily lives. Megan and Andrea were two of the most welcoming counselors there. They made campers and staff alike feel comfortable talking about the disease we all shared. I quickly learned of the work they'd been doing with their organization, The Great Bowel Movement. My week working alongside them left me in awe! Despite suffering from IBD themselves, they were so giving of their time and energy to help others.

After camp ended, I was inspired by Megan and Andrea to get more involved in the IBD community. I started taking part in discussions on a number of online forums; most notably, The Great Bowel Movement's. I found Megan and Andrea to be great at facilitating open dialogue among the IBD community. I'd been living with severe IBD for over 20 years, and I'd never met anyone that could make people so comfortable with talking about their disease like the two of them. One of their slogans is "making Crohn's and Colitis cool since 2010", and they definitely live up to it. If you read their forum, you will find people who are proud to talk about their condition; people who used to be ashamed by it. With my participation in their forum, I started feeling more hopeful about not only my own future, but the future of everyone living with this disease.

Several weeks after camp, Megan suggested I join her and Andrea in the annual Midwest IBD Ride (a fund/awareness-raiser and bicycle ride). It was short notice; I would only have two weeks to raise funds and prepare myself for the ride. I was doubtful, but Megan was very encouraging so I signed up. Megan and Andrea's friends and family came out to support me both financially and emotionally. With their help, I was able to raise $1490 for IBD Research and Advocacy groups! I then rode 150 miles alongside Megan and others living with IBD. It was a great experience for me. I learned a lot about myself and how good it feels to be supported by a community of people that understand what I'm going through.

After the IBD Ride, I continued to participate in The Great Bowel Movement's online discussions- answering questions and giving advice when I could. Eventually, with my involvement becoming a regular thing, Megan and Andrea asked me to join their organization! I can't fully describe what an honor it is for me to be a part of such a wonderful cause! It has been a really pivotal year for me, and I've grown so much as a person because of my relationship with The Great Bowel Movement. I've gained a new perspective on my experience growing up severely ill, and I see now the good I can do for others because of it. It's given me the strength to reach out to more people living with IBD, especially kids. This summer, I'm volunteering at two different chapters of Camp Oasis (Wisconsin and Michigan). I will be able to show even more kids that they can lead a wonderful life even though they have a serious illness.

Megan and Andrea are a big inspiration to me and many others. They not only raise awareness of IBD, they also educate the public. They have given people from all walks of life a place to turn for guidance and hope when the burden of this disease is too much to bare alone. They have made an often embarrassing and scary illness into something to be proud of! They've shown so many of us the strength we all have when we share our illness with each other.

They have helped so many people through The Great Bowel Movement, even while working full time jobs, without asking for anything in return. I hope Megan and Andrea can continue to reach all their goals, because I believe we are only beginning to see the greatness they are capable of.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get involved more. It's a great cause with good direction, so anything I do with The Great Bowel Movement is time well spent.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Ever since I was diagnosed with Crohn's Dosease in 2004, I have been on a mission to advocate for myself (as a patient in the medical world) and to educate others about Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD). The GBM has been an inspiration to me on this journey. The founders of the GBM have created a platform to educate, inspire and empower individuals living with IBD. They have filled an unmet need in the IBD world for an informal, yet extremely professional Crohn's Disease and Ulcerstive Colitis community. The merchandise they have created such as their t-shirts that read, "Ask me about my Crohn's/Colitis/osteomy" and "IBD can't stop me," give patients an opportunity to publicly demonstrate that they are "bigger" than their disease. Unlike other organizations committed to IBD awareness, the GBM strives to translate patients' resilience into a strong sense of individual empowerment and a desire to educate others about IBD. Andrea and Megan are role models, true mensches and work incredibly hard to inspire IBD patients of all ages. I think that much of the IBD community would agree that the GBM is an inspirational non-profit that is truly inspiring, educating and changing patients' outlook on their disease.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I absolutely love The Great Bowel Movement. Not only have I come in contact with some amazing people who share IBD, but the "Ask Me About My..." clothes are a great ice breaker to help educate people about IBD. When I'm having a particularly bad day, I know that I will get love and support from the people on the Facebook page. And I also really enjoy doing the same for others! What's inspiring me to me is that the founders of GBM are both IBD patients, and run this amazing organization on top of full time jobs! There are days when I feel like I don't have the strength to do anything, and I think about how devoted they are to all of us. Keep it up, ladies!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 25, 2013

more

July 25, 2013

As a IBD researcher, I love that The Great Bowel Movement not only enables people to share their experiences with Crohn's and colitis but that GBM promotes and gives back to other IBD-related charities. I interact with IBD patients in several states and I'm always excited to see them wearing "Ask me about my colitis/Crohn's/J-pouch" t-shirts. Their website not only gives patients a forum to ask questions, but is excellent at phrasing IBD patients' concerns in a way that can give non-patients a way to relate to our disease.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them a way to have an even larger forum, reach more people.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 24, 2013

more

July 24, 2013

As a medical professional, I find that The Great Bowel Movement encompasses so many aspects of IBD. My patients really find the information that they receive useful and a great support. Andrea and Megan are truly compassionate about this cause and it shows in all that they do. I am proud of these girls and grateful for all that they have done.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've struggled with serious self-confidence issues throughout the course of my journey with Crohn's disease and now a permanent ostomy, but eventually I realized that my struggle with IBD should not involve feelings of shame every time the topic arises in conversation. My Great Bowel Movement clothing allows me to connect with fellow IBD patients as well as people who have questions about IBD, and the organization's contributions to online communities consistently make me smile. Their humor is delightful, because while they understand the severity of the diseases they represent, they can find a way to make light of issues that many of us find all too familiar. Their commitment to spreading good information and promoting reliable resources is sorely needed for all the IBD people out there desperately searching for useful answers to the questions we all have about coping with our chronic health conditions. Using clothing, fun accessories, and regular contributions to online communities, GBM sparks conversations and creates bonds that help us reclaim our dignity, stand up for each other, and show the world that we are awesome.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't see the need for any current changes, but I see potential for growth. That's why I'm telling everyone who will listen about GBM.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As a medical provider, the Great Bowel Movement has been fantastic a fantastic partner. They use innovative ways to increase IBD awareness, reduce stigma, and bring the most up-to-date and accurate information to people living with IBD. A ndrea and Megan are some of the hardest working people I know, genuine, and down to earth. While they work very hard, their success doesn't go to their heads. I would encourage any health care provider who works with IBD patients to reach out to the GBM and tell your patients about them!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 22, 2013

more

July 22, 2013

I have been on the Board of a local Cycling Tour event that has been riding for nearly 5 years now. One of the Co-Founders of The Great Bowel Movement had attended our ride over a year ago and we all hit it off right away. You could tell immediately that she has more passion and drive to help both kids and adults than some of the larger organizations combined. She not only wanted to help us in our fight to get the word out regarding Crohn's & Colitis but helped us gain focus on the best practices to do so. Since then GBM has been working with our ride to assist us in our goals of serving those who are afflicted with Crohn's, Colitis, and other IBD's. They have worked hard to help our ride be the most successful we have ever been. With the support and further guidance of those at GBM we have been able to generate more excitement about our ride and our fundraising has been 100 times better. Not only that but they have really helped us gain our focus of how to help those truly in need. With all of their passion and drive they have swoop our ride up to facilitate another way for them and us to give back. We look forward to a continued relationship/partnership with GBM for many years to come.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

n/a

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers