Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
1234.952385
Write A Review
August 3, 2014

more

August 3, 2014

Perhaps a story can best explain how important The Good People Fund has been to us:

We, a group of court appointed attorneys and social workers, started a small non-profit so our poorest child clients could get the help and services they desperately needed, which we could not find
elsewhere.

Here are some examples of what we face in court:
children not going to school who live in homes without electricity or heat, stressed parents who because they can't afford to fix their car, are about to lose their job and possibly their home, teens getting into trouble on the street because they can't pay sports team fees, unsocialized children who need quality after-school activities, a foster child who has settled into a nice foster home but may need to change foster families because of allergies unless an air conditioner can be purchased, a young mother in a homeless shelters who feels frustrated and hopeless because without a phone or bus fare, she can't get a job so she can get back on their feet..

For 9 years we have held fundraisers to raise the money to help these children and families, but we have paid basically all of the expenses involved in actually running this non-profit (while servicing more than 700 requests for help) from our own pockets.

So I can't tell you how grateful we are to The Good People.

I initially heard about their good work from a friend who has been contributing to them for years.
From the moment I first called Naomi to see if 'TGF' might be interested in One Can Help, they have been exceptionally responsive.

Naomi immediately understood what we do and why the help we give is so necessary for this very vulnerable and underserved population. While the money we give beneficiaries is relatively small, these small amounts really can make an enormous difference!

'TGF' provided us with a matching grant this year of $7500. It was so impressive to see how their offer helped create excitement among our supporters . As a result, we easily surpassed our initial fundraising target!

I can truly say that 'TGF's generous support is helping One Can Help develop the infrastructure we need in order to continue our mission into the future with confidence. Their advice and their support are proving to be invaluable.

Anne Bader-Martin, Esq.
www.OneCanHelp.org

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them find more potential donors who understand how much their support is making a difference.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 1, 2014

more

August 1, 2014

Our organization is honored to have recently joined The Good People Fund's community as a grant recipient. The financial support that The Good People Fund has given us has already made an impact. But even more remarkable to our grassroots non-profit is the individual and unique support we have received from day one from the GPF. The comments that Naomi and her board members made and the questions they raised at our interview immediately caused us to step back and begin to look at our organization differently and more deeply. Already they have given us invaluable feedback on marketing and development and have facilitated connections that we know are going to help us to make more impact in the world. The GPF is a stellar operation with a wealth of knowledge and incredible vision, and we cannot recommend them highly enough.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand their budget so that they can make an even greater impact than they already make.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

GPF and Naomi came into our lives about 3 years ago and have been East Coast guardian angels for our NPO. Their first grant helped us by essential computers for our growing staff, and that was only the beginning. They understand need from every level and know when to be immediate and flexible with their support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand their capacity and budget limits so folks can remain in the GPF family as they grow bigger and bigger

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

The Good People Fund staff have taken the time to get to know how we serve the most vulnerable, and what our organizational needs are. They truly care about our work and want to help us meet our goals. They are more than funders - they are advocates and supporters.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None. They are a refreshingly personalized funding organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Good People Fund has gone FAR beyond their funding for my program. As a small nonprofit run by a 25 year old without very much academic study in the field of nonprofit, the expertise, advice and connections that the Good People Fund gave us was much more valuable than the dollars. Naomi has always been willing to talk through challenges and lend her advice and contacts to help us overcome certain roadblocks along our path. Needless to say, she has played a gigantic role in the success we have seen in such a short period of time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any. This experience has been truly incredible.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

I met Naomi Eisenberger in 2011, one year after launching Amir. Naomi greeted me with incredible warmth and hospitality, and truly captured Amir's vision. She recognized the challenges facing early start-up nonprofits and shared with me the devotion toward doing good work in the world. Naomi was able to grant Amir its first Foundation grant (a matching gift of $5,000), which has since propelled our organization to reach its third year of operation and a budget of over $250,000. Naomi and the Good People Fund do a wonderful job finding those early-stage organizations and giving them the support and backbone that they so desperately need when the larger institutional foundations are not in the picture.

David Fox, founder and CEO, Amir

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide the Good People Fund with more capital and resources so that it can only further its work by hiring more full-time staff and program officers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

The Good People Fund is an extraordinary source of support for non-profit organizations who are working on a variety of important causes all over the globe. It has been a privilege for our organization, The Survivor Mitzvah Project, to have been recognized and supported by The Good People Fund and we value their friendship and help more than words can say. I first heard of Naomi Eisenberger when she was at Ziv, when I was just starting up SMP. Everyone I spoke to said, you should talk to Naomi - she knows the non-profit world inside out. Naomi brings years of experience and expertise to The Good People Fund and through her "hands on" approach has created a truly remarkable organization, not only in its diversity and growth, but in its ability to remain accessible. Many times, running a non-profit is an isolated experience without the benefit of a large staff or needed resources. But through the years, Naomi has always been someone I can call for advice, and get her valuable and unique take on a variety of issues, all based on years of experience, great empathy and her realistic vision. Our organization helps elderly and forgotten Holocaust survivors in Eastern Europe, and The Good People Fund's support has helped us save many lives, helped us on our humanitarian expeditions and encouraged our work. www.survivormitzvah.org

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 1, 2013

more

September 1, 2013

We are privileged to have joined the family of organizations encouraged and supported by the Good People Fund this year for our work in Kashouvot: Advancing Pastoral Care in Israel. They make us feel like we are helping them, when really they are the ones helping us. Our meetings are always more than business and leave us feeling inspired to continue our work and grateful at the vision and generosity of others around the world. They are open to new ideas and give of their time and expertise/ mentorship as well as their funding; this makes it feel like a partnership.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them become better known to increase even further the scope of their activities (while retaining the modesty and personal attention of a smaller organization).

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 24, 2013

more

August 24, 2013

When our "Henry" video went viral quickly exceeding six million views, I was overwhelmed by the public's response. Naomi, moved by the video, called to learn more about our efforts to improve the lives of nursing home elders, especially those isolated and alone with Alzheimer's disease. Naomi offered a solution for our number one point of contact with the outside world, out web site. She offered to underwrite the overhaul of our web site to what it is today (musicandmemory.org). This has helped us scale to manage the public's interest in a much more professional, effective manner. Thank you, Naomi, for your insight and so smartly leveraging your resources on Music & Memory's behalf.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 24, 2013

more

August 24, 2013

It is an honor to write this review of recommendation of the Good People Fund for Great Nonprofits. It’s the truly selfless and inspiring people who are part of this wonderful fund that make Good People Fund a ‘Great Non Profit’! When the Good People Fund began their research in our organization, Gabriel Project Mumbai, I was immediately impressed with their due diligence and professionalism. It was evident that Good People Fund cared greatly that donations made through them have the largest impact on people most in need.

I feel that Good People Funds’ drive for professionalism is a direct projection of their desire to help the disadvantaged, marginalized and needy in our society. Their strong desire to care and help is evident in every interaction I have with the Good People Fund. When we approached the Good People Fund, they were noticeably touched and moved by our commitment to providing hunger relief and literacy for children living in India’s slums. They heard about the hardships and suffering (malnutrition, child labor, illiteracy and hunger) of the children and families living in the slums and then they took action.

The combination of professionalism, devotion and care make the Good People Fund a truly inspirational force in helping thousands of people in need of help. I am so fortunate to have met such an inspiring and dedicated group and wish them all the blessings to bring even more goodness to the world.

Jacob Sztokman
Gabriel Project Mumbai
www.gabrielprojectmumbai.org

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers