Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

I met Naomi Eisenberger in 2011, one year after launching Amir. Naomi greeted me with incredible warmth and hospitality, and truly captured Amir's vision. She recognized the challenges facing early start-up nonprofits and shared with me the devotion toward doing good work in the world. Naomi was able to grant Amir its first Foundation grant (a matching gift of $5,000), which has since propelled our organization to reach its third year of operation and a budget of over $250,000. Naomi and the Good People Fund do a wonderful job finding those early-stage organizations and giving them the support and backbone that they so desperately need when the larger institutional foundations are not in the picture.

David Fox, founder and CEO, Amir

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide the Good People Fund with more capital and resources so that it can only further its work by hiring more full-time staff and program officers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

The Good People Fund is an extraordinary source of support for non-profit organizations who are working on a variety of important causes all over the globe. It has been a privilege for our organization, The Survivor Mitzvah Project, to have been recognized and supported by The Good People Fund and we value their friendship and help more than words can say. I first heard of Naomi Eisenberger when she was at Ziv, when I was just starting up SMP. Everyone I spoke to said, you should talk to Naomi - she knows the non-profit world inside out. Naomi brings years of experience and expertise to The Good People Fund and through her "hands on" approach has created a truly remarkable organization, not only in its diversity and growth, but in its ability to remain accessible. Many times, running a non-profit is an isolated experience without the benefit of a large staff or needed resources. But through the years, Naomi has always been someone I can call for advice, and get her valuable and unique take on a variety of issues, all based on years of experience, great empathy and her realistic vision. Our organization helps elderly and forgotten Holocaust survivors in Eastern Europe, and The Good People Fund's support has helped us save many lives, helped us on our humanitarian expeditions and encouraged our work. www.survivormitzvah.org

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 1, 2013

more

September 1, 2013

We are privileged to have joined the family of organizations encouraged and supported by the Good People Fund this year for our work in Kashouvot: Advancing Pastoral Care in Israel. They make us feel like we are helping them, when really they are the ones helping us. Our meetings are always more than business and leave us feeling inspired to continue our work and grateful at the vision and generosity of others around the world. They are open to new ideas and give of their time and expertise/ mentorship as well as their funding; this makes it feel like a partnership.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them become better known to increase even further the scope of their activities (while retaining the modesty and personal attention of a smaller organization).

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 24, 2013

more

August 24, 2013

When our "Henry" video went viral quickly exceeding six million views, I was overwhelmed by the public's response. Naomi, moved by the video, called to learn more about our efforts to improve the lives of nursing home elders, especially those isolated and alone with Alzheimer's disease. Naomi offered a solution for our number one point of contact with the outside world, out web site. She offered to underwrite the overhaul of our web site to what it is today (musicandmemory.org). This has helped us scale to manage the public's interest in a much more professional, effective manner. Thank you, Naomi, for your insight and so smartly leveraging your resources on Music & Memory's behalf.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 24, 2013

more

August 24, 2013

It is an honor to write this review of recommendation of the Good People Fund for Great Nonprofits. It’s the truly selfless and inspiring people who are part of this wonderful fund that make Good People Fund a ‘Great Non Profit’! When the Good People Fund began their research in our organization, Gabriel Project Mumbai, I was immediately impressed with their due diligence and professionalism. It was evident that Good People Fund cared greatly that donations made through them have the largest impact on people most in need.

I feel that Good People Funds’ drive for professionalism is a direct projection of their desire to help the disadvantaged, marginalized and needy in our society. Their strong desire to care and help is evident in every interaction I have with the Good People Fund. When we approached the Good People Fund, they were noticeably touched and moved by our commitment to providing hunger relief and literacy for children living in India’s slums. They heard about the hardships and suffering (malnutrition, child labor, illiteracy and hunger) of the children and families living in the slums and then they took action.

The combination of professionalism, devotion and care make the Good People Fund a truly inspirational force in helping thousands of people in need of help. I am so fortunate to have met such an inspiring and dedicated group and wish them all the blessings to bring even more goodness to the world.

Jacob Sztokman
Gabriel Project Mumbai
www.gabrielprojectmumbai.org

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

It is truly an honor to be a grantee of The Good People Fund. Here in Boston, I am working to bring the dignity, creativity, and passion of classical music to a population which has little to no access to live music or the hope and inspiration which can result from attending a concert. As founder, executive and artistic director of Shelter Music Boston I am thrilled that my three-year-old organization, which brings monthly classical music concerts to Boston homeless shelters, is now connected with the remarkable Naomi Eisenberger and the very dedicated nonprofits of GPF. I am so grateful that my work is valued by Naomi, who is an exemplary model of one person being able to make enormous social change. I met Naomi and her team in June 2013; she has already connected Shelter Music Boston with organizations around the country. The grant Shelter Music Boston received from GPF will enable us to bring the concerts to specific populations we have not previously been able to reach.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2012

more

September 8, 2012

The day Unchained At Last helped its first client. The day Unchained received its tax-exempt designation from the IRS. And the day Naomi Eisenberger called to say the Good People Fund would support Unchained. So far, those are the three happiest days in Unchained history -- the first two, for obvious reasons, and the last because no nonprofit organization is as fortunate as one that becomes the recipient of Naomi and the Good People Fund's overwhelming generosity. Naomi provides much more than financial support. She constantly introduces Unchained to individuals and organizations that can help Unchained grow, and continually shares her deep understanding of the nonprofit sector to guide Unchained on everything from marketing materials to board development to where to buy software on the cheap. Naomi has become a benefactor, mentor and friend, and without her Unchained would not have been able to flourish as it has during its first year in existence. -- BY: Fraidy Reiss, founder/executive director of Unchained At Last, the only nonprofit in the US dedicated to helping women leave arranged marriages

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2011

more

June 14, 2011

Lifeforce In Laters Years inaugurated its Aging-At-Home program in Morningside Heights in Manhattan two years ago (June 2009). Amazing success meant that the organization grew rapidly, so that now 70 volunteers are helping almost 50 older seniors to live comfortably in the homes they love. Success has been great; but it has also increased administrative needs. With so much program coordination work on my plate, paper work was piling up. We needed help. The Good People Fund, with a generous matching grant, provided that help!
But more, Naomi Eisenberger, Ex. Dir. of the Fund, with warmth, with compassion, and with a broad knowledge of fundraising, has been there for us, providing significant advice. She did not just want the satisfaction of having helped elderly people facing dire challenges with necessary financial support; she also wanted to give of her time and was willing to invest in this way as well. She made it clear that the Good People Fund consists of "good people"!! We thank them for the extras and hope to continue a meaningful relationship.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Thanks to the Good People Fund, I am relieved and feel confident that we can now move ahead smoothly.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes to the Good People Fund, I would enlarge it and clone of Naomi Eisenberger.

October 31, 2010

more

October 31, 2010

I am the Founder of AmpleHarvest.org, a nationwide campaign to diminish hunger by enabling 40+ million home gardeners to find a local food pantry eager for their excess garden produce. Only a few months after its initial rollout in May 2009, Naomi Eisenberger of the Good People Fund called me out of the blue to introduce herself and to see what assistance AmpleHarvest.org needed. Not knowing any better at the time, I said "none". I won't be repeating that mistake again. Naomi stayed in touch, helped to guide AmpleHarvest.org towards making what were ultimately the correct decisions, provided critical funding for a number of aspects of AmpleHarvest.org, connected AmpleHarvest.org with other collaborative non-profits as well as funding foundations, etc. In short, they have been "real-life partners" with us. Since the Good People Fund stepped into the picture, they have helped AmpleHarvest.org to grow to support almost 3,000 (nearly one out of every 10) food pantries in America. In May 2009, CNN named me CNN Hero – the second Good People Fund grantee in two years to be so honored.. Working with The Good People Fund has been extremely easy. Their help came to us even while we were initially part of another 501c3. If I can make any criticism of the Good People Fund, it is that they are one-of-a-kind. If there were more funding organizations like them, small non-profits would have an easier time getting started.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

how they've helped to support and guide AmpleHarvest.org as it because a national campaign against hunger.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...find a way to help them garner a greater public awareness of the work they're doing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

I didn't... they found my non-profit

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

None. They encouraged me to keep doing what I was doing.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 1, 2009

more

November 1, 2009

About how many people could it be said that in their lifetime, they were responsible for helping 10,000 of thousands of people? Naomi Eisenberger is one such person. If not for her, the agency that I direct would not exist. In 1988 I was diagnosed with Leukemia, and the first specialist which I saw told me that I had no chance to live. I eventually was hospitalized for six months at Sloan-Kettering in Manhattan, whereat I received a bone marrow transplant. During this time my family had to spend $20,000 for an apartment so that my wife, mother and children could be nearby. After I was cured I became a Hebrew school principal and in that capacity I received the Ziv Tzedakah newsletter. One of the mitzvah organizations that ZIV championed was the Boston Hospitality Program, an agency that provided free lodging for patient-families coming to the Boston area for medical care. The mission spoke to me, so that I contacted ZIV to discuss creating such a program in Philadelphia. It was then that I first met Naomi. With her help, in 2000 we created HOSTS for HOSPTIALS (HfH)to provide free lodging for patient-families coming to Greater Philadephia area hospitals for specilized medical care. Over the next nine years she was influential in promoting HfH so that we received onoing funding directly from ZIV. She also promoted our cause with her colleagues from other foundations, with the result that during the last five years one of these foundations has significantly funded our efforts to set-up host-homes programs in other cities nationwide. Indeed, in the coming year we will be setting up such programs in six new cities across the country. Through our first ten years HfH has provided lodging to over 1,500 patient-families for a combined 43,500 nights of lodging. These families in the process have saved an estimated $2.7 million in equivalent hotel expenses. In another ten years we'll be able to multiply these numbers tenfold or more as other host-homes programs are set-up nationwide. NONE OF THIS WOULD HAVE HAPPENED IF NOT FOR NAOMI! And HfH is but one of the scores of agencices that Naomi has promoted over the years! We are so blessed that she will be continuing the monumental work of ZIV through the Good People Fund!!

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

working directly with Naomi. She is always available by phone or email. In matters where her judgement has been sought her advice has always been unerring.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers