Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
August 5, 2014

more

August 5, 2014

I have known the work of the GOOD PEOPLE FUND since it began. I am so impressed with Naomi, the founder, who not only finds amazing organizations and people in need of funds, but she truly helps them beyond the monetary funds with amazing advice and guidance. I have seen the impact she and the GOOD PEOPLE FUND have had on many not for profits. It is truly so wonderful to read the annual report to learn of all the great organizations that my dollars can go towards helping. Read it........you too will be inspired by the GOOD PEOPLE that Naomi and her board chose to support: http://www.goodpeoplefund.org/news-and-publications/annual-reports/

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to get them more funds to do even more good work...........try to get the word out so that others could donate and the impact of the GOOD PEOPLE FUND could be even greater

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 4, 2014

more

August 4, 2014

I am from a very small town in the very Eastern part of Kentucky, an almost forgotten part of the world.
Jobs are hard to find and a major part of the families live in poverty. We are a loving, faithful and proud area that just needed some help and that is what we found with The Good People
Fund!
While working at a small school of about 80 students I wanted to start a back pack program where our kids could take food home for the weekend to ensure they have food to eat..I met a lady who introduced me to Naomi and the amazing people of The Good People Fund...it has been such a blessing to not only me, but our small community. I have NEVER met such caring and giving people. Naomi and her group travels here once a year to work on homes in the community, they bring food and supplies to the area and once a month they sponsor a program that supplies monthly food to needy families.
To tell you that this group of people have been a blessing to this area is an understatement, I do not have enough words to express what these people mean to us...pure ANGELS!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 3, 2014

more

August 3, 2014

Perhaps a story can best explain how important The Good People Fund has been to us:

We, a group of court appointed attorneys and social workers, started a small non-profit so our poorest child clients could get the help and services they desperately needed, which we could not find
elsewhere.

Here are some examples of what we face in court:
children not going to school who live in homes without electricity or heat, stressed parents who because they can't afford to fix their car, are about to lose their job and possibly their home, teens getting into trouble on the street because they can't pay sports team fees, unsocialized children who need quality after-school activities, a foster child who has settled into a nice foster home but may need to change foster families because of allergies unless an air conditioner can be purchased, a young mother in a homeless shelters who feels frustrated and hopeless because without a phone or bus fare, she can't get a job so she can get back on their feet..

For 9 years we have held fundraisers to raise the money to help these children and families, but we have paid basically all of the expenses involved in actually running this non-profit (while servicing more than 700 requests for help) from our own pockets.

So I can't tell you how grateful we are to The Good People.

I initially heard about their good work from a friend who has been contributing to them for years.
From the moment I first called Naomi to see if 'TGF' might be interested in One Can Help, they have been exceptionally responsive.

Naomi immediately understood what we do and why the help we give is so necessary for this very vulnerable and underserved population. While the money we give beneficiaries is relatively small, these small amounts really can make an enormous difference!

'TGF' provided us with a matching grant this year of $7500. It was so impressive to see how their offer helped create excitement among our supporters . As a result, we easily surpassed our initial fundraising target!

I can truly say that 'TGF's generous support is helping One Can Help develop the infrastructure we need in order to continue our mission into the future with confidence. Their advice and their support are proving to be invaluable.

Anne Bader-Martin, Esq.
www.OneCanHelp.org

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them find more potential donors who understand how much their support is making a difference.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 1, 2014

more

August 1, 2014

Our organization is honored to have recently joined The Good People Fund's community as a grant recipient. The financial support that The Good People Fund has given us has already made an impact. But even more remarkable to our grassroots non-profit is the individual and unique support we have received from day one from the GPF. The comments that Naomi and her board members made and the questions they raised at our interview immediately caused us to step back and begin to look at our organization differently and more deeply. Already they have given us invaluable feedback on marketing and development and have facilitated connections that we know are going to help us to make more impact in the world. The GPF is a stellar operation with a wealth of knowledge and incredible vision, and we cannot recommend them highly enough.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand their budget so that they can make an even greater impact than they already make.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

GPF and Naomi came into our lives about 3 years ago and have been East Coast guardian angels for our NPO. Their first grant helped us by essential computers for our growing staff, and that was only the beginning. They understand need from every level and know when to be immediate and flexible with their support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand their capacity and budget limits so folks can remain in the GPF family as they grow bigger and bigger

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

I became aware of Good People Fund about 8-10 years ago and since then have been a steady donor and serve on an advisory committee to its board. If you aren't aware of GPF you have lots of company: in a way, that's a reflection of its greatest strength on one hand and its opportunities on the other. GPF flies well under the radar of most donors and even most Jewish communal leaders specifically because it targets needs that are markedly different from any other similar organization.

GPF does "micro-philanthropy" - donating to small, often start-up, programs in the US and Israel. They exemplify the adage of "a little bit goes a long way" - its grants are tiny by comparison to most funds but the impact those grants make is massive. That's why I like it so much: they move fast, they create tangible results, and they give a much-needed injection of resources and support to these otherwise struggling individuals or organizations.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

The Good People Fund staff have taken the time to get to know how we serve the most vulnerable, and what our organizational needs are. They truly care about our work and want to help us meet our goals. They are more than funders - they are advocates and supporters.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None. They are a refreshingly personalized funding organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 28, 2014

more

July 28, 2014

This is a truly wonderful organization in every way. At a time when the world seems too big and violent, and people can easily be made to feel hopelessly insignificant, The Good People Fund gives the lie every day to the idea that individuals can't make a difference. Naomi Eisenberger and Debbie Klein work tirelessly to make sure that people in need of help can get it quickly and with sensitivity to their needs. I'm amazed at the scope of this operation as well as the remarkable positive impact they've had on people's lives.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Good People Fund has gone FAR beyond their funding for my program. As a small nonprofit run by a 25 year old without very much academic study in the field of nonprofit, the expertise, advice and connections that the Good People Fund gave us was much more valuable than the dollars. Naomi has always been willing to talk through challenges and lend her advice and contacts to help us overcome certain roadblocks along our path. Needless to say, she has played a gigantic role in the success we have seen in such a short period of time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any. This experience has been truly incredible.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

An absolutely first rate organization that deserves all of the help and support it can get.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers