Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 17, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 13, 2012

I came across Casey and The Golden Carrot during an internet search. I read the bios about the horses currently there and the farewells to those that had come and gone . It was painfully obvious that ... more

October 17, 2013

I've been following the horses of The Golden Carrot since 2009 and became a donor several years ago. The horses are allowed to live in a herd setting as horses are intended to. They make friends and frienemies. Each are allowed to have their own personalities. Casey strives so hard to give each of them exactly what they need. Blanket or no, shoes or no, matches each to a food regime that best suites them. Those that crave it, she is there to provide that human interaction, but if they would rather stick to their horsey friends, that's ok too. It's been so rewarding to see many that come in with issues, underweight, terrible teeth and feet, etc. respond and thrive. To live out their final years, however long that might be, in peace and comfort.

One last note, it always amazes me how far Casey can make money stretch. She does so much with so little, but she could do so much more, if only everyone would pitch in, even just a little.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Casey has been doing this a long time, if there are any changes to be made she knows what they are and is striving to gather the funds to make it happen.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I came across Casey and The Golden Carrot during an internet search. I read the bios about the horses currently there and the farewells to those that had come and gone . It was painfully obvious that this woman truly loved her charges. She has a passion and dedication that is hard to find just about anywhere these days. Her style of writing reaches out and pulls you in so that you are experiencing the plight of these noble animals. I've followed her for the last 3 years. Enraptured. Almost 2 years ago she took in a mother/daughter pair and I volunteered for a partial sponsorship in my daughter's honor to go to the daughter Comet. Casey gives horses something most (more likely all) have never been the chance to be. A horse. Time to be shown a loving/caring hand with no worries about whether they will be shipped off yet again, mistreated and where the next meal is coming like clockwork. The time they have with her, be it months or years is the best retirement any, man or beast could hope for. Comet has passed on, but my daughter and I decided to transfer our commitment to her best friend. A couple of months ago, we didn't get to help Zeppelin and couldn't take the chance that baby Dom would end up the same way, so me and several others (7, I think) stepped up with a little bit and were able to save him. Casey stretches every dollar donated unbelievably far, she can make you see that the old saying "every little bit counts" can be true. I follow on Facebook and get to see pics to my sponsorees, Sarge and Dominic and get to hear about the everyday goings on at TGC and look forward to every second of it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 5, 2013

more

May 5, 2013

I have been a donor for several years. The Golden Carrot is an amazing horse rescue/forever home for horses. Casey is passionate about what she does & stretches every dollar to go further. I am confident that every dollar donated goes directly to the care of the horses. To get an idea of what she can do, one need only go to her site & see the before and after photos. She works magic on the abused, starving, hurting and despondent horses that arrive to The Golden Carrot. Even better, Casey is completely transparent & trustworthy; she invites you to learn more, know more and get involved in any area of the operation. Please get involved & donate to this charity. Every horse deserves the final home & care that Casey is able to provide.

Wendi

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 4, 2013

more

May 4, 2013

I have been donating what I can to the Golden Carrot for years. I am confident that all of the money donated goes directly to help the horses. Casey O'Connor has dedicated her life to helping horses in need and works tirelessly to make sure the horses in her care are comfortable and well kept. Please support the Golden Carrot. It is an excellent charity that works to stretch every dollar.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 17, 2012

more

November 17, 2012

I first visited the Golden Carrot with my daughter on a Girl Scout trip. The experience was overwhelmingly positive. Casey takes in senior, disabled horses and lets them live the rest of their lives in comfort and peace. She does not stint on her time, efforts or abilities to ease the final days for these horses. They are her life and she loves every single one. She oftentimes goes without when money is short, but her horses are always well tended. A visit to Casey becomes an experience in horse tending, simply put. Her horses are her life. I invite you to read a tribute to one of her horses where her love for them is apparent at: http://www.thegoldencarrot.org/Pages/GoodbyetoSunny.aspx.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I found the Golden Carrot while doing a Internet Search. I than found they had aFacebook page and I became a Facebook friend. I started to receive the Golden Carrot news letter and saw the hard work Casey did. When it comes to donations when ever I have a few extra dollars I send it her way. She works so hard for the horses. I know if they could speak they would say Thank You! And I thank you for what you do for all of them! : )

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I began sponsoring a horse at the Golden Carrot earlier this year after I read about Dom the horse and his sad tale on Facebook. I was so proud to be part of the group of people who help provide the funds to save him and other horses like him. Casey at the Gold Carrot has such a passion for these poor old guys, who, I'm sure would never find homes otherwise. I have nothing but admiration for her! She is Super woman!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

About four years ago, I read about a rescue in Southen California, The Golden Carrot, that had taken in a horse that had been abandoned in the desert. I decided to visit the rescue's website and look around a little. I found a horse that reminded me of the little bay mare I had as a kid. I contacted Casey and was told that Sara still needed a sponsor. I have been partially sponsoring Sara since...even though she is MUCH bigger than my little bay mare! I am also sending a small donation every month as part of a group to sponsor Cassidy. I do not live in California so I cannot visit to volunteer as often as I would like. I have only visited twice. If you go The Golden Carrot's website, click the Meet The Horses button, go to Sara's page and scroll down a bit, you'll see pictures from my first visit. Casey is very good about updating me with pictures and videos of Sara. Over the years Casey has taken in some horses that are in less than healthy condition. It is amazing to watch the transformation from a skeleton with skin draped over it, to a healthy, happy, thriving equine. I think the best videos she makes are the ones that show the horses charging out every morning. They never fail to bring a smile to my face. I know that 100% of my donation every month goes to care for the horses. If you are looking for a worthy cause to support, I can whole heartedly, without hesitation, recommend The Golden Carrot.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers