Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I met Casey ten years ago, after reading an article in a local newspaper about Golden Carrot and a wonderful person who has unselfishly dedicated her life to helping horses and other animals. I put my kids (son 11 and daughter 3 at the time) and a 20lb bag of carrots in a truck and went to meet Casey. We became volunteers at GC. My daughter became absolutely in love with those beautiful giants, especially Bucky and Hava. Since then, we moved away, but she still has fond memories of the GC and is now involved in helping at a local animal rescue organization and is a devout horseback rider. What we saw at Golden carrot was unconditional love and dedication of one woman who was single-handedly taking care of about twenty horses (at that time). Golden Carrot is a great place where people of all ages are able to experience the joy of giving/receiving love thanks to the wonderful, deserving animals and a lady with a golden heart.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2003

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

My friend took me to The Golden Carrot to volunteer because she knew of my great love of horses. When I arrived, I found one great lady caring for 40+ horses on a daily basis. She turns them out every morning, cares for their needs or injuries, cleans stalls, fills water barrels and gathers them up at night, only to feed them again. She does this day in and day out, 365 days a year. She makes sure they receive proper vet care, that their feet are trimmed on a regular basis and even provides chiropractic care! These horses are all older and/or disabled, which means their stay at The Golden Carrot is lifelong. Unfortunately, this also means that she must mercifully send a few horses over the Rainbow Bridge every year. Everything she does is with such love and caring and yet not a penny of the donations it takes to finance this noble endeavor go into her pocket. She is a constant source of amazement to me. I volunteer as often as I can, to lighten her load for the day and give her a little room to breathe. I have NEVER heard of or seen a nonprofit where absolutely every penny that is donated goes straight to the cause.... every penny! Supporting The Golden Carrot is a pleasure and a privilege that is rewarding far beyond the dollars spent. I know I am making a difference in the lives of these discarded but wonderful and loving beings every time I donate or visit. My absolute favorite thing to do is wander through the herd and love, groom, touch and speak to each and every horse. Thank you Casey for all you do and know that you are such a gift to both the horses and to me!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I began sponsoring a horse at the Golden Carrot earlier this year after I read about Dom the horse and his sad tale on Facebook. I was so proud to be part of the group of people who help provide the funds to save him and other horses like him. Casey at the Gold Carrot has such a passion for these poor old guys, who, I'm sure would never find homes otherwise. I have nothing but admiration for her! She is Super woman!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

About four years ago, I read about a rescue in Southen California, The Golden Carrot, that had taken in a horse that had been abandoned in the desert. I decided to visit the rescue's website and look around a little. I found a horse that reminded me of the little bay mare I had as a kid. I contacted Casey and was told that Sara still needed a sponsor. I have been partially sponsoring Sara since...even though she is MUCH bigger than my little bay mare! I am also sending a small donation every month as part of a group to sponsor Cassidy. I do not live in California so I cannot visit to volunteer as often as I would like. I have only visited twice. If you go The Golden Carrot's website, click the Meet The Horses button, go to Sara's page and scroll down a bit, you'll see pictures from my first visit. Casey is very good about updating me with pictures and videos of Sara. Over the years Casey has taken in some horses that are in less than healthy condition. It is amazing to watch the transformation from a skeleton with skin draped over it, to a healthy, happy, thriving equine. I think the best videos she makes are the ones that show the horses charging out every morning. They never fail to bring a smile to my face. I know that 100% of my donation every month goes to care for the horses. If you are looking for a worthy cause to support, I can whole heartedly, without hesitation, recommend The Golden Carrot.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I found "The Golden Carrot" while being on a mission to save an elderly horse. After making initial contact, they immediately responded with a shout out to their donors, volunteers and the readers of their website to help me save my equine friend. Within a couple of days I had so many responses. Unfortunately the horse couldn't be rescued because the owner misled me. None-the-less I decided to visit the Golden Carrot, volunteer and donate to the great cause. Casey is doing a fantastic job, giving these deserving horses a forever home, they can live the rest of their lives in peace. The horse are very well looked after, get all the care they could possible need and most importantly they are loved. One can see that they are happy. All funds go directly to the horses! This is a wonderful Charity and I'd encourage anyone to see it for themselves and to donate to a great cause!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers