Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 17, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 13, 2012

I came across Casey and The Golden Carrot during an internet search. I read the bios about the horses currently there and the farewells to those that had come and gone . It was painfully obvious that ... more

October 17, 2013

I've been following the horses of The Golden Carrot since 2009 and became a donor several years ago. The horses are allowed to live in a herd setting as horses are intended to. They make friends and frienemies. Each are allowed to have their own personalities. Casey strives so hard to give each of them exactly what they need. Blanket or no, shoes or no, matches each to a food regime that best suites them. Those that crave it, she is there to provide that human interaction, but if they would rather stick to their horsey friends, that's ok too. It's been so rewarding to see many that come in with issues, underweight, terrible teeth and feet, etc. respond and thrive. To live out their final years, however long that might be, in peace and comfort.

One last note, it always amazes me how far Casey can make money stretch. She does so much with so little, but she could do so much more, if only everyone would pitch in, even just a little.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Casey has been doing this a long time, if there are any changes to be made she knows what they are and is striving to gather the funds to make it happen.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I came across Casey and The Golden Carrot during an internet search. I read the bios about the horses currently there and the farewells to those that had come and gone . It was painfully obvious that this woman truly loved her charges. She has a passion and dedication that is hard to find just about anywhere these days. Her style of writing reaches out and pulls you in so that you are experiencing the plight of these noble animals. I've followed her for the last 3 years. Enraptured. Almost 2 years ago she took in a mother/daughter pair and I volunteered for a partial sponsorship in my daughter's honor to go to the daughter Comet. Casey gives horses something most (more likely all) have never been the chance to be. A horse. Time to be shown a loving/caring hand with no worries about whether they will be shipped off yet again, mistreated and where the next meal is coming like clockwork. The time they have with her, be it months or years is the best retirement any, man or beast could hope for. Comet has passed on, but my daughter and I decided to transfer our commitment to her best friend. A couple of months ago, we didn't get to help Zeppelin and couldn't take the chance that baby Dom would end up the same way, so me and several others (7, I think) stepped up with a little bit and were able to save him. Casey stretches every dollar donated unbelievably far, she can make you see that the old saying "every little bit counts" can be true. I follow on Facebook and get to see pics to my sponsorees, Sarge and Dominic and get to hear about the everyday goings on at TGC and look forward to every second of it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 5, 2013

more

May 5, 2013

I have been a donor for several years. The Golden Carrot is an amazing horse rescue/forever home for horses. Casey is passionate about what she does & stretches every dollar to go further. I am confident that every dollar donated goes directly to the care of the horses. To get an idea of what she can do, one need only go to her site & see the before and after photos. She works magic on the abused, starving, hurting and despondent horses that arrive to The Golden Carrot. Even better, Casey is completely transparent & trustworthy; she invites you to learn more, know more and get involved in any area of the operation. Please get involved & donate to this charity. Every horse deserves the final home & care that Casey is able to provide.

Wendi

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 4, 2013

more

May 4, 2013

I have been donating what I can to the Golden Carrot for years. I am confident that all of the money donated goes directly to help the horses. Casey O'Connor has dedicated her life to helping horses in need and works tirelessly to make sure the horses in her care are comfortable and well kept. Please support the Golden Carrot. It is an excellent charity that works to stretch every dollar.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 23, 2012

more

November 23, 2012

Please support THE GOLDEN CARROT !!! I started going to The Golden Carrot through my business for skeletal adjustment. It didn't take long to realize the work being done at this rescue was beyond what other rescues were doing. So started and friendship and eventual position on the board... Casey goes above and beyond, from how she treats each horse to how she sacrifices many of her own comforts for all of the horses well being. Casey is truly doing something that not very many people would do, and I don't meant "running a rescue". I have been aware of Casey going out of her way to make sure that other rescues get what they need even in times when she, herself, was suffering with low donations. There are not a lot of people out there doing that sort of thing when they need the support as much as the next guy. Matter of fact, some rescues are quite the opposite. A person only needs to spend a couple minutes on the website to see the compassion and dedication that Casey has for each and every one of these precious old horses that have been forgotten by so many. Rock on Casey :)

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012

more

November 17, 2012

I first visited the Golden Carrot with my daughter on a Girl Scout trip. The experience was overwhelmingly positive. Casey takes in senior, disabled horses and lets them live the rest of their lives in comfort and peace. She does not stint on her time, efforts or abilities to ease the final days for these horses. They are her life and she loves every single one. She oftentimes goes without when money is short, but her horses are always well tended. A visit to Casey becomes an experience in horse tending, simply put. Her horses are her life. I invite you to read a tribute to one of her horses where her love for them is apparent at: http://www.thegoldencarrot.org/Pages/GoodbyetoSunny.aspx.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I found the Golden Carrot while doing a Internet Search. I than found they had aFacebook page and I became a Facebook friend. I started to receive the Golden Carrot news letter and saw the hard work Casey did. When it comes to donations when ever I have a few extra dollars I send it her way. She works so hard for the horses. I know if they could speak they would say Thank You! And I thank you for what you do for all of them! : )

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Selfless. Honest. Persistent. Courageous. Extraordinary. These are a few of the words that describe Casey, the heart and soul of The Golden Carrot. I have known Casey since 1996 and can attest that her dedication to provide a loving home for unwanted and abused horses is unwavering. With her Irish tenacity, she started a small rescue operation and turned it into a 501c3 with room to care for and shelter more than 40 horses at any given time. The kind of commitment and sacrifice required to make such a transformation is humbling.
While Casey has some intermittent help, her organization is unique because she essentially does all of physical labor of feeding, cleaning stalls, etc., on her own 365 days a year. She has a special relationship based upon mutual respect with each and every horse in her care. She knows each horse’s likes and dislikes and moods and is in tune with the intricacies of the relationships among the herd. That kind of attention to detail is just another thing that makes The Golden Carrot so special.
It is a shame that when Casey is not working a very rigorous schedule, she is in a constant struggle to find the financing to keep The Golden Carrot’s doors open to the horses that are fortunate to call it home.
There is not a more worthy and genuine charitable organization. Every penny donated goes directly to the horses. Casey will go without food before they will. She lives simply without many of the comforts of home we take for granted. She works tirelessly to honor these noble creatures by allowing them to live out their days with dignity and the proper diet, exercise, medication and the peace that comes from knowing that they are finally safe in their forever home.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been working with Casey for about five years now and am so impressed with the incredibly hard work put into her organization with very limited funds and resources. Casey has taken on the job of helping old and disabled horses that really no one wants. People dump them on her for so many reasons (and some of the reasons make no sense) but Casey puts aside the sometimes head scratchng human factor and does what she can for the horse. I am proud to be associated with her. It is difficult for Casey as she bonds with all of her charges but knows that often her time is limited with them. All of Casey's horses at least know some love and have dignity at the end of their lives...whether just a few weeks, months or years that are spent at The Golden Carrot.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Let me start off by saying this about Casey, she has a very huge heart when it comes to animals! That in my book has to be the number thing when being in this line of work. She puts her heart and soul into The Golden Carrot and it really shows! All the animals are very well taken care of and they are very happy. I have been to other rescues before and the animals are not always happy or tended to very well. What Casey is doing in such a wonderful service to these animals! A 5 star rating is not good enough, if you ask me!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My daughter and I began visiting and volunteering at The Golden Carrot through a girl scout visit several years ago and try to get back there as often as we can. Casey is truly remarkable as she manages to care for 50+ horses daily with very little help. I've seen horses come to her painfully thin, frightened, sick or injured, rescued from abusive situations, rescued from the kill buyers at auction, rescued from being put down just for being old or no longer wanted. I've seen the horses gain weight, become confident in the herd, heal from injuries and find a place to be loved and cared for until their time on this earth is done. Casey is a horse whisperer for sure!! Her devotion to the horses is unwavering and when she isn't physically taking care of their needs, she is trying to raise funds to continue her mission. She is as frugal as she can possibly be and every donated penny goes directly to the care and maintenance of her beloved horses. I can say with absolute confidence that The Golden Carrot is one of the most deserving organizations I've chosen to support and volunteer at. Hard work, no frills, 100% satisying.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers