Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
1234.690485
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
November 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I just got back from almost 3 weeks in Nepal, part of which I spent with Mountain Fund volunteering my medical expertise. I am an ER doctor and, thanks to the organizers of Mountain Fund, I was able to bring basic medical care to 2 villages outside Kathmandu where there are no healthcare providers. First, Mountain Fund facilitated my meeting with a local doctor at a hospital in Kathmandu so that I could learn about the disease processes that are most commonly found in that region and determine what medications would be most useful to bring with me into the villages. I was given a tour of the small city hospital and it was interesting for me to watch the local doctor at work. In the villages, I was challenged by the lack of laboratory and radiology and I really got to use my clinical skills. My translator was a young Nepali woman currently in nursing school and it was fun to teach her a few clinical pearls while she taught me a wealth of cultural information about the patients. My greatest impact was probably just treating the majority of patients for worms; however, there were two children under 5 who likely had pneumonia and I was able to give them the antibiotics they needed. The experience I had in the villages was humbling and rewarding and gave me a renewed energy and love for my profession! I am thankful to Scott and Sunita, the organizers of Mountain Fund, for providing me with that opportunity and taking care of all of the logistics. They also took me out to the village of Mankhu to see Her Farm, a self-sustainable and safe place where women can live and work and have their children cared for and schooled. Eventually, there will also be a health clinic (run by the above-mentioned nursing student once she completes her degree!). I cannot say enough about the wonders of Her Farm! I spent 3 days there and wished it could've been more. Besides the obvious value of this project (i.e., allowing women in a country with limited women's rights to regain their dignity and independence and remain with their children) there is the gorgeous scenery, the fresh air, the stars like I have never seen, the just-picked guavas, the animals, the children, and the camaraderie of the volunteers and Mountain Fund staff. It was a mini-vacation all in itself. Had I not asked Scott to organize a trek for me and my niece (which he did, taking care of all the details before we left the US and accompanying us to the trekking company in Thamel to confirm arrangements), I would have stayed at Her Farm longer and helped out with the farm work and/or building projects (like my niece did after our trek). All in all, I have only glowing things to say about Mountain Fund, Scott, Sunita and all the young women in their support staff. I was made to feel welcome immediately and in a very short time felt almost like part of their family. The food that was prepared was delicious (especially the Nepalese dishes!) and the room/facilites were always clean. I am excited to follow this organization to see their progress and what new projects they come up with next. Some day I hope to return to Nepal and volunteer my time at Her Farm's health clinic!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2014

more

April 24, 2014

I have worked for the Mountain Fund for 4 and a half months. I was in Nepal, located on a farm in the Dhading district, close to Kathmandu. I have had no bad experiences. Everyone who is located at the farm and in Kathmandu are helpful and friendly. I went to Nepal for 8 months, part of that time climbing, part of it volunteering with the Mountain Fund, and the volunteering has been, and will remain, the most memorable part of my time in Nepal. While teaching English at the farm, I truly felt I was making a difference to the community seeing improvements in the children's English skills. Not once have I felt lonely, scared, or in any way more of a burden than a help. You will always eat good food with the Mountain Fund, which has lead to me gaining a few pounds. If you have any problems, the girls will help fix those problems by any means they can. The Mountain Fund truly has been very influential to my life and has changed my life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 17, 2014

more

April 17, 2014

I volunteered at the Her Farm as an addition to a climbing trip that brought me to Nepal. The time I spent at the farm was the most enriching experience of a 8 month stint of travel in Asia. What made my time there so special was the enormous sense of community that radiated out from the farmhouse on the hill. I reccomend spending at least a few weeks and really embracing the subtle difference between the western world and the farm-life of Mankhu. Enjoy!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

One word: disappointing. I kind of think that the Mountain Fund is doing some good things in Nepal and maybe that’s where all these good reviews come from, but I felt like they were scamming medical volunteers in order to do so. Like some of the other negative reviewers, I heard some crazy stories about the guy who runs this ngo. Medical volunteers of all types getting angry emails, scolded over skype, kicked out… By the time I arrived some crazy stories had accumulated. People showing up for placements that didn’t even exist and then of course all these other med volunteers who’s placement existed but was not really anything. Still I had a great time in Nepal, but it was of my own making not the mountain fund’s. honestly, I wouldn’t tough this organization again with a ten foot pole.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

The Mountain Fund made my trip to Nepal absolutely unforgettable. The whole trip was wonderfully planned. Thanks to the Mountain Fund we got to experience everything from Kathmandu life, to camping in the mountain sides, to living in a little mountain village and the touristy Chitwan national park. The volunteer project was extremely successful and it is all thanks to the lovely people behind The Mountain Fund.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Become a part of it :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

I volunteered with The Mountain Fund from Jan. 2012 - Jun. 2012 mostly in Helping Hands Community Hospital and several remote villages in the surrounding countryside. It is an amazing charity doing real, lasting good for the Nepali people. Scott and his wife Sunita devote immense time to researching and determining the validity of the groups that The Mountain Fund is involved with so that volunteers can be confident they are actively participating in worthwhile causes. And because they offer so many avenues through which someone may work, a person would be hard-pressed to stay with Scott and not feel like they've accomplished something. As an example, I would balance my extra time either assisting a nearby school (Orchid Garden), helping beginning construction of their abused women's coop farm/housing project (Her Farm), running small clinics throughout the country, or just traveling and exploring. The experience I gained while working with Scott was invaluable and I would thoroughly recommend The Mountain Fund to anyone who wants to do real charity work in an area that desperately needs it.

That being said, I have two warnings for new volunteers in Nepal:

- First, be prepared to live in a third world country while you're there. Nepal, although safe, is limited in it's modern conveniences. Pack appropriately and research the area, climate, etc.

- Second and most importantly, do not come here expecting to be spoon fed opportunities. Although Scott and Sunita work very, VERY hard to meet everyone's expectations during their stay there, ultimately what you get out of the program comes down to you. Be proactive, jump at opportunities when they arise, and I guarantee you'll get more from The Mountain Fund than you can imagine.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 15, 2013

more

September 15, 2013

I came to Nepal with my Global Perspectives 12 group during spring break of 2013 and without the Mountain fund, the trip wouldn't have been the same. They really made us feel at home and gave us the opportunity to volunteer on a life changing project and explore the beautiful country of Nepal.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 14, 2013

more

September 14, 2013

This organization devotes so much time and energy into making things better for those who could use a hand. I felt very safe with them, and when you spend enough time with these wonderful people they become your second family. The Global Mountain Fund concentrates their efforts on issues that aren't well known for those of us who live a good distance from any 3rd world country. I volunteered with the mountain fund with a school group in March 2012 and it was by far the best experience I've ever had. Scott and Sunita are truly inspirational people who not only made the work we did more fun but also comfortable. Nepal was completely awe-inspiring and to be able to interact with the families we were affecting was something I'll never forget.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 14, 2013

more

September 14, 2013

It is now only two weeks before I fly to Nepal and join the Mountain Fund team at Her Farm. I would just like to say a big thank you to Scott for matching me up with this project, fully answering all my questions so promptly and sending out tips and ideas before we start. As well as the great admin and support, Scott has arranged for contact with the other two volunteers who will be there at the same time, so I am really looking forward to finally meeting with them and bringing our little part of this big Mountain Fund to life. Great work being done by the team and proud to be able to say I'm a Mountain Volunteer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 14, 2013

more

September 14, 2013

I was a medical volunteer with the Mountain Fund back in 2006 (was it that long ago?) on one of the earliest versions of what have become amazingly organized and effective 'moving medical camps'. The experience did change my life-the cliche is appropriate here, the story long and as beautiful as the Nepali people we met. I have watched Scott and his team work to develop an organization that is in tune with the culture, true to the ultimate goals of self sufficiency and empowerment and pretty much absent ego (not easy to achieve as a "well- to -do" western charity in asia). I returned for another trek/medical mission in 2010 with a friend who also had an amazing experience-a chance to fulfill a lifelong dream of doing medical volunteer work as well as see the majestic Himalaya. ( A win-win win for him as he also returned with photos that took multiple awards in professional shows). I continue to keep in touch with the staff at the KTM office on my frequent returns to Nepal.

So that was my personal experience-as a 50 something woman I always felt safe and free to experience what I had come to do. I strongly encourage anyone who wants to see Nepal for real, to see what your heart looks like (for real), to check out the volunteer opportunities with the Mountain Fund. Scott, Sunita and the organization they work so hard to support are what non profits should be.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Right now, I think they have it all OK

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers