Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
54 Reviews
1234.759265
Write A Review
August 10, 2014

more

August 10, 2014

A group of eager secondary students and I came to Nepal in March of 2014 to continue a project at The Mountain Fund that my school, Stelly's Secondary started several years back to aid in the construction of a women's shelter. The people at the Mountain fund were amazing! They brought in over 30 outsiders and made us feel like members of a tight knit community. They made us feel like family. We had such a blast working with the volunteers from this amazing organization. They personally checked in on us often to see how we were doing, and the never once made us feel like a burden. I would certainly suggest the Moutain Fund to anyone looking to do volunteering work in Nepal, and I would most certainly go back to Nepal just to see those humble, incredible people again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 26, 2014

more

August 26, 2014

I am a 20 year old trainee teacher from worcester and I went for a month to teach. It was one of the most amazing experiences I can ever encounter. Words and pictures cannot describe how amazing it was. The family and mountain fund are extremely helpful and very caring. You become part of the family and felt safe and happy throughout my time there.
Personally, my favourite experience was 'Her Farm'. It was such so inspiring to work with the sisters there, preparing meals, farming and teaching. The children are brilliant. They are so willing to work and learn. The language barrier is hard but patience and persistence from both you and the children thrive with success.
Going there was very scary. I was very cautious and nervous as well as excited, but you get lots of reassurance and guidance.
I would highly recommend using the Mountain Fund, it's an experience I will always cherish. When people ask me how it was the only words I use is amazing. I miss the people I have met and the places I have visited. I will be returning to them in future years because a part of my heart now belongs there :) a must do experience!
August 26, 2014

more

August 26, 2014

I have just returned from the experience of my life. I haven't travelled a lot and as a 52 yr old (just single) woman thought it was all too late - but 'Mountain Fund' proved me very wrong indeed. I thought they'd laugh at me but I was welcomed and befriended like any other. I feel privileged and honoured to have been a part of the Farm family for two weeks. I cut and carried grass; I ploughed and prepared fields; I planted rice; I helped to graze the oxen; I sang Nepali songs and danced; I picked corn; I ate jack fruit, pears and mangoes straight from the trees; I ate freshly harvested and cooked food (of which the rice pudding deserves special mention) but most of all I met fantastic people up on the farm. I was truly inspired and motivated by all of you and your happy; hard working; never complaining; attitude to life. I will never forget you and will always have very special memories of my time on your farm. Thank you for making it special for me.
August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

An amazing month thanks to all the Mountain Fund staff. They offered a great insight into Nepal life and had extensive knowledge of Kathmandu, you can ask them literally anything. Perfect accommodation and support for a genuine Nepal adventure. The staff leave an impression that makes you eager to return.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

I went over to Nepal and volunteered with the mountain fund,being quite young i thought it would a somewhat scary experience but the staff at the mountain fund were very welcoming and helpful!

I would volunteer with mountain fund again in a heartbeat and am planning on going back to Nepal
to volunteer with them in the next couple of years,i have recommended them to my friends and family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2014

more

August 13, 2014

I was in Nepal in a 60 days program with The Mountain Found at Her Farm. After that experience, I just dying to go back to spend more days there! It was so very special, learned so much and It was so amzing to make part of a great family; they made me feel that way. My days there are saved in my heart and in my memories.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

I was in Nepal with this program for 3 months and had the time of my life. You become part of a family. My experiences with this organization have been wonderful, I have and will continue to recommend The Mountain Fund to everybody I know.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 10, 2014

more

August 10, 2014

Along with 30 other people, students and teachers, I volunteered and traveled in Nepal with The Mountain Fund at Her Farm. Knowing just how important education and care is for single, widowed, or divorced women and their children, this project, and all the people involved, quickly wormed its way into my heart. The hard work I did everyday, though just for a short time, always contained an element of fun, as the women and children of Her Farm possessed unalterable high spirits. Though I'm back in Canada now, I'm always dreaming of Nepal and my family there, and I'm counting down the days until I go back.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 10, 2014

more

August 10, 2014

I am a recent graduate of Stelly's Secondary School and a recent traveler to Nepal where a group of over 30 students, including myself, helped build a community centre at Her Farm through the Mountain Fund. Living in Nepal was one of the most life-changing experiences I've had and I would give anything to go back to see the beautiful children and the intricate culture. The Mountain Fund provided us with excellent care and truly gave us the opportunity to see Nepal from some amazing perspectives. As well as introducing us to the farm where our service and work was much needed and appreciated, we were introduced to the community where ceremonies and celebrations took place. I instantly fell in love with all the children and every day they are on my mind and in my heart. They are so very precious. Today I am still in contact with the wonderful people who run The Mountain Fund and I am blessed to call them my new family. There is a certain warmth and dedication about this organization that captivated me. I only hope that more people like me will one day discover all that Nepal has to offer through The Mountain Fund.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 10, 2014

more

August 10, 2014

I'm a second year medical student who just returned back from Nepal for their Global Health program. I spent a month in this wonderful place during the Summer and would do so again in a heartbeat. Mountain Fund helped me organize a trekking trip up to the Gosaikunda lakes and it all worked out. They were able to arrange all the buses and places to stay with no problem.

I trekked for a week and then spent 3 weeks volunteering at the Rural hospital where I had the opportunity of observing Nepalese health care and the medical issues they face - many of which are very uncommon nowadays in the United States. The staff and the physician present were fantastic - they allowed me to be more hands on in addition to the shadowing. The hospital consists of a small ER, an OPD clinic, an X-ray machine, lab room, and a pharmacy - they are fully equipped. I saw things such as typhoid fever, gastroenteritis, gastritis, tumors, COPD, road accidents, and plenty head traumas. Although it was slow at times, it was still an enjoyable experience to see how things are run in this country and the many challenges they face.

I did have some issues at the place I stayed at during my time volunteering in the Rural hospital. I happened to be the first person who arrived to this house and who would volunteer at this hospital. The electricity in the bedroom did not work well and there would be no water in the mornings, or no water in the 3rd floor where I was staying at. I attribute this problem more to the owner of the house who wouldn't follow through, rather than Mountain Fund itself but I would have appreciated if this was addressed before I arrived. However, the staff from Mountain Fund worked daily to make things better and eventually fixed the problem by buying a huge tank of water. I appreciated that they would always be there and call to make sure that everything was alright. I believe this shouldn't be an issue anymore for any other volunteer since everything was working fine after that week.

Mountain Fund is a very flexible organization. Pretty much anything you want to experience they can help you arrange it. They let me spend couple days in the Helping Hands clinic to observe some surgeries - this is usually their pre-med program. I happened to see a hysterectomy and a skin graft on a patient who was recovering from Necrotizing fasciitis. They also helped me arrange a trip to Pokhara and that was a fantastic experience - highly recommend it.

I loved volunteering with Mountain Fund. Although I tend to be hesitant about doing things at the last minute and I'm a bit uncomfortable with not being able to plan ahead, I realized that this was something that happens to be common in developing countries. However, Mountain Fund was always flexible and never lost sight of what I wanted to do or where I wanted to go. They always kept in contact with me wherever I was and I felt very safe as a solo female traveler. I think what makes Mountain Fund so unique is the people - the sisters who are your guides, help you settle in the house you're staying at, and cook some amazing food, are some of the most fantastic and bright young women you will ever meet. Scott MacLennan and Sunita Subedi were also amazing people to meet - I highly recommend you to chat with them if you happen to get a chance, they know so much about Nepal, the people, the culture, the politics, and also give great life advice. This is a wonderful organization that helps empower women and is giving a great contribution to the country. It gives a great opportunity for outsiders to learn and live the real Nepali life. I look forward to going back someday!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would just ask them to try to make sure things work at the house in the Rural hospital before they send volunteers. I know that it was hard since they were told that everything was working via phone, but maybe if they actually go in person and check, that would be best. Thanks!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers