Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
June 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

There is no graver decision made by our elected leaders than to go to war. Thus as a citizen of a democracy, I believe that we make a contract with our fellow citizens who serve in the military. They uphold a solemn oath to protect our freedoms. In exchange for their service, we should support them in time of return to reclaim their civilian lives. Give An Hour has a proven track record of providing mental healthcare to our returning veterans. These important skills help with the most common costs to our military from our wars in Iraq and Afghanistan: brain injuries due to post traumatic stress. In addition, the veterans provide the nation with a model to manage our number one healthcare problem: brain disease in its many forms, especially substance abuse disorders and suicide. Science, technology and healthcare provide real remedies and treatment for these problems. We must push forward to improve the data. One in five Americans are afflicted; yet only ten percent of these individuals seek and get the care which will improve their health and address their problems. As well current data shows that our returning veterans are waiting in excess of 100 days for their first appointment for care from the VA. Also half of the returning veterans are using private health insurance for their medical needs. Give An Hour is doing its utmost best to fill that gap by providing mental healthcare services pro bono to our returning veterans.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 12, 2014

more

June 12, 2014

Our non-profit organization, Veterans On the Rise, Inc., a local 501(c) 3 serving homeless veterans and veteran families, was selected as the host location for the Give An Hour Celebration of Service. Our leadership worked collaboratively with GIve An Hour leadership, and leadership from CIty Year Care Force to identify over 100 volunteers who came to Veterans On the Rise, Inc to perform beautifying activities. Over 60 of the volunteers came from Give An Hour. It was clear that the volunteers who participated in the event were committed to providing valuable services to veterans in need. Give An Hour services are a much needed component of bridging the mental health care gap for many veterans and veterans families. We created murals, added mulch to common area, and invited a strong since of community partnership between mental health care professionals, civilians and service members on that day. We are so grateful for the connection our team forged with the Give An Hour organization on that day.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

We would like to establish more on-going connections with Give An Hour to partner to create more opportunities to serve veterans and veteran families together.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

What a great organization that knows how to keep on giving! Not only is Give an Hour leading they way in providing mental health services to our country, but they are showing our country how to give back to others, making our communities stronger. Thanks for what you do!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The objective to provide guidance and support to our nation's veterans is a mission that is ever more important in today's world. Give an Hour provides just that at a level that is unparalleled in the non-profit community. Their team is committed to providing the highest level of support to the men and women - and their families - who have served our country proudly and are now looking for help.

The issues that Give an Hour takes on are real problems. However, with their continued efforts, real solutions are formed for our nation's heroes.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Through my association with active duty military and Veterans, I have seen the tremendous need for the work done by Give an Hour. Dr. Barbara Van Dahlan and her team are tireless advocates for destigmatizing the mental health issues that plague our nation's heroes, allowing them to get the help the need, and ultimately, saving and rebuilding lives.
Debbie Gregory, CEO
Military Connection

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a military wife during Viet Nam and having a son in Desert Storm, I know how important it is to have an organization that helps serve our returning veterans and their families. That is why I am a volunteer.
I think it is an exceptional organization. In addition to providing mental health
services, Give an Hour has volunteers who offer their expertise to Wounded Warriors, TAPS, Rolling Thunder, Got Your 6, and the list goes on!!
To provide free mental health services to our veterans and their families in every state of the union, plus Guam and Puerto Rico, is an amazing accomplishment by Give and Hour and their volunteers. Give an Hour is where I intend to continue volunteering my time and energy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 16, 2012

more


1 previous review
October 19, 2011

It had been on my mind to find out how I could make a contribution to our military families when a friend told me about the mission of Give An Hour. There are a variety of ways to make a difference fo... more

October 16, 2012

To see so many volunteers and beneficiaries come together for the first GAH Gala in May was exhilarating. Hearing the stories of heartache and pain experienced by returning soldiers and how Give An Hour has given them and their loved ones hope through free counseling helping them and society by having these men and women heal and engage in their future. I was so pleased to help this organization select recipients for grants for grass routes efforts to support soldiers/ veterans and those they love to get support in their local communities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2011

It had been on my mind to find out how I could make a contribution to our military families when a friend told me about the mission of Give An Hour. There are a variety of ways to make a difference for the men, women and their extended families who need mental health support as a result of their combat experiences and the absence or loss of family members. This program is made up of professionals who can give their therapeutic expertise to support soldiers and loved ones as they reenter their home environment and cope the challenges they meet. No more suffering in silence as in the past. Give An Hour gives a voice to the suffering.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Not personally other than the energy and commitment of the staff and volunteers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Since it is a growing, dynamic organization changes will occur naturally as needs occur.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I believe it will over time. This is a new experience for me.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Sad for the veterans of former wars who were ignored or worse after their return. We were war weary after Korea and there was troop blaming after Vietnam for failed Administrative policies.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Being a military parent, myself, and an independent Military Outreach Support Advocate, I have engaged with a network of over 50,000-80,000 individuals, most all who have experienced having a loved one, friend or family member deployed at some point in time over the last ten years we have been engaged in war in Iraq and/or Afghanistan.

When any of these individuals reaches out to me, seeking local counseling services, it is vital for me to find them support... now.

Many of them have reached their breaking point... and they become stressed-out even moreso when they find out that they cannot afford the cost of the counseling, or there isn't a facility or mental health provider agency nearby.

Give an Hour removes these two obstacles. Through their network of providers and counselors, I am able to help the person in need of counseling, finding a resource nearby where they live; a counselor readily available... giving them hope that help is available almost immediately.

There is absolutely no cost to the person in need... the counseling services are free... they do not have to pay any monetary fee, whatsoever, to the counselor.

MENTAL HEALTH PROVIDERS: If you are a mental health provider, donating one hour a week of your invaluable talent and profession can make an incalculable difference in someone else's life... counseling a mom who is overwhelmed with anxiety and stress worrying about her son or daughter who is currently deployed for the first time, or on a second or third deployment; counseling the returning service member who is battling the invisible wound of reoccurring nightmares or reliving what they witnessed in combat; counseling the parent or child of a service member who has returned from deployment, and whose behavior has turned to violence and abuse due to alcohol or drug addiction... your services are in dire need. Please make contact with Give an Hour.

VOLUNTEER: There are not enough mental health providers available, today, to adequately meet the volume of those in need of counseling. If you know of social workers or counselors who might be willing to donate one hour of their time; or, if you know of someone who is in need of counseling... ask them to view the Give an Hour website ( www.giveanhour.org )

I attend as many community events, job fairs, health fairs or veteran events to network and connect with as many people that I possible can to inform them of the Give an Hour non-profit, and the services that are available. I also ask that if they are not a mental health provider, but are a charitable organization themselves who might need volunteers, that they make contact with a Give an Hour to reach other volunteers in their community or nearby.

Making a difference in someone else's life... giving them a sense of hope, enabling them to live life as opposed to merely existing... that is the true definition to describe Give an Hour.

Photos

Videos

Give an Hour: Public Service Announcement

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Referring military family members to one of Give an Hour's volunteer mental health providers... the mother of a son suffering from severe PTSD has been able to find a local counselor, and she has found hope that each day is a little better than yesterday... she thanked me, and I am humbled that she feels she owes me thanks... when the truth of the matter is I am grateful for the mental health provider who volunteered the time to help this mom.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Strive to extend additional in-depth person-to-person contact with the volunteer staff via web or telephone conferences to keep the volunteer up-to-date with any new services that will soon be offered, or are now being offered to either the provider or to the person seeking counseling services.

More feedback...

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Have them find out more about what I can bring to their table, and am willing to offer, to bring awareness to their organization in other demographic areas. Provide feedback to the volunteers to let them know how GAH is impacted by the efforts of the volunteers. In other words, if GAH is contacted by virtue of direct volunteer referral, the volunteer is then able to assess how to present or adopt best practices that achieve results and mission accomplished. Encourage the GAH leadership to leverage their contacts and outreach, asking the national organizations with chapters, friends and / or family in other demographic areas to invite the local GAH volunteer(s) to come and speak about Give an Hour. The volunteer who is able and willing to bring awareness to GAH will not only bring additional providers and possible donations to GAH, but will also save the GAH organization administrative costs that are associated with paying for the Corporate employee to travel.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Most definitely being able to connect with other charitable organizations, and individuals who are in need of resources... and able to perhaps find a new doorway to connect with other community and business leaders to engage them.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Being able to make a difference in someone else's life in a positive way is always humbling and extremely gratifying.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 31, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Give An Hour is an exceptional organization which provides free mental health services to soldiers once they have returned home. The organization's Founder and President, Barbara Van Dahlen is an amazing person who is able to bring people together to support returning soldiers and military families. We are working with Give An Hour to launch a television program to create awareness for community organizations and in almost every meeting or call, Barbara is a source of inspiration for people and she wows anyone who comes into contact with her. It is not unusual when leaving a meeting to have someone openly approach Barbara afterwards, telling her how she has inspired them or is amazed by the work she is doing. In addition to caring for those who serve in the Armed Forces, Barbara manages to raise a family and understand the important balance of family in life. Her outstanding work and dedication to supporting our troops puts Barbara in a league of her own.


More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 31, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Virtually all the national mental health professional associations are partners with Give An Hour, and that is the case as well with the American Psychological Association, the nation's largest association of psychologists, with 150,000 members and affiliates. APA collaborates with Give An Hour as a supporting partner because we share in GAH's commitment to military personnel, veterans and their families who may require mental health services as a consequence of serving our country at war. As a result of this partnership, APA disseminates information about GAH and its mission to our members who wish to volunteer their services and to the public at large, and we are honored to assist with the outstanding work of GAH.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Working with the staff and volunteer professionals to help promote its work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to help GAH expand its reach to even greater numbers of volunteer mental health providers and the deserving individuals and families it serves.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Attend an outreach event to let military families know about Give an Hour's free services. Volunteer