Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 16, 2012

more


1 previous review
October 19, 2011

It had been on my mind to find out how I could make a contribution to our military families when a friend told me about the mission of Give An Hour. There are a variety of ways to make a difference fo... more

October 16, 2012

To see so many volunteers and beneficiaries come together for the first GAH Gala in May was exhilarating. Hearing the stories of heartache and pain experienced by returning soldiers and how Give An Hour has given them and their loved ones hope through free counseling helping them and society by having these men and women heal and engage in their future. I was so pleased to help this organization select recipients for grants for grass routes efforts to support soldiers/ veterans and those they love to get support in their local communities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2011

It had been on my mind to find out how I could make a contribution to our military families when a friend told me about the mission of Give An Hour. There are a variety of ways to make a difference for the men, women and their extended families who need mental health support as a result of their combat experiences and the absence or loss of family members. This program is made up of professionals who can give their therapeutic expertise to support soldiers and loved ones as they reenter their home environment and cope the challenges they meet. No more suffering in silence as in the past. Give An Hour gives a voice to the suffering.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Not personally other than the energy and commitment of the staff and volunteers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Since it is a growing, dynamic organization changes will occur naturally as needs occur.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I believe it will over time. This is a new experience for me.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Sad for the veterans of former wars who were ignored or worse after their return. We were war weary after Korea and there was troop blaming after Vietnam for failed Administrative policies.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Being a military parent, myself, and an independent Military Outreach Support Advocate, I have engaged with a network of over 50,000-80,000 individuals, most all who have experienced having a loved one, friend or family member deployed at some point in time over the last ten years we have been engaged in war in Iraq and/or Afghanistan.

When any of these individuals reaches out to me, seeking local counseling services, it is vital for me to find them support... now.

Many of them have reached their breaking point... and they become stressed-out even moreso when they find out that they cannot afford the cost of the counseling, or there isn't a facility or mental health provider agency nearby.

Give an Hour removes these two obstacles. Through their network of providers and counselors, I am able to help the person in need of counseling, finding a resource nearby where they live; a counselor readily available... giving them hope that help is available almost immediately.

There is absolutely no cost to the person in need... the counseling services are free... they do not have to pay any monetary fee, whatsoever, to the counselor.

MENTAL HEALTH PROVIDERS: If you are a mental health provider, donating one hour a week of your invaluable talent and profession can make an incalculable difference in someone else's life... counseling a mom who is overwhelmed with anxiety and stress worrying about her son or daughter who is currently deployed for the first time, or on a second or third deployment; counseling the returning service member who is battling the invisible wound of reoccurring nightmares or reliving what they witnessed in combat; counseling the parent or child of a service member who has returned from deployment, and whose behavior has turned to violence and abuse due to alcohol or drug addiction... your services are in dire need. Please make contact with Give an Hour.

VOLUNTEER: There are not enough mental health providers available, today, to adequately meet the volume of those in need of counseling. If you know of social workers or counselors who might be willing to donate one hour of their time; or, if you know of someone who is in need of counseling... ask them to view the Give an Hour website ( www.giveanhour.org )

I attend as many community events, job fairs, health fairs or veteran events to network and connect with as many people that I possible can to inform them of the Give an Hour non-profit, and the services that are available. I also ask that if they are not a mental health provider, but are a charitable organization themselves who might need volunteers, that they make contact with a Give an Hour to reach other volunteers in their community or nearby.

Making a difference in someone else's life... giving them a sense of hope, enabling them to live life as opposed to merely existing... that is the true definition to describe Give an Hour.

Photos

Videos

Give an Hour: Public Service Announcement

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Referring military family members to one of Give an Hour's volunteer mental health providers... the mother of a son suffering from severe PTSD has been able to find a local counselor, and she has found hope that each day is a little better than yesterday... she thanked me, and I am humbled that she feels she owes me thanks... when the truth of the matter is I am grateful for the mental health provider who volunteered the time to help this mom.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Strive to extend additional in-depth person-to-person contact with the volunteer staff via web or telephone conferences to keep the volunteer up-to-date with any new services that will soon be offered, or are now being offered to either the provider or to the person seeking counseling services.

More feedback...

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Have them find out more about what I can bring to their table, and am willing to offer, to bring awareness to their organization in other demographic areas. Provide feedback to the volunteers to let them know how GAH is impacted by the efforts of the volunteers. In other words, if GAH is contacted by virtue of direct volunteer referral, the volunteer is then able to assess how to present or adopt best practices that achieve results and mission accomplished. Encourage the GAH leadership to leverage their contacts and outreach, asking the national organizations with chapters, friends and / or family in other demographic areas to invite the local GAH volunteer(s) to come and speak about Give an Hour. The volunteer who is able and willing to bring awareness to GAH will not only bring additional providers and possible donations to GAH, but will also save the GAH organization administrative costs that are associated with paying for the Corporate employee to travel.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Most definitely being able to connect with other charitable organizations, and individuals who are in need of resources... and able to perhaps find a new doorway to connect with other community and business leaders to engage them.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Being able to make a difference in someone else's life in a positive way is always humbling and extremely gratifying.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 31, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Give An Hour is an exceptional organization which provides free mental health services to soldiers once they have returned home. The organization's Founder and President, Barbara Van Dahlen is an amazing person who is able to bring people together to support returning soldiers and military families. We are working with Give An Hour to launch a television program to create awareness for community organizations and in almost every meeting or call, Barbara is a source of inspiration for people and she wows anyone who comes into contact with her. It is not unusual when leaving a meeting to have someone openly approach Barbara afterwards, telling her how she has inspired them or is amazed by the work she is doing. In addition to caring for those who serve in the Armed Forces, Barbara manages to raise a family and understand the important balance of family in life. Her outstanding work and dedication to supporting our troops puts Barbara in a league of her own.


More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 31, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Virtually all the national mental health professional associations are partners with Give An Hour, and that is the case as well with the American Psychological Association, the nation's largest association of psychologists, with 150,000 members and affiliates. APA collaborates with Give An Hour as a supporting partner because we share in GAH's commitment to military personnel, veterans and their families who may require mental health services as a consequence of serving our country at war. As a result of this partnership, APA disseminates information about GAH and its mission to our members who wish to volunteer their services and to the public at large, and we are honored to assist with the outstanding work of GAH.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Working with the staff and volunteer professionals to help promote its work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to help GAH expand its reach to even greater numbers of volunteer mental health providers and the deserving individuals and families it serves.

October 31, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Give an Hour serves a vitally important role in providing no-cost mental health services to our military personnel and their families. By supporting Give an Hour financially, every American can make a direct and very positive contribution to those who have sacrificed so much for the freedoms we are blessed to enjoy in America. Please support this worthy cause by making a donation to Give an Hour. Thank you.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Hearing the stories of changed lives, and by being able to offer its services to someone in need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

simply seek to attract more donors and supporters. It is a great idea and it just needs to keep growing.

October 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I cannot think of a better use for all of our time and talents than to assist those who have sacrificed so much to protect our freedoms. Give An Hour mission not only makes life better for those it serves directly, it benefits all of society by helping these valuable individuals function to their potential in society.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

everyday interactions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

October 27, 2011

more

October 27, 2011

Give an Hour leverages skills based volunteers (mental health care professionals) to give their time using their skills and talents to provide mental health services to service members and their families who are affected by the current conflicts.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Data and case studies that are coming from the communities where Give and Hour is leading Community Blueprint efforts to bring together communities in collaboration to better serve this population.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide them with more resources to leverage more skills based volunteers to provide more services.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Give An Hour has inspired me to believe in "the power of one". Give An Hour was formed as a result of 1 young girl's observation of a homeless veteran, which inspired 1 woman to found an organization where 1 person can donate 1 hour of their time, expertise, skills etc to better the lives of our military personnel and their families.

The idea is so simplistic; so easy for every 1 of us to become involved... and Give An Hour does a wonderful job harnessing the collective power of it's volunteer network to deliver mental health services to military personnel and their families.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I haven't personally experienced the services provided by Give An Hour, but I have benefited by volunteering with them. As stated above, this organization renewed my belief in "the power of one". I am so grateful that they provide a place where I can easily donate my time and skills to a great cause. Watching this organization grow from an idea into a full-fledged non-profit that is providing mental health services to some of the most deserving citizens in the USA, definitely makes me feel proud.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I honestly cannot think of any changes I would make to this organization. They have a well planned strategic vision that I know they will continue to implement as they recruit more volunteers and receive additional funding.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have met some incredible people by volunteering with Give An Hour. I've had opportunities to sharpen my skills, network (professionally) and make new friends.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Proud and like I had the ability to make a difference... 1 hour at a time. :)

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 20, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

As a Director of Psychological Health who works in collaboration with the FL National Guard, I frequently use Give an Hour providers as an absolutely vital resource in getting Soldiers much needed behavioral health treatment. If Give an Hour providers were not partners in our state, there would be a critical void of services and National Guard Soldiers and their families would not have access to treatment. My thanks to all FL Give an Hour providers for the services they render.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Many times I have turned to Give an Hour to help national guard soldiers find free access to behavioral health for themselves and their families.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

JUst need more volunteers to join the organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

More direct training for providers about military culture.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Being able to provide treatment for soldiers deeply impacted my life by helping to appreciate more clearly the struggles of soldiers.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Helped me to feel more connected to my community and that I was making a worthwhile contribution.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 20, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I am a Licensed Counselor and the mother of an Iraq veteran who had significant issues "coming home". At that time, GAH had not been created and with limited options, I paid a great deal to get the care my son needed. As a result of our own journey, we created Veterans' Families United as a user friendly and compassionate resource to help veterans and families navigate the system and to empower them with choices. GAH has been at the top of my list for referrals since that time. Consistently, they extend timely and much needed resources for vets and families, many of whom are in remote areas and/or have few options for support. In my opinion, they are one of the most pure in their intentions of serving those who have served our country and they embody the essence of community.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Consistent and timely and compassionate feedback and support and willingness to explore all options to support our service members, vets and families.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NOTHING...they are totally "in tune" with the DIRECT needs and willing to do all they can to meet those needs.

More feedback...

What is unique about this organization?

The genuine spirit of "giving back" to those who have served.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Attend an outreach event to let military families know about Give an Hour's free services.