Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
1234.833335
Write A Review
January 27, 2011

more

January 27, 2011

I am a cancer survivor who took control of his cancer because of articles, studies, blogs and forums I read on the Internet.

Simply put, I learned to manage my cancer through social media.

PeopleBeatingCancer.org is a tool to provide social networking for cancer survivors and
caregivers. Learn about your cancer from articles, studies, blog and forum posts. Share with fellow survivors and caregivers on the forum.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I was diagnosed with multiple myeloma 2/94. I underwent 3 years of aggressive chemo/radiation, relapsed and was told that nothing more could be done. The Internet helped me take control of my health. PBC.org is the result of my experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Spread the word...

September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

I gave found the Galen foundation to be extremely helpfull with my myeloma ex and giving me understanding of the disease process and things I could to to improve outcomes and survivor ability I will forever be thankful for the wonderful advice timely information and helping me get my head around this disease and such. I highly recommend this site

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

I was diagnosed with multiple myeloma almost 8 years ago. I was so relieved to find David Emerson's site. I knew his information was pertinent to my diagnosis and it helped me navigate this disease and to meld both integrative techniques with allopathic care from my hematologist oncologist. I also could send in any question I had concerning natural care and how it might effect my current treatment regime. I also applaud him for realizing that many others with differing cancer diagnoses could benefit from his site. I always recommend it to anyone I meet that is dealing with some sort of cancer. Again, I am very grateful for this site. Thank you
Jan W.
September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

I am a Licensed Aesthetician I help cancer patients in treatment for free. I help cancer patients with tying scarves if they don't want to wear a wig, skin consultations and make up to draw on eye brows and also make it look like they have lashes. I am also an Advanced Master Clinical Hypnotherapist and do visual imagery for healing and also do Sound healing for patients. I have done this since 1989 I started at UCSF I was the co coordinator in San Francisco for the American Cancer Society and then the coordinator in Marin County for the Cancer Society I stopped for awhile because I had too much going on with family and then moved up north in 2004 we don't have a program here so I have been trying to get word out that I do this. I have decided to have my own program because the American Caner Society would only let me do one thing with patients and that was make up and some patients want something different other than make up I have seen so many heal when you look great you feel great. When I work with visual imagery I work with the subconscious on a healing level so when you feel great inside about yourself and think positive that is extremely healing and it is amazing work and I love it.
March 13, 2013

more

March 13, 2013

I was diagnosed with Multiple Myeloma about three years ago. Getting reliable information about treatment options both traditional and complimentary on the web is hit and miss at best. People Beating Cancer is a breath of fresh air, and has helped me find my way through the jungle of conflicting opinions and modalities available. It has been a great resource. David Emerson (A Multiple Myeloma survivor himself) runs the site and has been very accessible and willing to help on a very personal level.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 8, 2012

more

December 8, 2012

People Beating Cancer is a great example of an organization that starts with a single dedicated individual and though hard work, passion, and a commitment to excellence has developed as tremendous resource for people with cancer, caregivers, family members, and the public in general. There is not a person in this country that has not been personally impacted by cancer, whether as an individual , family or friend. I encourage you to take the time to review Dave Emerson's incredible story of courage, passion and drive - then please support The Galen Foundation either as a Volunteer and/or a Donor.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

PeopleBeatingCancer is an amazing resource that can help folks with cancer, and their caregivers, sift through the vast amounts of information available, to find the the nuggets of guidence that can save and extend lives. In 1997, David Emerson, the founder, was given 6-12 months to live and he began digging for answers -- he found them and today David is going strong. PeopleBeatingCancer is there to help others do the same. The Galen Foundation is an amazing resource, please help spread the word to those we can help.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I find the People Beating Cancer website and newsletter very informative from the point of view of keeping up to date with the latest medical treatments and also a real personal support at times when I'm worried. I have great admiration for David Emerson in surviving against the odds, taking medical care into his own hands, and and love to read his personal story again when I get depressed with my MM cancer diagnosis. I think that's a wonderful lesson for us all and sets the tone for this webite. The Healthy Living section of the website is my favorite part - there I can view suggested vitamins and reading material. Thank you for providing this wonderful service!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I am a cancer survivor who was introduced to the Galen Foundation/People Beating Cancer through my daughter. I love that the site has continued to evolve through the years in order to provide hard to find information to more people in a variety of different ways. Many useful articles are posted and we have the opportunity to either simply read them or to comment on them. Questions are welcome and responses are quickly received. The site has helped me to broaden my approach to my own cancer as well as allowing me to tell my own story which might prove useful to someone else. I consider myself a user of People Beating Cancer, a contributor to the site, and a donor to the Galen Foundation..

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I professionally serve a population of cancer survivors and their families. The Galen Foundation has provided an excellent place of resources to fit individual needs for the population they serve. It's hand-on practical insight on how to improve the quality of life of individuals who are currently going through various stages of their cancer journey. Psycho-social support is key to a positive attitude and outcome. Congrats to The Galen Foundation to meeting the needs of their constituents.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Post your cancer experience, ask/answer questions, read and/or reply to articles and blog posts. Volunteer