Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
96 Reviews
1234.843755
Write A Review
March 9, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 9, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

It's all about the horses at FRIENDS.... many horses are in need of rescue and sanctuary and FRIENDS provides this need. Sponsor-a-horse program is ongoing way for the public to have first hand experience and contact with these beautiful animals that have inspired and touched the human psyche for centuries.
June 9, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 7, 2013

We sponsor two horses at the FRIENDS ranch. Like another reviewer mentioned we have never been horse people. We just kind of loved horses and admired them from a far. Now, my kids ride horses and care... more

June 9, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

My kids and I always enjoy our visits to the ranch. We sponsor horses at FRIENDS. Every time I am there I am impressed by the hard work and dedication of the barn staff. It is obvious they love the animals there and take great care of them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 7, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

We sponsor two horses at the FRIENDS ranch. Like another reviewer mentioned we have never been horse people. We just kind of loved horses and admired them from a far. Now, my kids ride horses and care for them like it comes naturally. To say that we absolutely love coming to the ranch is an understatement, and we drive for 45 min from Miami in one direction. Yet, we come three times a week. Everyone at the FRIENDS ranch is amazing and so helpful, always offering help and expert assistance to us. Imagine getting a horse without knowing a single thing and in a couple of days becoming able to care for your horse by yourself. This is only possible because people at FRIENDS are incredible and fully dedicated to what they do on daily basis. And, let me say this to anyone who isn't familiar, they do extremely hard work helping neglected and sick animals day in and day out. Words fail me in trying to describe their generosity, kindness, hard work, expertise and dedication.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ask for anyone who loves horses to donate and volunteer to further improve the health and the general welfare of the animals. FRIENDS do an outstanding job but they need more financial assistance.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 16, 2012

They are such a great devoted group of people. If we had more people on earth like this group we would live in a marvelous country. The help they give the animals is amazing. God bless all of them & t... more

May 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

The work this group does is amazing. The horses are all well cared for & loved. FRIENDS gives people a chance to help care for the horses & other animals as if they r their own pets.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

They are such a great devoted group of people. If we had more people on earth like this group we would live in a marvelous country. The help they give the animals is amazing. God bless all of them & the work they do.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 22, 2012

This rescue is made up of a hard working group of horse and animal lovers that have saved horses for over 2 decades here in Broward County. Not only do they save these beautiful animals but also they ... more

December 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

As with all places and situations you can't please all the people all the time. It saddens me to see the public negative comments made purely out of spite and without regard for the damage it does to this organization which has been in existence since 1987. If you have a problem with management, go to them and make your complaint known rather than jeopardize the animals you say you are concerned for. I fear the negative impact of these unfounded statements will affect the horses' well being. It is obvious from the vast majority of comments that many people enjoy the ranch and hopefully this "blip on the map" will disappear and allow those at FRIENDS who do care about the horses, to do what they do best...provide equine care and provide valuable community interaction for over 26 years.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to increase donations

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This rescue is made up of a hard working group of horse and animal lovers that have saved horses for over 2 decades here in Broward County. Not only do they save these beautiful animals but also they give back so much to the community. There are volunteer opportunities and family events scheduled at the rescue. People of all ages are involved. They have a sponsor-a-horse program that allows riders of all levels to have a horse of their own to ride, groom and love for a reasonable monthly donation amount that allows the rescue to function. All levels of riding ability are accommodated and they even have horses that cannot be ridden for various reasons and these horses also need a sponsor just to groom them and provide companionship. After being at the ranch one leaves feeling very peaceful and just being there is very restoring to the soul. It is a good escape from the "rat race" of daily living. Highly recommended... I don't think you will be disappointed!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 1, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 1, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a sponsor at this place for almost a year. I sponsor three horses. We visit the ranch at least once a week and spend a whole day there. We have always been amazed at how much hard work is put into care for the horses. This place is really something special. People are genuine and they invest all of their time and effort to give these horses a second shot at life. There are almost 60 horses at this ranch. Caring for them is expensive and requires long hours day in and day out. Each and every horse needs to be washed, groomed and fed. They need to be given individual attention; stalls need to be cleaned twice a day etc. Anyone who says that horses are not being taken care of at this ranch is not being truthful.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

donate more so that these wonderful people receive assistance.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I've been a sponsor of Native, a horse rescued and brought to FRiENDS just after I started going down there trying to find a good match for myself and the horse. . Everyone there went over and above to make sure that Natives transition from his old home to FRiENDS went seemlessly. The love and passion for horses from everyone involved at FRIENDS is like no dedication I've ever personally seen in animal rescue. They eat, drink and breathe horses making sure each and everyone of them has the best care to live their lives in a loving and safe environment as their forever home. One of the plethora of things I love, is that at the ranch, a horse can be a horse and be turned out to pasture to run and play with one another. I'm so glad I found FRIENDS and the wonderful people that are able to run this rescue so beautifully. I have been a sponsor for 5 years now and will continue to be.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 8, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
3 previous reviews - show all
December 3, 2013

I have been involved with FRIENDS since its inception in 1987 and have held many positions; i.e. orphan feeder, ranch manager, president, donor and now board of directors. This is a very worthly orga... more

March 8, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

I joined FRIENDS in 1986 before it was a nonprofit. This orgainzation has grown so much over the years and has evolved into one of the most useful, caring and compassionate horse welfare organizations in Florida. The work that is done by the women and men at our ranch is beyond what most people give of themselves and it is for that reason, that FRIENDS is so successful.

If you are interested in horses and having fun, come and visit us...we are always looking for new people.
December 3, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been involved with FRIENDS since its inception in 1987 and have held many positions; i.e. orphan feeder, ranch manager, president, donor and now board of directors. This is a very worthly organization and the members are awesome. They take their precious time to benefit the horses and receive no pay ...everything is volunteer work. The members strive to give this special band of horses a safe and healthy life. The adults put together events for the younger riders and the kids have a great time in participating and getting their horses ready. This is a great place for junior members to learn horsemanship and these children learn very quickly about the responsibility of caring for a horse.

Over the past 25 years there have been a few grievances..mostly unfounded from people who were asked to leave the ranch because their behavior was not befitting to the organization. We strive to work out any problems and for the most part our members are top notch people. Our feedback is that FRIENDS is greatly respected and has a good reputation in the community. We strive to "always do the right thing".

The care of these horses is very expensive and we are grateful for any donations that come our way. Please open your hearts and come and join us...the right caliber of people stay with for many years!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give the ranch more money!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been associated with FRIENDS since 1985 and it is one of the best organizations in Florida. Not only do they take in and care for horses with EIA, but they also help out other smaller animals that happen to come their way. The hearts of the members of FRIENDS are in the right place..they work tirelessly to make life better for this band of horses, without pay, without thanks, without expecting anything back, except a healthy horse.

If you are looking for a wonderful place to donate your time, money and skills, go to FRIENDS.!!!! They are the very best Broward County has to offer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Built them a real barn.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I joined FRIENDS in 1986, before it was FRIENDS, and have watched a small group of people evolve into a dedicated and determined larger group of people. The focus has never changed but conditions for this band of horses has improved vastly over the years. Awareness of their plight has also been expanded. This is one of the most worthwhile organizations in Florida...they will help any farm animal in need, although their focus is horses. They work tirelessly in an emergency and can put together a fund raising event in a flash. Hats off to everyone at FRIENDS, for you are the people who makes living possible for these horses.

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I would donate to this charity again! great people and they take care of the horses very well

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I used to donate to other places, but stopped the moment I knew and saw what they do at FRIENDS, it is absolutely WONDERFUL, I am so proud to be a donor to this great place where the horses REALLY come first. I love it and hope that other people would go over there and see for themselves and help this animals. Here, there isn't a single horse that is turned away and they are all brought back to health and all have a happy home.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 3, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 3, 2011

I've sponsored a horse at this ranch and have seen the dedication and care that are given to the animals. They take in as many rescues as they can. Animals with the EIA disease and others that have been starved and abandoned. If it were not for this organization many animals would have been sent to their death through no fault of their own. The animals are well taken care of and loved by all the volunteers.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

volunteering, fundraising, working on the ranch

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find a better way to raise more money and promote the organization on a larger scale.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help with our fund-raising to help raise additional funds for the horses. Volunteer