Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
72 Reviews
1234.847225
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
December 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I volunteered at ranch a few times a year. My last visit was very disappointing. The management was rude. Since April the ranch looks run down and horses not groomed. I heard the ranch being investigated for mismanagement of money/donations and animal neglect.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Bring back old management. Get rid of current management

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unlikely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 4, 2013

This organization provides an environment to learn and bond with the horses in addition to experience working as team. Many of the activities at the ranch require more than one individual to complete... more

December 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My daughter and I have been involved with F.R.I.E.N.D.S. since 2007 and have the utmost respect for the organization. With the current state of the economy, F.R.I.E.N.D.S. provides relief to those who can no longer afford to properly care for their horse(s) and an opportunity for those with a love for horses to experience horse ownership and care at a significantly reduced cost. This organization provides a safe environment for the horses to live, excellent vet care, and sponsors who truly love their horse(s). In addition, this organization provides an opportunity for students to earn their community service hours, animal lovers to spend quality time with all of the animals at the ranch. Currently there are horses, pigs, goats, donkeys and cats. We highly recommend F.R.I.E.N.D.S.! Come on out to F.R.I.E.N.D.S. where you are sure to make some new FRIENDS!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

This organization provides an environment to learn and bond with the horses in addition to experience working as team. Many of the activities at the ranch require more than one individual to complete the chores which in turn fosters communication and new friendships. My daughter's first horse is at F.R.I.E.N.D.S. , she continues to care for him and the other horses regularly, since 2007. The skills and knowledge she has gained at the ranch are applicable in many areas of life. Her love, passion and education of horses continues to be encouraged and is flourishing. I highly recommend this organization for anyone with a love of horses or volunteering. It is a great place to be!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with this exceptional non profit for more than 20 years now. I have watched it grow and I have seen the love and dedication that F.R.I.E.N.D.S has given each and every horse that has come through their gates. People are the most cruel creatures on this planet. It is very easy to judge, make up stories, and try to destroy for what ever insane reason that people come up with, an organization that is doing the very best to care for the unwanted horses that are thrown away and left to starve to death. I wish people would just be daring enough and not selfish and walk in these people's shoes for a period of time and really see what is involved and do the necessary good for the horse! Research this group. Go through the media and newspapers. See what they have done time and time again. See their passion and what they go through to save these defenseless horses!! F.R.I.E.N.D.S gets and always will get the best review!! They are a quality establishment, they care for, feed, and provide quality healthcare the unwanted horses! They only get the most superior review!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There are no changes to make unless our government would consider donating land and money to help with the care of these horses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 1, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 1, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been with this ranch for about 10 years. When I had to leave for college I was heartbroken at the idea of only seeing my boys a few times a year, because they bring me such happiness and a sense of purpose I have only felt here. I've seen so many new horses come in to the ranch as neglected and abused rescue animals that were in such dire need of love and attention--both of which they have found at F.R.I.E.N.D.S. As mentioned, in my long years of experience with this ranch I have personally aided in many different volunteer capacities and have found them all rewarding and highly enjoyable! Come start your own adventure with these loving animals and volunteer now!! :)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add volunteers and donations to help keep the organization alive!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
June 7, 2013

FRIENDS is a wonderful place to connect with both nature and the magnificent animals-the horses- that reside there. Some of the horses came from deplorable conditions. They are nurtured,fed and love... more

November 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering at FRIENDS for 1 1/2 yrs. I am there usually 3 x's a week. It is a place where the horses get a second chance. The horses are well cared for,regularly seen by a vet and loved by feeders,sponsors and volunteers. A former( now disgruntled) member wrote a review full of false accusations and lies. I believe this same person just 6 months ago wrote a 5 star review. If you read her review(she did not put her name), I encourage you to come out to the ranch and see for yourself the condition of the horses.
I have never seen a horse mistreated or uncared for at the ranch. It is an all volunteer /donation organization. We have many regular volunteers who share the love and care of the horses. FRIENDS
is doing the best it can for the rescued horses who now live there. Reg F

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

FRIENDS is a wonderful place to connect with both nature and the magnificent animals-the horses- that reside there. Some of the horses came from deplorable conditions. They are nurtured,fed and loved by sponsers and volunteers. What I get from these wonderful animals is far more than I am able to give to them. Who knew that cleaning stalls,raking hay and cleaning water troughs could be so rewarding!
Most of the volunteers and sponsers are animal lovers who do what is needed to make life the best it can be for these once discarded horses. FRIENDS is a safe haven for both the horses and the humans who support it. Reg

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This is a non-profit horse rescue staffed entirely by volunteers with a love of animals-especially horses.
There are currently about 56 horses,10 pigs,2 goats and 2 donkeys at the ranch. Many of these animals
would not be alive if it were not for the ranch. It is a wonderful place to
relax and enjoy the animals. The horses can be sponsored for a monthly fee which helps pay for the costs of caring for the horses. Some of the horses are rideable and some are not due to arthritis and other non-life threatening conditions. ALL of the horses are wonderful,beautiful animals . Going to the ranch to feed, clean stall, bathe and groom horses is something I look forward to all week long. The ranch depends on our donations of time and money.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 6, 2013

Once I reach the ranch driveway, all of the stress from my hectic day vanishes, and I just become part of the ranch. i love every one of the animals out there. And the group of people that this ranc... more

November 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I just celebrated my one year anniversary with F.R.I.E.N.D.S. I searched for a place I could afford to have a horse of my own. I met my perfect match and have benefited in ways I never imagined possible. I have a hip injury and my doctor recommended riding. When I started last year, I limped constantly. But, after about 6 months, I was able to get on and off my horse without the pain I had been dealing with for the last 7 years. So, physically, I have benefited. But, the added benefit of the serenity I feel when I drive up to the ranch is not something I had expected. The horses, donkeys, goats and pigs at the ranch are a part of my soul now. Although I sponsor one hrse, I have the entire herd to call my own. I love them all. Today, I got down on my knees and caressed the head of the sweetest Miniature horse. Soft whispers of love to these once forgotten animals is what keeps me going and continuing to heal myself. In return, I get the thrill of my horse nickering when he sees me coming toward his stall. I know ai make a difference by sponsoring an volunteering. I also have been able to pass on my passion of horses to others. I only wish I could do more. I urge anyone reading these reviews to please consider coming out to volunteer. And any donations are put to good use. If you have an animal at your home, think of how you cringe when you have to pay a vet bill. Now, imagine 55 + animals depending on you. They not only need to eat, but be bathed, inspected for anything that needs care, groomed, turned out, and yes, whispered sweet sounds to them, th o let them know they are in their forever home. Thank you F.R.I.E.N.D.S. for bettering my life and giving me a way to meake a difference to others, both people and critters big and small.
Connie

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Once I reach the ranch driveway, all of the stress from my hectic day vanishes, and I just become part of the ranch. i love every one of the animals out there. And the group of people that this ranch draws are welcoming and so willing to teach all newcomers the ins and outs of life at the ranch. I have introduced many friends and family to F.R.I.E.N.D.S. , and each has felt the love of the horses. They know we are there to help them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them raise more money to help even more horses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been volunteering at this organization for three years. The horses are loved, and well cared for. I have always felt safe and welcomed by the staff and other volunteers. I have never witnessed any mistreatment of the animals at the ranch.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 8, 2013

F.R.I.E.N.D.S Is Great place to share with family and friends, there is a lot of love and work we can give to this place for the horses. They care about those horses and other animal to give a better ... more

November 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Great Place to be with Family and Friends, Good Place to learn and help horses, Nice people and staff very kind.
The horses are give\ing a second opportunity to give them real love and care about them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

F.R.I.E.N.D.S Is Great place to share with family and friends, there is a lot of love and work we can give to this place for the horses.
They care about those horses and other animal to give a better placer to live and share love with them.
People over there are friendly and kind, if you
enjoy about taking care of animal this is the place to go.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 2, 2012

This place, for me is my Peaceful and Loved second home. We have the love of all the Equines kids (because this rescue animals are more that just the word : Horses), the feeling before arrive and kno... more

November 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteer this place, and and this Rescue organizations rhave5 with best they have and survive with Donation and Sponsorship for horses. Most of horses still waiting for get sponsorship, in time this horses still feeding, treated with medication any time they need, check by veterinarian, etc they get same care as the horses with sponsorship.
I'm almos 5 days at week, I say what I see what I know, and the reality this is a big rescue rescue place where HORSES ARE LOVED BY BE HORSES where they rescue horses that people used, neglect them, through aways because is not longer for profit ir or because have any medical conditions. Without this kind of Rescue Organization, the end of this majestic animals will be the dead.
At this place we people that love this animals, respect them, love then and take care of them. All horses are important and are loved.
As a matter of fact we have precaution about how people want to treat them, because we will not permit any any abuse any mistreated to them.
I'm wondering why people is so nasty to the point to say bad comments about this place just because they have another intentions? I don't care if you run another ranch better conditions. That's is your place.
Our place is a Beautiful Ranch, with horses that want be loved and respect like we do. Like to stay late night cleanings their stall becsuse is a holiday day, and people forget the horses still need you that day. We do, we are always taking care of them. Loving them and we get the best: their Loyalty love and respect. ......the best we can have of this majestic animals.
Oh...i forgot mention we love so much Animals that we have pigs, goats and donkies...and their also get care, feed and love from F.R.I.E.N.D.S Rescue Organization.
Any one that want have the time experience of have a horse, come we welcome you to meet our Ranch and our beautiful horses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This place, for me is my Peaceful and Loved second home. We have the love of all the Equines kids (because this rescue animals are more that just the word : Horses), the feeling before arrive and know soon (in minutes) you will see them again, they will put their faces waiting a simply : hi or....hello did you bring the carrots today, or the eyes expressions of LOVE, RESPECT, ADMIRATION, HAPPINESS THAT your Equine Kid show when see you,......IS UNIQUE .... , that's before arrive. Then when you finally can in. and find the all people of the team that give to you welcome and they are happy to see you too, after this, you start your day in F.R.I.E.N.D.S......you feel the second emotion...when you have to go to real Home jajajaja even if you are tired you miss them already before leave. This is my particular experience. About the people team...they are Respectful, Helpful, Fun and just Great. The most IMPORTANT for me, is that they LOVE, SAVE and HELP all the Horses. I give thanks GOD to have a place like this in Florida. Because really.....for me is a Blessing this Place, the Team and of course,.....my Equine Kids. I don't want forget to mentioned the other rescue: The Brothers (Pepe and Eeyore), the very funny sisters (Elle, Salt and Bella), and they partners group of Pigs. And of course I continue my volunteerism because, i have my equine son there, and the other need also from us, the people love them. So if you love animals and you want meet a special love...come to visit us. We clean them, we bath them,we fee them, we love them....and they give to your life wisdom, love and respect from God. This is true. The only way, is to meet, understand, love and respect your horse. Isa Carolina Capaldo.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 28, 2012

I had always wanted a horse growing up and, over the years, I had taken some lessons here and there but things never really clicked. When I found out about the sponsor-a-horse program at F.R.I.E.N.D.S... more

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Great place to learn about horses and gain experience with horses and other farm animals! Highly recommended!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I had always wanted a horse growing up and, over the years, I had taken some lessons here and there but things never really clicked. When I found out about the sponsor-a-horse program at F.R.I.E.N.D.S., it sounded like a perfect fit. I started volunteering at F.R.I.E.N.D.S., then sponsoring one of their horses, and fell in love with the horses there and the ranch. I learned a lot about horse handling, improved my riding skills, and would highly recommend the program to anyone who is interested in learning more about horses and horse ownership.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help with our fund-raising to help raise additional funds for the horses. Volunteer