Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
88 Reviews
1234.829555
Write A Review
June 9, 2014

more

June 9, 2014

My daughter sponsors 2 wonderful horses here. This is a great place to spend time with horses. When we originally started going to FRIENDS it was really because of my daughter's interest in horses. However, I have learned so much and have been converted to a "horse person." This is a wonderful place for both adults and children to interact with horses and learn about them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

LOVE this place!! I had been searching for a volunteer opportunity that matched my passion for rescue and animals. The FRIENDS ranch is amazing and run by the most amazing and respectable people who are all about the horses.

My experiences so far at the ranch have been amazing and I am
thrilled to have found them. Each time I leave, I look forward to the next visit.

Honestly, one of the most upstanding rescues I have encountered in many years. Check them out! You won't be disappointed!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I recently started volunteering at F.R.I.E.N.D.S and I can honestly say that it has been one of the best experiences I've had! Everyone is so nice and so commited. I love the fact that they are so involved in so many events, doing everything possible to get their name out there. They offer a great opportunity to their volunteers to learn and enjoy nature by helping such a great cause! Saving the life of so many horses in need. It is definitely an experience that well help you grow in many ways.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 22, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
November 30, 2013

I have been volunteering at FRIENDS for 1 1/2 yrs. I am there usually 3 x's a week. It is a place where the horses get a second chance. The horses are well cared for,regularly seen by a vet and lov... more

May 22, 2014

FRIENDS is a wonderful organization that has saved many horses over the years. I have been volunteering there for almost 2 years. Since I have been there several horses have come to us in deplorable condition. With the dedication and attention of the vet and the all volunteer staff, these horses returned to being the magnificent animals they were meant to be. The work is hard but the rewards are many. The sponsor program allows people to get more involved with the horses and the ranch. It is a non profit organization that uses the donations for the care and well being of the horses.
Most of these horses would have been destroyed if it were not for FRIENDS. I get much more from the horses than I could ever give to them.
November 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering at FRIENDS for 1 1/2 yrs. I am there usually 3 x's a week. It is a place where the horses get a second chance. The horses are well cared for,regularly seen by a vet and loved by feeders,sponsors and volunteers. A former( now disgruntled) member wrote a review full of false accusations and lies. I believe this same person just 6 months ago wrote a 5 star review. If you read her review(she did not put her name), I encourage you to come out to the ranch and see for yourself the condition of the horses.
I have never seen a horse mistreated or uncared for at the ranch. It is an all volunteer /donation organization. We have many regular volunteers who share the love and care of the horses. FRIENDS
is doing the best it can for the rescued horses who now live there. Reg F

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

FRIENDS is a wonderful place to connect with both nature and the magnificent animals-the horses- that reside there. Some of the horses came from deplorable conditions. They are nurtured,fed and loved by sponsers and volunteers. What I get from these wonderful animals is far more than I am able to give to them. Who knew that cleaning stalls,raking hay and cleaning water troughs could be so rewarding!
Most of the volunteers and sponsers are animal lovers who do what is needed to make life the best it can be for these once discarded horses. FRIENDS is a safe haven for both the horses and the humans who support it. Reg

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This is a non-profit horse rescue staffed entirely by volunteers with a love of animals-especially horses.
There are currently about 56 horses,10 pigs,2 goats and 2 donkeys at the ranch. Many of these animals
would not be alive if it were not for the ranch. It is a wonderful place to
relax and enjoy the animals. The horses can be sponsored for a monthly fee which helps pay for the costs of caring for the horses. Some of the horses are rideable and some are not due to arthritis and other non-life threatening conditions. ALL of the horses are wonderful,beautiful animals . Going to the ranch to feed, clean stall, bathe and groom horses is something I look forward to all week long. The ranch depends on our donations of time and money.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I love going there and being among the animals! It is such a great place for animals that would have had no future otherwise. You can definitely learn a lot about the animals but also about yourself! I would recommend it to anyone that loves animals or wants to learn more about them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
November 30, 2013

I volunteer this place, and and this Rescue organizations rhave5 with best they have and survive with Donation and Sponsorship for horses. Most of horses still waiting for get sponsorship, in time th... more

May 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

F.R.I.E.N.D.S is the Home Sanctuary not just horses but for horses lovers. Here we take care of them, learn about horses behavior and how gain their confidence and love. The RESPECT , UNDESTANDING AND LOVE FOR HORSES IS OUR LAW. The twam of this place are very active and helping always each others. This animals are really a Majestic Gift from GOD ....the only way you can proof is taking care of a horse, specially the rescued ones, who pass for the nasty of humanity BUT thanks to Rescuers and Rescuer place like F.R.I.E.N.D.S they get the chance to be LOVED AND RESPECTED as the Majestic animals they are♡.
When you arrive at Ranch, you feel the peace, but when you see the Horses and interact with them ......YOU GET THE JOY
. I recomend this place if you are a animal lover. And if is your first time to be with horses, it's the best place to learn about them, with the Team of F.R.I.E.N.D.S and Manager and Owner they will always teach you and welling to listing your questions and help you. If you like Pigs, Goats or Dunkies...we has as well, and they are very unique. Here you can confirm and learn about the intelligence and smart of Pigs. ♡.
Dunkies ..Pepe and Eyore...are so smart and funny you will love them.
Isa Capaldo
November 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteer this place, and and this Rescue organizations rhave5 with best they have and survive with Donation and Sponsorship for horses. Most of horses still waiting for get sponsorship, in time this horses still feeding, treated with medication any time they need, check by veterinarian, etc they get same care as the horses with sponsorship.
I'm almos 5 days at week, I say what I see what I know, and the reality this is a big rescue rescue place where HORSES ARE LOVED BY BE HORSES where they rescue horses that people used, neglect them, through aways because is not longer for profit ir or because have any medical conditions. Without this kind of Rescue Organization, the end of this majestic animals will be the dead.
At this place we people that love this animals, respect them, love then and take care of them. All horses are important and are loved.
As a matter of fact we have precaution about how people want to treat them, because we will not permit any any abuse any mistreated to them.
I'm wondering why people is so nasty to the point to say bad comments about this place just because they have another intentions? I don't care if you run another ranch better conditions. That's is your place.
Our place is a Beautiful Ranch, with horses that want be loved and respect like we do. Like to stay late night cleanings their stall becsuse is a holiday day, and people forget the horses still need you that day. We do, we are always taking care of them. Loving them and we get the best: their Loyalty love and respect. ......the best we can have of this majestic animals.
Oh...i forgot mention we love so much Animals that we have pigs, goats and donkies...and their also get care, feed and love from F.R.I.E.N.D.S Rescue Organization.
Any one that want have the time experience of have a horse, come we welcome you to meet our Ranch and our beautiful horses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This place, for me is my Peaceful and Loved second home. We have the love of all the Equines kids (because this rescue animals are more that just the word : Horses), the feeling before arrive and know soon (in minutes) you will see them again, they will put their faces waiting a simply : hi or....hello did you bring the carrots today, or the eyes expressions of LOVE, RESPECT, ADMIRATION, HAPPINESS THAT your Equine Kid show when see you,......IS UNIQUE .... , that's before arrive. Then when you finally can in. and find the all people of the team that give to you welcome and they are happy to see you too, after this, you start your day in F.R.I.E.N.D.S......you feel the second emotion...when you have to go to real Home jajajaja even if you are tired you miss them already before leave. This is my particular experience. About the people team...they are Respectful, Helpful, Fun and just Great. The most IMPORTANT for me, is that they LOVE, SAVE and HELP all the Horses. I give thanks GOD to have a place like this in Florida. Because really.....for me is a Blessing this Place, the Team and of course,.....my Equine Kids. I don't want forget to mentioned the other rescue: The Brothers (Pepe and Eeyore), the very funny sisters (Elle, Salt and Bella), and they partners group of Pigs. And of course I continue my volunteerism because, i have my equine son there, and the other need also from us, the people love them. So if you love animals and you want meet a special love...come to visit us. We clean them, we bath them,we fee them, we love them....and they give to your life wisdom, love and respect from God. This is true. The only way, is to meet, understand, love and respect your horse. Isa Carolina Capaldo.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 4, 2013

FRIENDS is an incredible non profit. My first horse was a EIA positive horse that I had through Friends, I had him until he passed away and was involved for many years. EIA horses would have few opti... more

May 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I started with F.R.I.E.N.D.S from the start as a teen. I am now 45 yrs old. Some of my best memories are with my first horse Gorgeous George at the ranch. This is a organization like no other. It is saving horses who would otherwise not have had a chance. I have known Debbie Beye-Barwick over thirty years. Her main mission has always been and will always be the horses.
I now live on a farm in Central Florida and spread F.R.I.E.N.D.S mission to every vet and horse person I come in contact with. I want the horse community to know a EIA positive horse has this wonderful option. Many do not have the land mass to quarantine their horse and think euthanasia is the only option. The reputation of this outstanding organization is nationwide and respected by many horse people. The members and volunteers are the backbone of this organization.
Many of the horses at the ranch live well into their thirties and pass of old age. It also gives people a affordable opportunity of sponsoring and loving a horse. You can be assured with this organization all donations go straight to the horses.
Can you tell I love F.R.I.E.N.D.S.?
October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

FRIENDS is an incredible non profit. My first horse was a EIA positive horse that I had through Friends, I had him until he passed away and was involved for many years. EIA horses would have few options without FRIENDS and many would be put down.
I live in central Florida now and still own
horses I will never forget my roots. FRIENDS is a horse lovers dream and an opportunity to have their own horse.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None it is great as is!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Our family recently volunteered for National "Help a Horse" day. I couldn't have been more impressed with the staff. They were patient, knowledgeable and kind. We were given an orientation, encouraged to ask questions at any time, and made to feel welcome. I will definitely return to help out when my schedule allows, and have already spread the word at work! Thanks for all you do - it was a great experience.
December 3, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

December 3, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I volunteered at ranch a few times a year. My last visit was very disappointing. The management was rude. Since April the ranch looks run down and horses not groomed. I heard the ranch being investigated for mismanagement of money/donations and animal neglect.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Bring back old management. Get rid of current management

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unlikely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 4, 2013

This organization provides an environment to learn and bond with the horses in addition to experience working as team. Many of the activities at the ranch require more than one individual to complete... more

December 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My daughter and I have been involved with F.R.I.E.N.D.S. since 2007 and have the utmost respect for the organization. With the current state of the economy, F.R.I.E.N.D.S. provides relief to those who can no longer afford to properly care for their horse(s) and an opportunity for those with a love for horses to experience horse ownership and care at a significantly reduced cost. This organization provides a safe environment for the horses to live, excellent vet care, and sponsors who truly love their horse(s). In addition, this organization provides an opportunity for students to earn their community service hours, animal lovers to spend quality time with all of the animals at the ranch. Currently there are horses, pigs, goats, donkeys and cats. We highly recommend F.R.I.E.N.D.S.! Come on out to F.R.I.E.N.D.S. where you are sure to make some new FRIENDS!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

This organization provides an environment to learn and bond with the horses in addition to experience working as team. Many of the activities at the ranch require more than one individual to complete the chores which in turn fosters communication and new friendships. My daughter's first horse is at F.R.I.E.N.D.S. , she continues to care for him and the other horses regularly, since 2007. The skills and knowledge she has gained at the ranch are applicable in many areas of life. Her love, passion and education of horses continues to be encouraged and is flourishing. I highly recommend this organization for anyone with a love of horses or volunteering. It is a great place to be!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help with our fund-raising to help raise additional funds for the horses. Volunteer