Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
95 Reviews
1234.842115
Write A Review
November 30, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

This ranch, F.R.I.E.N.D.S. horse ranch rescue, is run with out care for the horses or the safety of the staff and volunteers running it. I don't know who is in charge, but these horses are over crowded and neglected. I checked the website and it shows this ranch gets huge annual donations, it is well funded. Judging from the horrible ranch conditions that money cant possibly be spent on those horses. I ran a beautiful ranch with half the amount of horses with 20% of the funds this ranch makes. I asked for the financial document and was directed to a bogus website with tax returns. I am very suspicious about how this ranch is funded and where the money actually goes. Has anyone ever gotten a look at the financials of this ranch?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure horses hooves are taken care of, make sure each horse get proper supplements and has a safe clean stall to stand in, clean the pasture, rotate the pasture, increase the size of the pasture, the list goes on and on. Be very careful donating to this or any organization that will not openly show the public where the donations go. In fact, ask to see the "books"-the real ones, the receipts that were used to do the tax returns.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Unlikely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Okay

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 16, 2012

We visited this rescue 2 years ago while we were on vacation. They were wonderful. Welcomed us with open arms and we dug right in and helped! IT was raining that day and we helped with clean up and ... more

October 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

When I visited F.R.I.E.N.D.S I was truly amazed by all they do!!! They are giving horses a chance that no one else would dare to. They are wonderful people and I am proud to call them friends!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

We visited this rescue 2 years ago while we were on vacation. They were wonderful. Welcomed us with open arms and we dug right in and helped! IT was raining that day and we helped with clean up and just had a great time. This rescue goes above and beyond for these horses that no one else wants!!! We have become great friends with the owner of the rescue and cannot wait to go back this summer to see them again!!! She has a heart of gold!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I've been a sponsor of Native, a horse rescued and brought to FRiENDS just after I started going down there trying to find a good match for myself and the horse. . Everyone there went over and above to make sure that Natives transition from his old home to FRiENDS went seemlessly. The love and passion for horses from everyone involved at FRIENDS is like no dedication I've ever personally seen in animal rescue. They eat, drink and breathe horses making sure each and everyone of them has the best care to live their lives in a loving and safe environment as their forever home. One of the plethora of things I love, is that at the ranch, a horse can be a horse and be turned out to pasture to run and play with one another. I'm so glad I found FRIENDS and the wonderful people that are able to run this rescue so beautifully. I have been a sponsor for 5 years now and will continue to be.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 16, 2012

FRIENDS is an AWSOME organization. We currently house 55 horses, 2 miniature donkeys, 9 pot bellied pigs, 1 farm pig, 3 goats and 1 cat. It takes a lot of people to make it all work. We have no paid e... more

June 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

FRIENDS is a lot of things to a lot of different people. There are so many ways to participate in the program and you get to choose what you want to do. While being around and interacting with horses is good for your heart and soul, they are also fun to children of all ages. Your experience can be life changing out there. You can learn things you never thought you would know and gain relationships that you never imagined would matter so much. Volunteering out there is the best way to start. It gives you the opportunity to see what takes place, how things are done, all while helping to care for these beautiful animals. You will know within 2 or 3 visits if this is the place for you. If you don't mind dirt and occasionally mud, you will probably love it. It is a peaceful, family oriented place that put the animals first while teaching those who want to learn everything about horses.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had the money to give them, I would buy every horse out there new stalls panels. They are also really in need of some funding to buy the supplies to repair and build a new fence line.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

FRIENDS is an AWSOME organization. We currently house 55 horses, 2 miniature donkeys, 9 pot bellied pigs, 1 farm pig, 3 goats and 1 cat. It takes a lot of people to make it all work. We have no paid employees. We have GREAT Volunteers, GREAT Animals and A LOT OF FUN! We need volunteer support to help feed the horses, clean stalls, water, bathe, groom and medicate when needed. Everyone is welcome and we will gladly teach you about horses and their care if you want to learn. We also have the ever popular "Sponsor A Horse Program" where for a flat rate fee, you can choose to have a horse all to yourself to ride, groom and play with for the month. We also have the 1/2 a horses share plan too if you only want to have half the month with a horse. We are always in need of funding for the vet and feed store. It runs $ 13,000.00 per month just for feed and hay and there's always a vet bill with this many horses. Currently we are in the process of accepting 9 more horses who are in immediate need of assistance. We have taken 4 new horses in this week and we will go get 2 more this week. We need commuinty support for not only financial donations but for volunteer support as well! FRIENDS has been saving Florida's horses for more than 25 years and with your help, we would like to go another 25. We hope to see you out there!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 2, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

In the last 2 years I have watched the volunteer program grow in leaps and bounds. In January and February of 2010 they had over 500 NEW VOLUNTEERS. The new MERIT PROGRAM is a GREAT incentive for all kids. The sense of accomplishment the kids feel as they achieve and meet each level is amazing to see. FRIENDS continues to grow in leaps and bounds always evolving while including these special horses. It started out as a simple horse rescue and has grown into a totally interactive program that includes all ages of the community. If you haven't been there, you need to go. It is one of Broward County's biggest assets and hidden secrets. I don't know of anywhere else you can go with your family and interact with farm animals for FREE. There are so many things they need help with and there is truly something out there that everyone can do to help. If you don't know how, they'll teach you. You can groom horses, help clean stalls, clean and fill water buckets, help feed and if your good with a hammer, help with maintenance. Even if you just want to go out and see the animals they welcome you. They have horses, pigs, goats, miniature donkeys and cats. The place is very welcoming and fun.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

so many ways. Every time you see the horses you know why you are there. They are amzing to watch in the pasture. What satisfaction you feel each time you can save a horse from euthanasia or slaughter.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

approach the Board of Directors with my ideas. They are very open to criticism. They even have a survey for EVERY volunteer to fill out before they leave so they can keep their finger on the pulse of the daily operations.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the private interations with the horses and other animals.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

well versed,very knowledgable,dedicated to the cause and pleasant.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

AWESOME. Maybe they could afford to buy a piece of property that could be their permanent Forever Home.

Ways to make it better...

it weren't so hot and rainy in the summer months. But, you can't control the weather.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

funding in this downward spiraling economy.They are rich in volunteer support but as you know, horses cost a lot to feed and care for. Donations are hard to get right now.

One thing I'd also say is that...

FRIENDS has been in existance since the early 1970's.They have withheld the test of time and their program is proven to work. They have been and continue to be the biggest horse rescue in Broward County and this is for more than 40 years.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I joined FRIENDS a year ago and it has fulfilled my dreams and beyond. I have loved horses all my life . Now that my children are on their own, I have more time to pursue my dreams. By sponsoring my horse, I've learned how to take care of him, I get to ride him, and enjoy the activities at the ranch. Dream come true.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 7, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

FRIENDS..is where I met the loves of my life. (S.S.M) It is a place where I go with much anticiaption to see my team of three. I've learned so much about horses at FRIENDS through the helpful staff and still continue to do so. i consider FRIENDS to be a palce where they truly care for the animlas and everyone works with one purpose, to give the horses the proper care they were lacking. Truly remarkable experience!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Wouldnt change anything! More horse lovers needed!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 7, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

F.R.I.E.N.D.S......Is what exactly you will find in our animals at our Ranch, this place is where you will find yourself , is with this Majestic Animals the Horses, and even better.. Rescue Horses, is a double challenge, as soon you conquist your horse heart him will try the best to conquist your. And day by day you will learn something new with your horse. If you want volunteer, you will also find the great of this animals, their eyes, they body lenguage etc. The people of this place, is very nice, helpful and always will try to explain and educate about horses. In time, you will find also, the funny situation with Ellie...one of the goats that always is very jealous of horses :-) ;-) . Other days, will meet Oliver cute pig :-) . If you really want interact with peaceful and truly facts about God and Life, one of best places...is F.R.I.E.N.D.S Ranch. Like I say, if you really love animals and the cause of Rescue them....you.will love to come and meet us. :-) Of course I have my lovedddd horse there and I volunteer some times at the month. And all the horses are UNIQUE. THIS PLACE is my second home. :-)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 26, 2012

FRIENDS is one of the only true horse rescues I have seen. Horses have been rehabilitaated from abuse and extreame neglect. They take horses that anywhere else would be put down, due to medical condit... more

June 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Amazing horse ranch for any out door or animal lover. After arriving at the ranch from unthinkable conditions, these horses are respected and allowed to live a stress free life. They deserve at least that. Families and individuals can sponsor a horse which is just like owing your own horse with out the huge expense. Run by an all volunteer staff, the ranch is always in need of volunteers willing to work hard while enjoying what they do. Visit the wesite: www.eiahorses.org for all information needed for volunteering and sponsoring.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

FRIENDS is one of the only true horse rescues I have seen. Horses have been rehabilitaated from abuse and extreame neglect. They take horses that anywhere else would be put down, due to medical conditions, age or prior owner's inability to make money using the horse. All of the horses at this ranch are worthy of a happy "horse" life and did not deserve their prior treatment. If you are reading this please make an effort to donate to help continue to save the horses.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

A wonderful place for any animal lover to volunteer. A great way to own a horse with out the major expense. Anyone with desire can volunteer or sponsor a horse, no experience necessary. This is a wonderful organization saving some beautiful, soulful animals in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

FRIENDS ranch is a relaxing place to spend a few hours helping out some wonderful animals. There are so many different jobs to do that anyone can find something they can do to help out. It is the only place I have found that would let my kids volunteer under the age of 16.
If someone can't
donate their time, and money donated is strictly used for the animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My children and I just start it volunteering at the farm, we LOVE it!!! I highly recommend anyone to give your time and energy in caring and helping this animals!!!!! Please also donate as much as you can to ensure the healthi lives of this animals!! Much love and peace to all!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help with our fund-raising to help raise additional funds for the horses. Volunteer