Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
95 Reviews
1234.842115
Write A Review
June 9, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 7, 2013

We sponsor two horses at the FRIENDS ranch. Like another reviewer mentioned we have never been horse people. We just kind of loved horses and admired them from a far. Now, my kids ride horses and care... more

June 9, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

My kids and I always enjoy our visits to the ranch. We sponsor horses at FRIENDS. Every time I am there I am impressed by the hard work and dedication of the barn staff. It is obvious they love the animals there and take great care of them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 7, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

We sponsor two horses at the FRIENDS ranch. Like another reviewer mentioned we have never been horse people. We just kind of loved horses and admired them from a far. Now, my kids ride horses and care for them like it comes naturally. To say that we absolutely love coming to the ranch is an understatement, and we drive for 45 min from Miami in one direction. Yet, we come three times a week. Everyone at the FRIENDS ranch is amazing and so helpful, always offering help and expert assistance to us. Imagine getting a horse without knowing a single thing and in a couple of days becoming able to care for your horse by yourself. This is only possible because people at FRIENDS are incredible and fully dedicated to what they do on daily basis. And, let me say this to anyone who isn't familiar, they do extremely hard work helping neglected and sick animals day in and day out. Words fail me in trying to describe their generosity, kindness, hard work, expertise and dedication.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ask for anyone who loves horses to donate and volunteer to further improve the health and the general welfare of the animals. FRIENDS do an outstanding job but they need more financial assistance.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 9, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 9, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

LOVE this place!! I had been searching for a volunteer opportunity that matched my passion for rescue and animals. The FRIENDS ranch is amazing and run by the most amazing and respectable people who are all about the horses.

My experiences so far at the ranch have been amazing and I am
thrilled to have found them. Each time I leave, I look forward to the next visit.

Honestly, one of the most upstanding rescues I have encountered in many years. Check them out! You won't be disappointed!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 3, 2014

more

June 3, 2014

I went to this rescue with my daughter and encountered a gentleman that was very rude to me and my daughter. I was raised around horses and had an individual there ask me a question about a problem that a horse that she was sponsoring was having. When I tried to help her with her problem, me and my daughter was asked to leave the property. The people that was there and witnessed the aggression that this gentleman showed seemed to be shocked as I was. All I did was try to help this woman with her problem as I have extensive experience with horse ailments and you would think that they would welcome any help that they could get from someone if they are really about the animals as I am. Seems to me that it is more about the money at this so called rescue.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have a more friendly staff. Really it was only one staff member but I believe he is a senior staff member. I would also welcome any help and knowledge that was offered me and I definitely would not become aggressive towards anyone in front of a child. As an adult you should know that.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 23, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I recently started volunteering at F.R.I.E.N.D.S and I can honestly say that it has been one of the best experiences I've had! Everyone is so nice and so commited. I love the fact that they are so involved in so many events, doing everything possible to get their name out there. They offer a great opportunity to their volunteers to learn and enjoy nature by helping such a great cause! Saving the life of so many horses in need. It is definitely an experience that well help you grow in many ways.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 18, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 18, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I love going there and being among the animals! It is such a great place for animals that would have had no future otherwise. You can definitely learn a lot about the animals but also about yourself! I would recommend it to anyone that loves animals or wants to learn more about them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 18, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
November 30, 2013

I volunteer this place, and and this Rescue organizations rhave5 with best they have and survive with Donation and Sponsorship for horses. Most of horses still waiting for get sponsorship, in time th... more

May 18, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

F.R.I.E.N.D.S is the Home Sanctuary not just horses but for horses lovers. Here we take care of them, learn about horses behavior and how gain their confidence and love. The RESPECT , UNDESTANDING AND LOVE FOR HORSES IS OUR LAW. The twam of this place are very active and helping always each others. This animals are really a Majestic Gift from GOD ....the only way you can proof is taking care of a horse, specially the rescued ones, who pass for the nasty of humanity BUT thanks to Rescuers and Rescuer place like F.R.I.E.N.D.S they get the chance to be LOVED AND RESPECTED as the Majestic animals they are♡.
When you arrive at Ranch, you feel the peace, but when you see the Horses and interact with them ......YOU GET THE JOY
. I recomend this place if you are a animal lover. And if is your first time to be with horses, it's the best place to learn about them, with the Team of F.R.I.E.N.D.S and Manager and Owner they will always teach you and welling to listing your questions and help you. If you like Pigs, Goats or Dunkies...we has as well, and they are very unique. Here you can confirm and learn about the intelligence and smart of Pigs. ♡.
Dunkies ..Pepe and Eyore...are so smart and funny you will love them.
Isa Capaldo
November 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I volunteer this place, and and this Rescue organizations rhave5 with best they have and survive with Donation and Sponsorship for horses. Most of horses still waiting for get sponsorship, in time this horses still feeding, treated with medication any time they need, check by veterinarian, etc they get same care as the horses with sponsorship.
I'm almos 5 days at week, I say what I see what I know, and the reality this is a big rescue rescue place where HORSES ARE LOVED BY BE HORSES where they rescue horses that people used, neglect them, through aways because is not longer for profit ir or because have any medical conditions. Without this kind of Rescue Organization, the end of this majestic animals will be the dead.
At this place we people that love this animals, respect them, love then and take care of them. All horses are important and are loved.
As a matter of fact we have precaution about how people want to treat them, because we will not permit any any abuse any mistreated to them.
I'm wondering why people is so nasty to the point to say bad comments about this place just because they have another intentions? I don't care if you run another ranch better conditions. That's is your place.
Our place is a Beautiful Ranch, with horses that want be loved and respect like we do. Like to stay late night cleanings their stall becsuse is a holiday day, and people forget the horses still need you that day. We do, we are always taking care of them. Loving them and we get the best: their Loyalty love and respect. ......the best we can have of this majestic animals.
Oh...i forgot mention we love so much Animals that we have pigs, goats and donkies...and their also get care, feed and love from F.R.I.E.N.D.S Rescue Organization.
Any one that want have the time experience of have a horse, come we welcome you to meet our Ranch and our beautiful horses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This place, for me is my Peaceful and Loved second home. We have the love of all the Equines kids (because this rescue animals are more that just the word : Horses), the feeling before arrive and know soon (in minutes) you will see them again, they will put their faces waiting a simply : hi or....hello did you bring the carrots today, or the eyes expressions of LOVE, RESPECT, ADMIRATION, HAPPINESS THAT your Equine Kid show when see you,......IS UNIQUE .... , that's before arrive. Then when you finally can in. and find the all people of the team that give to you welcome and they are happy to see you too, after this, you start your day in F.R.I.E.N.D.S......you feel the second emotion...when you have to go to real Home jajajaja even if you are tired you miss them already before leave. This is my particular experience. About the people team...they are Respectful, Helpful, Fun and just Great. The most IMPORTANT for me, is that they LOVE, SAVE and HELP all the Horses. I give thanks GOD to have a place like this in Florida. Because really.....for me is a Blessing this Place, the Team and of course,.....my Equine Kids. I don't want forget to mentioned the other rescue: The Brothers (Pepe and Eeyore), the very funny sisters (Elle, Salt and Bella), and they partners group of Pigs. And of course I continue my volunteerism because, i have my equine son there, and the other need also from us, the people love them. So if you love animals and you want meet a special love...come to visit us. We clean them, we bath them,we fee them, we love them....and they give to your life wisdom, love and respect from God. This is true. The only way, is to meet, understand, love and respect your horse. Isa Carolina Capaldo.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 4, 2013

FRIENDS is an incredible non profit. My first horse was a EIA positive horse that I had through Friends, I had him until he passed away and was involved for many years. EIA horses would have few opti... more

May 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I started with F.R.I.E.N.D.S from the start as a teen. I am now 45 yrs old. Some of my best memories are with my first horse Gorgeous George at the ranch. This is a organization like no other. It is saving horses who would otherwise not have had a chance. I have known Debbie Beye-Barwick over thirty years. Her main mission has always been and will always be the horses.
I now live on a farm in Central Florida and spread F.R.I.E.N.D.S mission to every vet and horse person I come in contact with. I want the horse community to know a EIA positive horse has this wonderful option. Many do not have the land mass to quarantine their horse and think euthanasia is the only option. The reputation of this outstanding organization is nationwide and respected by many horse people. The members and volunteers are the backbone of this organization.
Many of the horses at the ranch live well into their thirties and pass of old age. It also gives people a affordable opportunity of sponsoring and loving a horse. You can be assured with this organization all donations go straight to the horses.
Can you tell I love F.R.I.E.N.D.S.?
October 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

FRIENDS is an incredible non profit. My first horse was a EIA positive horse that I had through Friends, I had him until he passed away and was involved for many years. EIA horses would have few options without FRIENDS and many would be put down.
I live in central Florida now and still own
horses I will never forget my roots. FRIENDS is a horse lovers dream and an opportunity to have their own horse.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None it is great as is!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

It has been my experience FRIENDS has been a great refuge for some wonderful horses that did not have a place to call home for many reasons and people that have not had an equine experience have been able to join in on the care and maintenance of these fine creatures . Please read and join in on this amazing organization !!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

This is a place like none other. The research done here in the equine field and the rescue efforts done here are providing a safe haven for horses and animals that would have to be euthanized if not for the owners and volunteers that put in their valuable time all for the love of these animals.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Our family recently volunteered for National "Help a Horse" day. I couldn't have been more impressed with the staff. They were patient, knowledgeable and kind. We were given an orientation, encouraged to ask questions at any time, and made to feel welcome. I will definitely return to help out when my schedule allows, and have already spread the word at work! Thanks for all you do - it was a great experience.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help with our fund-raising to help raise additional funds for the horses. Volunteer