Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
88 Reviews
1234.829555
Write A Review
May 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
November 30, 2013

I volunteer this place, and and this Rescue organizations rhave5 with best they have and survive with Donation and Sponsorship for horses. Most of horses still waiting for get sponsorship, in time th... more

May 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

F.R.I.E.N.D.S is the Home Sanctuary not just horses but for horses lovers. Here we take care of them, learn about horses behavior and how gain their confidence and love. The RESPECT , UNDESTANDING AND LOVE FOR HORSES IS OUR LAW. The twam of this place are very active and helping always each others. This animals are really a Majestic Gift from GOD ....the only way you can proof is taking care of a horse, specially the rescued ones, who pass for the nasty of humanity BUT thanks to Rescuers and Rescuer place like F.R.I.E.N.D.S they get the chance to be LOVED AND RESPECTED as the Majestic animals they are♡.
When you arrive at Ranch, you feel the peace, but when you see the Horses and interact with them ......YOU GET THE JOY
. I recomend this place if you are a animal lover. And if is your first time to be with horses, it's the best place to learn about them, with the Team of F.R.I.E.N.D.S and Manager and Owner they will always teach you and welling to listing your questions and help you. If you like Pigs, Goats or Dunkies...we has as well, and they are very unique. Here you can confirm and learn about the intelligence and smart of Pigs. ♡.
Dunkies ..Pepe and Eyore...are so smart and funny you will love them.
Isa Capaldo
November 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteer this place, and and this Rescue organizations rhave5 with best they have and survive with Donation and Sponsorship for horses. Most of horses still waiting for get sponsorship, in time this horses still feeding, treated with medication any time they need, check by veterinarian, etc they get same care as the horses with sponsorship.
I'm almos 5 days at week, I say what I see what I know, and the reality this is a big rescue rescue place where HORSES ARE LOVED BY BE HORSES where they rescue horses that people used, neglect them, through aways because is not longer for profit ir or because have any medical conditions. Without this kind of Rescue Organization, the end of this majestic animals will be the dead.
At this place we people that love this animals, respect them, love then and take care of them. All horses are important and are loved.
As a matter of fact we have precaution about how people want to treat them, because we will not permit any any abuse any mistreated to them.
I'm wondering why people is so nasty to the point to say bad comments about this place just because they have another intentions? I don't care if you run another ranch better conditions. That's is your place.
Our place is a Beautiful Ranch, with horses that want be loved and respect like we do. Like to stay late night cleanings their stall becsuse is a holiday day, and people forget the horses still need you that day. We do, we are always taking care of them. Loving them and we get the best: their Loyalty love and respect. ......the best we can have of this majestic animals.
Oh...i forgot mention we love so much Animals that we have pigs, goats and donkies...and their also get care, feed and love from F.R.I.E.N.D.S Rescue Organization.
Any one that want have the time experience of have a horse, come we welcome you to meet our Ranch and our beautiful horses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This place, for me is my Peaceful and Loved second home. We have the love of all the Equines kids (because this rescue animals are more that just the word : Horses), the feeling before arrive and know soon (in minutes) you will see them again, they will put their faces waiting a simply : hi or....hello did you bring the carrots today, or the eyes expressions of LOVE, RESPECT, ADMIRATION, HAPPINESS THAT your Equine Kid show when see you,......IS UNIQUE .... , that's before arrive. Then when you finally can in. and find the all people of the team that give to you welcome and they are happy to see you too, after this, you start your day in F.R.I.E.N.D.S......you feel the second emotion...when you have to go to real Home jajajaja even if you are tired you miss them already before leave. This is my particular experience. About the people team...they are Respectful, Helpful, Fun and just Great. The most IMPORTANT for me, is that they LOVE, SAVE and HELP all the Horses. I give thanks GOD to have a place like this in Florida. Because really.....for me is a Blessing this Place, the Team and of course,.....my Equine Kids. I don't want forget to mentioned the other rescue: The Brothers (Pepe and Eeyore), the very funny sisters (Elle, Salt and Bella), and they partners group of Pigs. And of course I continue my volunteerism because, i have my equine son there, and the other need also from us, the people love them. So if you love animals and you want meet a special love...come to visit us. We clean them, we bath them,we fee them, we love them....and they give to your life wisdom, love and respect from God. This is true. The only way, is to meet, understand, love and respect your horse. Isa Carolina Capaldo.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 4, 2013

FRIENDS is an incredible non profit. My first horse was a EIA positive horse that I had through Friends, I had him until he passed away and was involved for many years. EIA horses would have few opti... more

May 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I started with F.R.I.E.N.D.S from the start as a teen. I am now 45 yrs old. Some of my best memories are with my first horse Gorgeous George at the ranch. This is a organization like no other. It is saving horses who would otherwise not have had a chance. I have known Debbie Beye-Barwick over thirty years. Her main mission has always been and will always be the horses.
I now live on a farm in Central Florida and spread F.R.I.E.N.D.S mission to every vet and horse person I come in contact with. I want the horse community to know a EIA positive horse has this wonderful option. Many do not have the land mass to quarantine their horse and think euthanasia is the only option. The reputation of this outstanding organization is nationwide and respected by many horse people. The members and volunteers are the backbone of this organization.
Many of the horses at the ranch live well into their thirties and pass of old age. It also gives people a affordable opportunity of sponsoring and loving a horse. You can be assured with this organization all donations go straight to the horses.
Can you tell I love F.R.I.E.N.D.S.?
October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

FRIENDS is an incredible non profit. My first horse was a EIA positive horse that I had through Friends, I had him until he passed away and was involved for many years. EIA horses would have few options without FRIENDS and many would be put down.
I live in central Florida now and still own
horses I will never forget my roots. FRIENDS is a horse lovers dream and an opportunity to have their own horse.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None it is great as is!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 11, 2010

An awesome place for people who want to "test the waters" with their families getting involved with horses without spending a small fortune to "try it out". They offer an affordable program that can a... more

May 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

F.R.I.E.N.D.S. is a great place for anyone who likes being outside, hard work and horses. The members and volunteers work tirelessly every day to ensure the horses are healthy and well cared for. The people always put the horses needs before their own needs or wants. Their cause is admirable and the people are extremely caring and generous. It truly is one of the best rescues I have ever seen. In fact, most barns I see are not as kept up as F.R.I.E.N.D.S. nor do their horses look as good.
November 11, 2010

An awesome place for people who want to "test the waters" with their families getting involved with horses without spending a small fortune to "try it out". They offer an affordable program that can accomidate both people who want a horse they don't have to share with anyone and also a program sharing a horse for those who can't be there every day. They have a unique set up where all the feeding, stall cleaning and "work" can be done by volunteers or if you want the complete "hands on experience" you can do it yourself. The price can not be beat by any barn locally. There is no "term lease" involved. The staff is helpful and so are the members as they all share the same attitude. "Everyone was a beginner at some point". If you have an interest in horses, you are welcome to just volunteer as well.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I get enourmous satisfaction watching the horses they rescue blossom as they gain back the weight and the strength they lost at the hands of someone else.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to find them a professional fundraiser to help them raise the funds they so desperately need.

May 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is a place like none other. The research done here in the equine field and the rescue efforts done here are providing a safe haven for horses and animals that would have to be euthanized if not for the owners and volunteers that put in their valuable time all for the love of these animals.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Our family recently volunteered for National "Help a Horse" day. I couldn't have been more impressed with the staff. They were patient, knowledgeable and kind. We were given an orientation, encouraged to ask questions at any time, and made to feel welcome. I will definitely return to help out when my schedule allows, and have already spread the word at work! Thanks for all you do - it was a great experience.
May 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 16, 2012

They are such a great devoted group of people. If we had more people on earth like this group we would live in a marvelous country. The help they give the animals is amazing. God bless all of them & t... more

May 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The work this group does is amazing. The horses are all well cared for & loved. FRIENDS gives people a chance to help care for the horses & other animals as if they r their own pets.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

They are such a great devoted group of people. If we had more people on earth like this group we would live in a marvelous country. The help they give the animals is amazing. God bless all of them & the work they do.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 22, 2012

This rescue is made up of a hard working group of horse and animal lovers that have saved horses for over 2 decades here in Broward County. Not only do they save these beautiful animals but also they ... more

December 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As with all places and situations you can't please all the people all the time. It saddens me to see the public negative comments made purely out of spite and without regard for the damage it does to this organization which has been in existence since 1987. If you have a problem with management, go to them and make your complaint known rather than jeopardize the animals you say you are concerned for. I fear the negative impact of these unfounded statements will affect the horses' well being. It is obvious from the vast majority of comments that many people enjoy the ranch and hopefully this "blip on the map" will disappear and allow those at FRIENDS who do care about the horses, to do what they do best...provide equine care and provide valuable community interaction for over 26 years.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to increase donations

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This rescue is made up of a hard working group of horse and animal lovers that have saved horses for over 2 decades here in Broward County. Not only do they save these beautiful animals but also they give back so much to the community. There are volunteer opportunities and family events scheduled at the rescue. People of all ages are involved. They have a sponsor-a-horse program that allows riders of all levels to have a horse of their own to ride, groom and love for a reasonable monthly donation amount that allows the rescue to function. All levels of riding ability are accommodated and they even have horses that cannot be ridden for various reasons and these horses also need a sponsor just to groom them and provide companionship. After being at the ranch one leaves feeling very peaceful and just being there is very restoring to the soul. It is a good escape from the "rat race" of daily living. Highly recommended... I don't think you will be disappointed!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 4, 2013

I have been associated with FRIENDS since 1985 and it is one of the best organizations in Florida. Not only do they take in and care for horses with EIA, but they also help out other smaller animals... more

December 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been involved with FRIENDS since its inception in 1987 and have held many positions; i.e. orphan feeder, ranch manager, president, donor and now board of directors. This is a very worthly organization and the members are awesome. They take their precious time to benefit the horses and receive no pay ...everything is volunteer work. The members strive to give this special band of horses a safe and healthy life. The adults put together events for the younger riders and the kids have a great time in participating and getting their horses ready. This is a great place for junior members to learn horsemanship and these children learn very quickly about the responsibility of caring for a horse.

Over the past 25 years there have been a few grievances..mostly unfounded from people who were asked to leave the ranch because their behavior was not befitting to the organization. We strive to work out any problems and for the most part our members are top notch people. Our feedback is that FRIENDS is greatly respected and has a good reputation in the community. We strive to "always do the right thing".

The care of these horses is very expensive and we are grateful for any donations that come our way. Please open your hearts and come and join us...the right caliber of people stay with for many years!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give the ranch more money!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been associated with FRIENDS since 1985 and it is one of the best organizations in Florida. Not only do they take in and care for horses with EIA, but they also help out other smaller animals that happen to come their way. The hearts of the members of FRIENDS are in the right place..they work tirelessly to make life better for this band of horses, without pay, without thanks, without expecting anything back, except a healthy horse.

If you are looking for a wonderful place to donate your time, money and skills, go to FRIENDS.!!!! They are the very best Broward County has to offer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Built them a real barn.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I joined FRIENDS in 1986, before it was FRIENDS, and have watched a small group of people evolve into a dedicated and determined larger group of people. The focus has never changed but conditions for this band of horses has improved vastly over the years. Awareness of their plight has also been expanded. This is one of the most worthwhile organizations in Florida...they will help any farm animal in need, although their focus is horses. They work tirelessly in an emergency and can put together a fund raising event in a flash. Hats off to everyone at FRIENDS, for you are the people who makes living possible for these horses.

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

December 3, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I volunteered at ranch a few times a year. My last visit was very disappointing. The management was rude. Since April the ranch looks run down and horses not groomed. I heard the ranch being investigated for mismanagement of money/donations and animal neglect.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Bring back old management. Get rid of current management

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unlikely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 4, 2013

This organization provides an environment to learn and bond with the horses in addition to experience working as team. Many of the activities at the ranch require more than one individual to complete... more

December 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My daughter and I have been involved with F.R.I.E.N.D.S. since 2007 and have the utmost respect for the organization. With the current state of the economy, F.R.I.E.N.D.S. provides relief to those who can no longer afford to properly care for their horse(s) and an opportunity for those with a love for horses to experience horse ownership and care at a significantly reduced cost. This organization provides a safe environment for the horses to live, excellent vet care, and sponsors who truly love their horse(s). In addition, this organization provides an opportunity for students to earn their community service hours, animal lovers to spend quality time with all of the animals at the ranch. Currently there are horses, pigs, goats, donkeys and cats. We highly recommend F.R.I.E.N.D.S.! Come on out to F.R.I.E.N.D.S. where you are sure to make some new FRIENDS!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

This organization provides an environment to learn and bond with the horses in addition to experience working as team. Many of the activities at the ranch require more than one individual to complete the chores which in turn fosters communication and new friendships. My daughter's first horse is at F.R.I.E.N.D.S. , she continues to care for him and the other horses regularly, since 2007. The skills and knowledge she has gained at the ranch are applicable in many areas of life. Her love, passion and education of horses continues to be encouraged and is flourishing. I highly recommend this organization for anyone with a love of horses or volunteering. It is a great place to be!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help with our fund-raising to help raise additional funds for the horses. Volunteer