Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
88 Reviews
1234.829555
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
May 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

It has been my experience FRIENDS has been a great refuge for some wonderful horses that did not have a place to call home for many reasons and people that have not had an equine experience have been able to join in on the care and maintenance of these fine creatures . Please read and join in on this amazing organization !!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 6, 2013

Great place to learn about horses and gain experience with horses and other farm animals! Highly recommended! more

June 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I sponsored a horse at FRIENDS when I lived in Florida, and it was a great experience. It allowed me to learn about horses and horse ownership, something I had been trying for years, but found very hard to achieve from taking lessons and going on trail rides. FRIENDS' sponsor program on the other hand allows one to get hands-on experience with taking care of a horse. I learned a lot and am very grateful for the experience. I have since moved away from Florida and now have my own horse, I don't think this would have been possible without my time at FRIENDS.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Great place to learn about horses and gain experience with horses and other farm animals! Highly recommended!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I had always wanted a horse growing up and, over the years, I had taken some lessons here and there but things never really clicked. When I found out about the sponsor-a-horse program at F.R.I.E.N.D.S., it sounded like a perfect fit. I started volunteering at F.R.I.E.N.D.S., then sponsoring one of their horses, and fell in love with the horses there and the ranch. I learned a lot about horse handling, improved my riding skills, and would highly recommend the program to anyone who is interested in learning more about horses and horse ownership.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
December 1, 2013

I have been involved with this exceptional non profit for more than 20 years now. I have watched it grow and I have seen the love and dedication that F.R.I.E.N.D.S has given each and every horse that... more

June 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with F.R.I.E.N.D.S. for over 20 years. The dedication, pure selfless love and extremely hard work is beyond words! If only more people could do what this incredible organization does! The horses that are at this facility would be dead without F.R.I.E.N.D.S. I thank them and commend all of the volunteers. I thank the donors! The sponsor program that they have is such a great way for every horse to have the love and attention they need and also get the proper exercise.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes, they do the best job!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with this exceptional non profit for more than 20 years now. I have watched it grow and I have seen the love and dedication that F.R.I.E.N.D.S has given each and every horse that has come through their gates. People are the most cruel creatures on this planet. It is very easy to judge, make up stories, and try to destroy for what ever insane reason that people come up with, an organization that is doing the very best to care for the unwanted horses that are thrown away and left to starve to death. I wish people would just be daring enough and not selfish and walk in these people's shoes for a period of time and really see what is involved and do the necessary good for the horse! Research this group. Go through the media and newspapers. See what they have done time and time again. See their passion and what they go through to save these defenseless horses!! F.R.I.E.N.D.S gets and always will get the best review!! They are a quality establishment, they care for, feed, and provide quality healthcare the unwanted horses! They only get the most superior review!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There are no changes to make unless our government would consider donating land and money to help with the care of these horses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 9, 2014

more

June 9, 2014

My daughter sponsors 2 wonderful horses here. This is a great place to spend time with horses. When we originally started going to FRIENDS it was really because of my daughter's interest in horses. However, I have learned so much and have been converted to a "horse person." This is a wonderful place for both adults and children to interact with horses and learn about them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 7, 2013

We sponsor two horses at the FRIENDS ranch. Like another reviewer mentioned we have never been horse people. We just kind of loved horses and admired them from a far. Now, my kids ride horses and care... more

June 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My kids and I always enjoy our visits to the ranch. We sponsor horses at FRIENDS. Every time I am there I am impressed by the hard work and dedication of the barn staff. It is obvious they love the animals there and take great care of them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

We sponsor two horses at the FRIENDS ranch. Like another reviewer mentioned we have never been horse people. We just kind of loved horses and admired them from a far. Now, my kids ride horses and care for them like it comes naturally. To say that we absolutely love coming to the ranch is an understatement, and we drive for 45 min from Miami in one direction. Yet, we come three times a week. Everyone at the FRIENDS ranch is amazing and so helpful, always offering help and expert assistance to us. Imagine getting a horse without knowing a single thing and in a couple of days becoming able to care for your horse by yourself. This is only possible because people at FRIENDS are incredible and fully dedicated to what they do on daily basis. And, let me say this to anyone who isn't familiar, they do extremely hard work helping neglected and sick animals day in and day out. Words fail me in trying to describe their generosity, kindness, hard work, expertise and dedication.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ask for anyone who loves horses to donate and volunteer to further improve the health and the general welfare of the animals. FRIENDS do an outstanding job but they need more financial assistance.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

LOVE this place!! I had been searching for a volunteer opportunity that matched my passion for rescue and animals. The FRIENDS ranch is amazing and run by the most amazing and respectable people who are all about the horses.

My experiences so far at the ranch have been amazing and I am
thrilled to have found them. Each time I leave, I look forward to the next visit.

Honestly, one of the most upstanding rescues I have encountered in many years. Check them out! You won't be disappointed!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 3, 2014

more

June 3, 2014

I went to this rescue with my daughter and encountered a gentleman that was very rude to me and my daughter. I was raised around horses and had an individual there ask me a question about a problem that a horse that she was sponsoring was having. When I tried to help her with her problem, me and my daughter was asked to leave the property. The people that was there and witnessed the aggression that this gentleman showed seemed to be shocked as I was. All I did was try to help this woman with her problem as I have extensive experience with horse ailments and you would think that they would welcome any help that they could get from someone if they are really about the animals as I am. Seems to me that it is more about the money at this so called rescue.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have a more friendly staff. Really it was only one staff member but I believe he is a senior staff member. I would also welcome any help and knowledge that was offered me and I definitely would not become aggressive towards anyone in front of a child. As an adult you should know that.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I recently started volunteering at F.R.I.E.N.D.S and I can honestly say that it has been one of the best experiences I've had! Everyone is so nice and so commited. I love the fact that they are so involved in so many events, doing everything possible to get their name out there. They offer a great opportunity to their volunteers to learn and enjoy nature by helping such a great cause! Saving the life of so many horses in need. It is definitely an experience that well help you grow in many ways.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 22, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
November 30, 2013

I have been volunteering at FRIENDS for 1 1/2 yrs. I am there usually 3 x's a week. It is a place where the horses get a second chance. The horses are well cared for,regularly seen by a vet and lov... more

May 22, 2014

FRIENDS is a wonderful organization that has saved many horses over the years. I have been volunteering there for almost 2 years. Since I have been there several horses have come to us in deplorable condition. With the dedication and attention of the vet and the all volunteer staff, these horses returned to being the magnificent animals they were meant to be. The work is hard but the rewards are many. The sponsor program allows people to get more involved with the horses and the ranch. It is a non profit organization that uses the donations for the care and well being of the horses.
Most of these horses would have been destroyed if it were not for FRIENDS. I get much more from the horses than I could ever give to them.
November 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering at FRIENDS for 1 1/2 yrs. I am there usually 3 x's a week. It is a place where the horses get a second chance. The horses are well cared for,regularly seen by a vet and loved by feeders,sponsors and volunteers. A former( now disgruntled) member wrote a review full of false accusations and lies. I believe this same person just 6 months ago wrote a 5 star review. If you read her review(she did not put her name), I encourage you to come out to the ranch and see for yourself the condition of the horses.
I have never seen a horse mistreated or uncared for at the ranch. It is an all volunteer /donation organization. We have many regular volunteers who share the love and care of the horses. FRIENDS
is doing the best it can for the rescued horses who now live there. Reg F

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

FRIENDS is a wonderful place to connect with both nature and the magnificent animals-the horses- that reside there. Some of the horses came from deplorable conditions. They are nurtured,fed and loved by sponsers and volunteers. What I get from these wonderful animals is far more than I am able to give to them. Who knew that cleaning stalls,raking hay and cleaning water troughs could be so rewarding!
Most of the volunteers and sponsers are animal lovers who do what is needed to make life the best it can be for these once discarded horses. FRIENDS is a safe haven for both the horses and the humans who support it. Reg

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This is a non-profit horse rescue staffed entirely by volunteers with a love of animals-especially horses.
There are currently about 56 horses,10 pigs,2 goats and 2 donkeys at the ranch. Many of these animals
would not be alive if it were not for the ranch. It is a wonderful place to
relax and enjoy the animals. The horses can be sponsored for a monthly fee which helps pay for the costs of caring for the horses. Some of the horses are rideable and some are not due to arthritis and other non-life threatening conditions. ALL of the horses are wonderful,beautiful animals . Going to the ranch to feed, clean stall, bathe and groom horses is something I look forward to all week long. The ranch depends on our donations of time and money.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I love going there and being among the animals! It is such a great place for animals that would have had no future otherwise. You can definitely learn a lot about the animals but also about yourself! I would recommend it to anyone that loves animals or wants to learn more about them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help with our fund-raising to help raise additional funds for the horses. Volunteer