Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
95 Reviews
1234.842115
Write A Review
March 24, 2015

more

March 24, 2015

This non profit is the real deal. There is no electric, no running water, no telephone. There are no paid employees only volunteers and sponsors/members. Their commitment is beyond belief and the horses and other animals are truly the only priority. The staff makes themselves available to the community for information, a place to serve community service hours and a place to spend time with animals. I wish I lived closer because I would go every day if I could. All of the horses are beautiful and well taken care of by a crew of very caring people. I love this place and I can bet you will too!
March 9, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
June 8, 2013

FRIENDS is a great place for kids to learn to love horses and other farm animals, and to develop skills and a sense of responsibility that will help them in all facets of life as they mature. Volunte... more

March 9, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering with FRIENDS for 9 years. It is a great place, that takes excellent care of the horses. I have also been a sponsor of several horses in the past when my daughter was learning to ride. It is a wonderful place for teens to obtain service hours, as well as for Scouts to do their high level service projects. I highly recommend this nonprofit.
June 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

FRIENDS is a great place for kids to learn to love horses and other farm animals, and to develop skills and a sense of responsibility that will help them in all facets of life as they mature. Volunteering at FRIENDS is also great exercise and helps burn off all that excess energy that kids have.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Endow them with more money so they wouldn't have to work so hard raising funds.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 5, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have sponsored horses at FRIENDS for 5 years. They take GREAT care of the horses, even though they don't have all the modern tools for horse care. Their vet is so patient and kind. It's a great organization and I hope you will sponsor a horse or volunteer to help in some other way.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Because I sponsor a horse at FRIENDS, I have personally experienced the wonderful care that they get. It also provides volunteer opportunities for high school students and other people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would give them all the modern tools that would make taking care of horses easier. It would be great if they had electricity, a better water supply (or water supply to each stall instead of having to drag hoses), and other improvements to help the horses.

March 9, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 9, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

FRIENDS is an amazing organization. Not only is it a phenomenal rescue providing the horses with the best way to live out the remainder of their lives in peace as a happy herd, it also is an amazing place for volunteers of all kinds to come and get away from life for a while and spend time with these amazing horses. Every animal at FRIENDS has a story, and by spending time and getting to know them can really make a difference in a persons life. I have been involved with FRIENDS for over four years and have seen people from no experience with horses all the way to the most experienced be touched by these beautiful rescue animals. Volunteers of all kinds are welcome and there is no job too big or too small. The horses and other animals truly appreciate the work that people do out there. This can easily be seen from how the spirits of these animals change from the first days they arrive to after when they get the love and attention they deserve. The process is a truly beautiful thing to be apart of. I urge everyone to experience making a difference in these animals lives, it is simply good for your soul. There is a lot of beautiful history at the ranch. Everyone involved is there for the animals and there is something for everyone. Come visit FRIENDS!
March 9, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 9, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

It's all about the horses at FRIENDS.... many horses are in need of rescue and sanctuary and FRIENDS provides this need. Sponsor-a-horse program is ongoing way for the public to have first hand experience and contact with these beautiful animals that have inspired and touched the human psyche for centuries.
March 8, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

more


4 previous reviews - show all
May 22, 2014

FRIENDS is a wonderful organization that has saved many horses over the years. I have been volunteering there for almost 2 years. Since I have been there several horses have come to us in deplorable... more

March 8, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

Friends Is a wonderful place for both the horses that live there and the people ,who like myself, are lucky enough to be involved with the ranch. It is a haven for so many unwanted and or previously uncared for horses.
The horses are well cared for and loved by the all volunteer staff and the
kind volunteers from the community.
It is a great service FRIENDS provides to both the horses and the community. I spend a lot of time there
and it is a happy place to be!
May 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

FRIENDS is a wonderful organization that has saved many horses over the years. I have been volunteering there for almost 2 years. Since I have been there several horses have come to us in deplorable condition. With the dedication and attention of the vet and the all volunteer staff, these horses returned to being the magnificent animals they were meant to be. The work is hard but the rewards are many. The sponsor program allows people to get more involved with the horses and the ranch. It is a non profit organization that uses the donations for the care and well being of the horses.
Most of these horses would have been destroyed if it were not for FRIENDS. I get much more from the horses than I could ever give to them.
November 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been volunteering at FRIENDS for 1 1/2 yrs. I am there usually 3 x's a week. It is a place where the horses get a second chance. The horses are well cared for,regularly seen by a vet and loved by feeders,sponsors and volunteers. A former( now disgruntled) member wrote a review full of false accusations and lies. I believe this same person just 6 months ago wrote a 5 star review. If you read her review(she did not put her name), I encourage you to come out to the ranch and see for yourself the condition of the horses.
I have never seen a horse mistreated or uncared for at the ranch. It is an all volunteer /donation organization. We have many regular volunteers who share the love and care of the horses. FRIENDS
is doing the best it can for the rescued horses who now live there. Reg F

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

FRIENDS is a wonderful place to connect with both nature and the magnificent animals-the horses- that reside there. Some of the horses came from deplorable conditions. They are nurtured,fed and loved by sponsers and volunteers. What I get from these wonderful animals is far more than I am able to give to them. Who knew that cleaning stalls,raking hay and cleaning water troughs could be so rewarding!
Most of the volunteers and sponsers are animal lovers who do what is needed to make life the best it can be for these once discarded horses. FRIENDS is a safe haven for both the horses and the humans who support it. Reg

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

This is a non-profit horse rescue staffed entirely by volunteers with a love of animals-especially horses.
There are currently about 56 horses,10 pigs,2 goats and 2 donkeys at the ranch. Many of these animals
would not be alive if it were not for the ranch. It is a wonderful place to
relax and enjoy the animals. The horses can be sponsored for a monthly fee which helps pay for the costs of caring for the horses. Some of the horses are rideable and some are not due to arthritis and other non-life threatening conditions. ALL of the horses are wonderful,beautiful animals . Going to the ranch to feed, clean stall, bathe and groom horses is something I look forward to all week long. The ranch depends on our donations of time and money.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 8, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
3 previous reviews - show all
December 3, 2013

I have been involved with FRIENDS since its inception in 1987 and have held many positions; i.e. orphan feeder, ranch manager, president, donor and now board of directors. This is a very worthly orga... more

March 8, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

I joined FRIENDS in 1986 before it was a nonprofit. This orgainzation has grown so much over the years and has evolved into one of the most useful, caring and compassionate horse welfare organizations in Florida. The work that is done by the women and men at our ranch is beyond what most people give of themselves and it is for that reason, that FRIENDS is so successful.

If you are interested in horses and having fun, come and visit us...we are always looking for new people.
December 3, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been involved with FRIENDS since its inception in 1987 and have held many positions; i.e. orphan feeder, ranch manager, president, donor and now board of directors. This is a very worthly organization and the members are awesome. They take their precious time to benefit the horses and receive no pay ...everything is volunteer work. The members strive to give this special band of horses a safe and healthy life. The adults put together events for the younger riders and the kids have a great time in participating and getting their horses ready. This is a great place for junior members to learn horsemanship and these children learn very quickly about the responsibility of caring for a horse.

Over the past 25 years there have been a few grievances..mostly unfounded from people who were asked to leave the ranch because their behavior was not befitting to the organization. We strive to work out any problems and for the most part our members are top notch people. Our feedback is that FRIENDS is greatly respected and has a good reputation in the community. We strive to "always do the right thing".

The care of these horses is very expensive and we are grateful for any donations that come our way. Please open your hearts and come and join us...the right caliber of people stay with for many years!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give the ranch more money!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been associated with FRIENDS since 1985 and it is one of the best organizations in Florida. Not only do they take in and care for horses with EIA, but they also help out other smaller animals that happen to come their way. The hearts of the members of FRIENDS are in the right place..they work tirelessly to make life better for this band of horses, without pay, without thanks, without expecting anything back, except a healthy horse.

If you are looking for a wonderful place to donate your time, money and skills, go to FRIENDS.!!!! They are the very best Broward County has to offer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Built them a real barn.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I joined FRIENDS in 1986, before it was FRIENDS, and have watched a small group of people evolve into a dedicated and determined larger group of people. The focus has never changed but conditions for this band of horses has improved vastly over the years. Awareness of their plight has also been expanded. This is one of the most worthwhile organizations in Florida...they will help any farm animal in need, although their focus is horses. They work tirelessly in an emergency and can put together a fund raising event in a flash. Hats off to everyone at FRIENDS, for you are the people who makes living possible for these horses.

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 8, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
2 previous reviews - show all
May 16, 2014

F.R.I.E.N.D.S. is a great place for anyone who likes being outside, hard work and horses. The members and volunteers work tirelessly every day to ensure the horses are healthy and well cared for. The ... more

March 8, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

F.R.I.E.N.D.S. is an awesome place for the horses. The horses get to be horses and are not used for hard riding. They receive better care than most barns. The place is great for people who love horses and for people who can not afford one. They can either volunteer and spend their time with the horses and other animals or sponsor one of their own. The place has a warm atmosphere and it makes your time out there memorable and you feel you've accomplished something every time you go. If you love horses you should go and check out the place. I can guarantee there is no other place like it in Broward County. The people out there love the animals and they always put them first.
May 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

F.R.I.E.N.D.S. is a great place for anyone who likes being outside, hard work and horses. The members and volunteers work tirelessly every day to ensure the horses are healthy and well cared for. The people always put the horses needs before their own needs or wants. Their cause is admirable and the people are extremely caring and generous. It truly is one of the best rescues I have ever seen. In fact, most barns I see are not as kept up as F.R.I.E.N.D.S. nor do their horses look as good.
November 11, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

An awesome place for people who want to "test the waters" with their families getting involved with horses without spending a small fortune to "try it out". They offer an affordable program that can accomidate both people who want a horse they don't have to share with anyone and also a program sharing a horse for those who can't be there every day. They have a unique set up where all the feeding, stall cleaning and "work" can be done by volunteers or if you want the complete "hands on experience" you can do it yourself. The price can not be beat by any barn locally. There is no "term lease" involved. The staff is helpful and so are the members as they all share the same attitude. "Everyone was a beginner at some point". If you have an interest in horses, you are welcome to just volunteer as well.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I get enourmous satisfaction watching the horses they rescue blossom as they gain back the weight and the strength they lost at the hands of someone else.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to find them a professional fundraiser to help them raise the funds they so desperately need.

June 21, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 6, 2013

Great place to learn about horses and gain experience with horses and other farm animals! Highly recommended! more

June 21, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I sponsored a horse at FRIENDS when I lived in Florida, and it was a great experience. It allowed me to learn about horses and horse ownership, something I had been trying for years, but found very hard to achieve from taking lessons and going on trail rides. FRIENDS' sponsor program on the other hand allows one to get hands-on experience with taking care of a horse. I learned a lot and am very grateful for the experience. I have since moved away from Florida and now have my own horse, I don't think this would have been possible without my time at FRIENDS.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Great place to learn about horses and gain experience with horses and other farm animals! Highly recommended!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I had always wanted a horse growing up and, over the years, I had taken some lessons here and there but things never really clicked. When I found out about the sponsor-a-horse program at F.R.I.E.N.D.S., it sounded like a perfect fit. I started volunteering at F.R.I.E.N.D.S., then sponsoring one of their horses, and fell in love with the horses there and the ranch. I learned a lot about horse handling, improved my riding skills, and would highly recommend the program to anyone who is interested in learning more about horses and horse ownership.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
December 1, 2013

I have been involved with this exceptional non profit for more than 20 years now. I have watched it grow and I have seen the love and dedication that F.R.I.E.N.D.S has given each and every horse that... more

June 11, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I have been involved with F.R.I.E.N.D.S. for over 20 years. The dedication, pure selfless love and extremely hard work is beyond words! If only more people could do what this incredible organization does! The horses that are at this facility would be dead without F.R.I.E.N.D.S. I thank them and commend all of the volunteers. I thank the donors! The sponsor program that they have is such a great way for every horse to have the love and attention they need and also get the proper exercise.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes, they do the best job!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 1, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been involved with this exceptional non profit for more than 20 years now. I have watched it grow and I have seen the love and dedication that F.R.I.E.N.D.S has given each and every horse that has come through their gates. People are the most cruel creatures on this planet. It is very easy to judge, make up stories, and try to destroy for what ever insane reason that people come up with, an organization that is doing the very best to care for the unwanted horses that are thrown away and left to starve to death. I wish people would just be daring enough and not selfish and walk in these people's shoes for a period of time and really see what is involved and do the necessary good for the horse! Research this group. Go through the media and newspapers. See what they have done time and time again. See their passion and what they go through to save these defenseless horses!! F.R.I.E.N.D.S gets and always will get the best review!! They are a quality establishment, they care for, feed, and provide quality healthcare the unwanted horses! They only get the most superior review!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There are no changes to make unless our government would consider donating land and money to help with the care of these horses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My daughter sponsors 2 wonderful horses here. This is a great place to spend time with horses. When we originally started going to FRIENDS it was really because of my daughter's interest in horses. However, I have learned so much and have been converted to a "horse person." This is a wonderful place for both adults and children to interact with horses and learn about them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help with our fund-raising to help raise additional funds for the horses. Volunteer