Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
72 Reviews
1234.847225
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
December 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a sponsor at this place for almost a year. I sponsor three horses. We visit the ranch at least once a week and spend a whole day there. We have always been amazed at how much hard work is put into care for the horses. This place is really something special. People are genuine and they invest all of their time and effort to give these horses a second shot at life. There are almost 60 horses at this ranch. Caring for them is expensive and requires long hours day in and day out. Each and every horse needs to be washed, groomed and fed. They need to be given individual attention; stalls need to be cleaned twice a day etc. Anyone who says that horses are not being taken care of at this ranch is not being truthful.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

donate more so that these wonderful people receive assistance.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 22, 2012

This rescue is made up of a hard working group of horse and animal lovers that have saved horses for over 2 decades here in Broward County. Not only do they save these beautiful animals but also they ... more

December 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As with all places and situations you can't please all the people all the time. It saddens me to see the public negative comments made purely out of spite and without regard for the damage it does to this organization which has been in existence since 1987. If you have a problem with management, go to them and make your complaint known rather than jeopardize the animals you say you are concerned for. I fear the negative impact of these unfounded statements will affect the horses' well being. It is obvious from the vast majority of comments that many people enjoy the ranch and hopefully this "blip on the map" will disappear and allow those at FRIENDS who do care about the horses, to do what they do best...provide equine care and provide valuable community interaction for over 26 years.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to increase donations

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This rescue is made up of a hard working group of horse and animal lovers that have saved horses for over 2 decades here in Broward County. Not only do they save these beautiful animals but also they give back so much to the community. There are volunteer opportunities and family events scheduled at the rescue. People of all ages are involved. They have a sponsor-a-horse program that allows riders of all levels to have a horse of their own to ride, groom and love for a reasonable monthly donation amount that allows the rescue to function. All levels of riding ability are accommodated and they even have horses that cannot be ridden for various reasons and these horses also need a sponsor just to groom them and provide companionship. After being at the ranch one leaves feeling very peaceful and just being there is very restoring to the soul. It is a good escape from the "rat race" of daily living. Highly recommended... I don't think you will be disappointed!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 4, 2013

I have been associated with FRIENDS since 1985 and it is one of the best organizations in Florida. Not only do they take in and care for horses with EIA, but they also help out other smaller animals... more

December 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been involved with FRIENDS since its inception in 1987 and have held many positions; i.e. orphan feeder, ranch manager, president, donor and now board of directors. This is a very worthly organization and the members are awesome. They take their precious time to benefit the horses and receive no pay ...everything is volunteer work. The members strive to give this special band of horses a safe and healthy life. The adults put together events for the younger riders and the kids have a great time in participating and getting their horses ready. This is a great place for junior members to learn horsemanship and these children learn very quickly about the responsibility of caring for a horse.

Over the past 25 years there have been a few grievances..mostly unfounded from people who were asked to leave the ranch because their behavior was not befitting to the organization. We strive to work out any problems and for the most part our members are top notch people. Our feedback is that FRIENDS is greatly respected and has a good reputation in the community. We strive to "always do the right thing".

The care of these horses is very expensive and we are grateful for any donations that come our way. Please open your hearts and come and join us...the right caliber of people stay with for many years!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give the ranch more money!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been associated with FRIENDS since 1985 and it is one of the best organizations in Florida. Not only do they take in and care for horses with EIA, but they also help out other smaller animals that happen to come their way. The hearts of the members of FRIENDS are in the right place..they work tirelessly to make life better for this band of horses, without pay, without thanks, without expecting anything back, except a healthy horse.

If you are looking for a wonderful place to donate your time, money and skills, go to FRIENDS.!!!! They are the very best Broward County has to offer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Built them a real barn.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I joined FRIENDS in 1986, before it was FRIENDS, and have watched a small group of people evolve into a dedicated and determined larger group of people. The focus has never changed but conditions for this band of horses has improved vastly over the years. Awareness of their plight has also been expanded. This is one of the most worthwhile organizations in Florida...they will help any farm animal in need, although their focus is horses. They work tirelessly in an emergency and can put together a fund raising event in a flash. Hats off to everyone at FRIENDS, for you are the people who makes living possible for these horses.

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I volunteered at ranch a few times a year. My last visit was very disappointing. The management was rude. Since April the ranch looks run down and horses not groomed. I heard the ranch being investigated for mismanagement of money/donations and animal neglect.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Bring back old management. Get rid of current management

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unlikely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 4, 2013

This organization provides an environment to learn and bond with the horses in addition to experience working as team. Many of the activities at the ranch require more than one individual to complete... more

December 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My daughter and I have been involved with F.R.I.E.N.D.S. since 2007 and have the utmost respect for the organization. With the current state of the economy, F.R.I.E.N.D.S. provides relief to those who can no longer afford to properly care for their horse(s) and an opportunity for those with a love for horses to experience horse ownership and care at a significantly reduced cost. This organization provides a safe environment for the horses to live, excellent vet care, and sponsors who truly love their horse(s). In addition, this organization provides an opportunity for students to earn their community service hours, animal lovers to spend quality time with all of the animals at the ranch. Currently there are horses, pigs, goats, donkeys and cats. We highly recommend F.R.I.E.N.D.S.! Come on out to F.R.I.E.N.D.S. where you are sure to make some new FRIENDS!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

This organization provides an environment to learn and bond with the horses in addition to experience working as team. Many of the activities at the ranch require more than one individual to complete the chores which in turn fosters communication and new friendships. My daughter's first horse is at F.R.I.E.N.D.S. , she continues to care for him and the other horses regularly, since 2007. The skills and knowledge she has gained at the ranch are applicable in many areas of life. Her love, passion and education of horses continues to be encouraged and is flourishing. I highly recommend this organization for anyone with a love of horses or volunteering. It is a great place to be!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

F.R.I.E.N.D.S is a fantastic organization. They take wonderful care of the horses they save. The individuals who sponsor and volunteer are great. All of the horses needs are met at F.R.I.E.N.D.S. I am extremely thankful to this organization that they are here to help the horses.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with this exceptional non profit for more than 20 years now. I have watched it grow and I have seen the love and dedication that F.R.I.E.N.D.S has given each and every horse that has come through their gates. People are the most cruel creatures on this planet. It is very easy to judge, make up stories, and try to destroy for what ever insane reason that people come up with, an organization that is doing the very best to care for the unwanted horses that are thrown away and left to starve to death. I wish people would just be daring enough and not selfish and walk in these people's shoes for a period of time and really see what is involved and do the necessary good for the horse! Research this group. Go through the media and newspapers. See what they have done time and time again. See their passion and what they go through to save these defenseless horses!! F.R.I.E.N.D.S gets and always will get the best review!! They are a quality establishment, they care for, feed, and provide quality healthcare the unwanted horses! They only get the most superior review!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There are no changes to make unless our government would consider donating land and money to help with the care of these horses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 1, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 1, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been with this ranch for about 10 years. When I had to leave for college I was heartbroken at the idea of only seeing my boys a few times a year, because they bring me such happiness and a sense of purpose I have only felt here. I've seen so many new horses come in to the ranch as neglected and abused rescue animals that were in such dire need of love and attention--both of which they have found at F.R.I.E.N.D.S. As mentioned, in my long years of experience with this ranch I have personally aided in many different volunteer capacities and have found them all rewarding and highly enjoyable! Come start your own adventure with these loving animals and volunteer now!! :)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add volunteers and donations to help keep the organization alive!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
June 7, 2013

FRIENDS is a wonderful place to connect with both nature and the magnificent animals-the horses- that reside there. Some of the horses came from deplorable conditions. They are nurtured,fed and love... more

November 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering at FRIENDS for 1 1/2 yrs. I am there usually 3 x's a week. It is a place where the horses get a second chance. The horses are well cared for,regularly seen by a vet and loved by feeders,sponsors and volunteers. A former( now disgruntled) member wrote a review full of false accusations and lies. I believe this same person just 6 months ago wrote a 5 star review. If you read her review(she did not put her name), I encourage you to come out to the ranch and see for yourself the condition of the horses.
I have never seen a horse mistreated or uncared for at the ranch. It is an all volunteer /donation organization. We have many regular volunteers who share the love and care of the horses. FRIENDS
is doing the best it can for the rescued horses who now live there. Reg F

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

FRIENDS is a wonderful place to connect with both nature and the magnificent animals-the horses- that reside there. Some of the horses came from deplorable conditions. They are nurtured,fed and loved by sponsers and volunteers. What I get from these wonderful animals is far more than I am able to give to them. Who knew that cleaning stalls,raking hay and cleaning water troughs could be so rewarding!
Most of the volunteers and sponsers are animal lovers who do what is needed to make life the best it can be for these once discarded horses. FRIENDS is a safe haven for both the horses and the humans who support it. Reg

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This is a non-profit horse rescue staffed entirely by volunteers with a love of animals-especially horses.
There are currently about 56 horses,10 pigs,2 goats and 2 donkeys at the ranch. Many of these animals
would not be alive if it were not for the ranch. It is a wonderful place to
relax and enjoy the animals. The horses can be sponsored for a monthly fee which helps pay for the costs of caring for the horses. Some of the horses are rideable and some are not due to arthritis and other non-life threatening conditions. ALL of the horses are wonderful,beautiful animals . Going to the ranch to feed, clean stall, bathe and groom horses is something I look forward to all week long. The ranch depends on our donations of time and money.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 6, 2013

Once I reach the ranch driveway, all of the stress from my hectic day vanishes, and I just become part of the ranch. i love every one of the animals out there. And the group of people that this ranc... more

November 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I just celebrated my one year anniversary with F.R.I.E.N.D.S. I searched for a place I could afford to have a horse of my own. I met my perfect match and have benefited in ways I never imagined possible. I have a hip injury and my doctor recommended riding. When I started last year, I limped constantly. But, after about 6 months, I was able to get on and off my horse without the pain I had been dealing with for the last 7 years. So, physically, I have benefited. But, the added benefit of the serenity I feel when I drive up to the ranch is not something I had expected. The horses, donkeys, goats and pigs at the ranch are a part of my soul now. Although I sponsor one hrse, I have the entire herd to call my own. I love them all. Today, I got down on my knees and caressed the head of the sweetest Miniature horse. Soft whispers of love to these once forgotten animals is what keeps me going and continuing to heal myself. In return, I get the thrill of my horse nickering when he sees me coming toward his stall. I know ai make a difference by sponsoring an volunteering. I also have been able to pass on my passion of horses to others. I only wish I could do more. I urge anyone reading these reviews to please consider coming out to volunteer. And any donations are put to good use. If you have an animal at your home, think of how you cringe when you have to pay a vet bill. Now, imagine 55 + animals depending on you. They not only need to eat, but be bathed, inspected for anything that needs care, groomed, turned out, and yes, whispered sweet sounds to them, th o let them know they are in their forever home. Thank you F.R.I.E.N.D.S. for bettering my life and giving me a way to meake a difference to others, both people and critters big and small.
Connie

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Once I reach the ranch driveway, all of the stress from my hectic day vanishes, and I just become part of the ranch. i love every one of the animals out there. And the group of people that this ranch draws are welcoming and so willing to teach all newcomers the ins and outs of life at the ranch. I have introduced many friends and family to F.R.I.E.N.D.S. , and each has felt the love of the horses. They know we are there to help them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them raise more money to help even more horses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help with our fund-raising to help raise additional funds for the horses. Volunteer