Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
249 Reviews
1234.967875
| 1 ... 3 4 5...21 |
Write A Review
October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I learned about the Fistula Foundation thanks to the journalist Nicholas Kristof, and I am convinced that this is one of the best giving opportunities to change lives for the better. It is very rewarding to know that my money can help a woman get the surgery that she needs and regain her health and her place in society.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I had never heard of this particular medical problem until someone shared a Fistual Foundation brochure with me. I have been a donor ever since. This is one of the best charities that I have ever been involved with. I get PERSONAL thank you notes for my donations. When I send a donation at Mother's Day or Christmas in my mother's name, she always gets the card in a timely manner. I know the money goes to help these poor women who suffer so much and very little is used for administration. Please consider a donation to this wonderful charity.

lmc

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change a thing. I am totally impressed by how this charity is run.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

We have been giving $1000/ year for several years, once we understood how easy this problem is to fix and horribly it shuts down the lives of otherwise healthy young women. A great cause!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

The Fistula Foundation if very close to my heart because I had two very difficult deliveries. Long, long hours of unproductive labor. The babies heads were just too big. Finally, forceps were used to deliver my babies. Everything turned out well for me and for the babies, but had I not had access to good medical care, things might have been very different. If I had been trying to deliver alone and without medical care, the babies would have died. I might have died myself and if I had survived, I would probably have had a fistula.

The Fistula Foundation is making it possible for many women in poor countries to have safe deliveries. And, equally important, to begin their lives again if they have suffered the tragedy of fistula.



More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I have been a supporter since my first pregnancy, through which I received high quality prenatal and birth care, which I was sad to realize is not something women can count on in many parts of the world.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I've become a donor after a birth of my first child which was comfortable and painless. I realize it is not a reality for many women around the world and I am happy to support the organization that champions this important idea.

The topic of fistula is definitely hard to highlight,
especially in contrast to more "feel good" type of causes; still, the organization does a great job focusing on the mission without turning the benefactors into faceless powerless victim cases. At the same time, it never falls into the 'poverty p0rn' trap.

I also like the organization does not affect the local dynamics/politics too much - I detest initiatives that are too disruptive/disincentive to the local community.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 22, 2012

My husband shared Nick Kristol's New York Times article about the Fistula Foundation with me some years ago, and we have been enthusiastic supporters ever since. It's a hard subject to learn about, ... more

October 24, 2013

My husband and I have contributed to the Fistula Foundation for many years and it is one of the organizations that I admire and promote the most. I've been especially thrilled to see how their work is spreading beyond their original mission field.

I hold The Fistula Foundation up as a
great example of how a well organized non-profit can make nearly miraculous (for the women served) transformations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More social media outreach.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My husband shared Nick Kristol's New York Times article about the Fistula Foundation with me some years ago, and we have been enthusiastic supporters ever since. It's a hard subject to learn about, but nothing compared to what living it must be. It makes me HAPPY to be able to help!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I recently became aware of the problem through a movie and about solution provided by The Fistula Foundation.
As a male, I am happy to contribute to lives of women in this way.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

They do very important work and need all the support they can get. We need more resources and attention on this issue given its severe impact on the women it affects. This foundation efficiently channels resources in this direction, and transforms the lives of these women, restores their dignity. They keep donors well informed but don't solicit funds aggressively. And they never use 'guilt marketing' which I appreciate as a donor.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make them bigger

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I learned about the Fistula Foundation many years ago and was appalled when I read the stories of how these innocent girls and women were ostracized by their community for what they were FORCED to endure through no fault of their own. To force a young girl to marry and become pregnant when her body is still developing and is not capable of carrying a child is totally barbaric; then to punish her mercilessly when the delivery is unsuccessful and allow her health to degrade to such a degree is beyond my comprehension.

I realize this is a cultural situation in these societies, but I would call it more a patriarchal tenet that I hope and pray will change as more attention is being given to girls/women worldwide and their grossly unfair treatment in so many ways.

I don't read much of Dr. Catherine Hamlin who was the one that first came to my attention when learning of fistula and her remarkable efforts to establish centers of aid for these patients. I do know that I am thrilled at the steady and widely growing progress this organization has gained through the years I have been associated with it. It is also very, very reassuring that this non-profit ranks so highly on the scale of those that can be trusted to use the funds donated for the right purpose!

Carolyn Marie Mason
Carolynmarie.mason@gmail.com

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Become a Fistula Foundation Circle of Friends Ambassador. Do you feel others should hear more about these women whose lives are devastated by fistula? You can be their voice. Our popular Circle of Friends program is designed for people like you who want to do something more. Bring YOUR circle of friends together and make a difference. It's that simple. Help others in your community learn about our global work and efforts to restore dignity, one woman at a time. And why not have fun while you're at it? Invite your friends, colleagues and neighbors to a fundraising or informational event such as a video screening or evening out featuring stimulating discussion. For more information, please visit our website. Volunteer