Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
248 Reviews
1234.967745
Previous | 1 2 3...21 |
Write A Review
November 29, 2013

more

November 29, 2013

Giving a fellow human being back their dignity and life! What better use is there for one's resources?
Please give what you can afford. Such critically important work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 28, 2013

more

November 28, 2013

We are focused on understanding and helping in some way to improve the tragic lives women in developing countries face day to day. The Fistula Foundation is our favorite non-profit within this venue as they not only help support other non-profits doing similar work, but keep their overhead, as a percentage of total contributions, amazingly small.

We truly feel that this is one organization that can take a dollar and use it to it's fullest potential. We highly recommend that anyone with a desire to help other people consider donating to this group.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

Hi

I decided to use running a half marathon as a means of raising money for the Foundation after I heard about the dire situations women can find themselves in - due to something that can so easily be fixed. I was really pleased at the response I got from friends and colleagues. It made
it all the more rewarding for me, as it meant we were able to help a few more women, spread the word a bit further about the issue and what the Foundation is doing to help. Ann

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No suggestions - the staff were helpful and friendly.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I first learned about the Fistula Foundation from a Nicholas Kristof column in the New York Times. I was moved by the opportunity to help other women in such a profound way and signed up to give monthly through the Love-a-Sister program to fund one woman's fistula repair. I am now completing my fourth Love-a-Sister donation and plan to continue with a fifth. I appreciate that the foundation does not send unnecessary and costly printed appeals and stays in touch on its work through occasional emails. And I am always moved to tears when I receive confirmation that I have supported one woman's life-changing operation. As a way to make a difference in the world, I highly recommend giving to the Fistula Foundation.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I first learned about The Fistula Foundation when I read Half the Sky several years ago. I was reminded of it again in a column by Nicholas Kristof early this year and for Mother's Day I made a donation in honour of several special mothers in my life.

Recently I added a benefit concert in
Geneva and heard Dr. Hamlin speak. It was a very special evening.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was a delivery room nurse for many years and was blessed to see miracle of many healthy, happy births. I am also blessed to be a mother to 3 healthy now adult children. After watching the Oprah show many years ago that featured the amazing Dr. Hamlin, I became aware of the the Fistula Foundation. After watching the show and then reading Dr Hamlin's book The Hospital by the River. I knew I wanted to help these women who suffer the tragedy of their lost babies and then are devastated by fistulas. Since I could not physically help, I knew somehow I needed to do something , so monthly donations to the Fistula Foundation have become part of my life. I love what the foundation does for Women!! Restoring and Prevention!! Giving women their DIGNITY back!
I love the fact that through my monthly donations I can help a woman get her life and dignity back!!!

Thank you to the Doctors, Nurses and the rest of the very skilled teams that help restore these women. Thank you to the wonderful people that coordinate the foundation, Kate and the rest of her staff. You are the best!!!! Thank you to Dr. Hamlin and her late husband who had a vision. I am proud to have a tiny part in this great organization. The FISTULA FOUNDATION!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I watched the documentary A Walk to Beautiful quite a while ago. I felt that it does not help just to sit infront of the screen and cry for these women. So I I logged on to the website to donate.
These women and often still girls!! need our help and this organization is excellent! They save so
many lives and most important they give the women back a meaning with there lives.
I am thankful to all the people working for and with The Fistula Foundation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I appreciate the wonderful work of the Fistula Foundation. I have been a donor since seeing Dr. Catherine Hamlin on Oprah years ago. The Foundation keeps donors up to date through their newsletter and by email. I was touched to receive a phone call from the Foundation checking to make sure that the information on a memorial gift that I made was correct.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I have a great passion for the work of the Fistula Foundation. They not only do incredible work but also keep donors regularly informed of the impact of their dollars. I am so impressed by their very tiny team and only wish I could give more.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More staff!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

In 2004, while watching the Oprah Winfrey show, I saw Dr. Hamlin describe fistulas and the free reconstructive surgery that her hospital provided in Ethiopia. I felt overwhelming sadness for the young girls who suffered from this condition. I then felt compelled to make a money donation to The Fistula Foundation and have continued to be a long time donor. I know the donation is put to excellent use in restoring the health, dignity, and self worth of these young girls.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...21 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Become a Fistula Foundation Circle of Friends Ambassador. Do you feel others should hear more about these women whose lives are devastated by fistula? You can be their voice. Our popular Circle of Friends program is designed for people like you who want to do something more. Bring YOUR circle of friends together and make a difference. It's that simple. Help others in your community learn about our global work and efforts to restore dignity, one woman at a time. And why not have fun while you're at it? Invite your friends, colleagues and neighbors to a fundraising or informational event such as a video screening or evening out featuring stimulating discussion. For more information, please visit our website. Volunteer