Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
283 Reviews
1234.964665
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

It was during the launch of Fistula Foundation and Astellas partnership in Nairobi that I noted the amazing work done by the foundation to help hundreds of women access appropriate treatment for fistula. The inspiring and dedicated individuals like Dr. Mabeya and Kate Grant who have put smiles back to thousands of women who had been devastated by obstetric fistula. Keep up the good work and we the advocates of the end fistula campaign shall always be available to offer whatever support needed from us.
October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I stated my role as a professional with expertise in this field. I am a professional because I am a registered nurse. I am an expert in this field because after a difficult delivery of my first daughter I developed a recto-vaginal fistula...so, I had first hand experience with a suffering shame.

That was thirty-seven years ago, I lived in Vermont at that time...I was blessed with a husband and family to support me and went on to have a successful surgery with a truly gifted physician. Mine is a story of gratitude.

When I came across the Fistula Foundation I was overwhelmed because my sympathy for these young girls and women is deeply intense.

This foundation deserves every star I gave it and more.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can not think of one way their work could be improved upon.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 15, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

December 15, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The Fistula Foundation has helped the Edna Adan University Hospital in Hargeisa, Somaliland, to complete and equip our operating Theatres. Once this was done, we started to provide surgical repair for the women who needed it. The surgeon was provided by the Fistula Foundation who also covered the cost involved. There are now many women who have been repaired and who are 'dry' and able to lead a normal life. Some have returned to their husbands and have come back to our prenatalclinic for follow upof their pregnancy ! This is the greatest gift we can give to the women who have suffered this terrible and humiliating condition that is an obstetrical Fistula. On behalf of the women who have been repaired and on behalf of our hospital, I wish to express our since appreciation for your support for the Fistula Foundation and for our strong partneshipto help humanity. Edna Adan Ismail, Founder of Edna Adan University Hospital.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have just returned from Western Kenya where I was able to witness, first hand, the women who have been repaired at Gynocare through One By One. The Fistula Foundation has enabled One By One to offer many more surgeries this year. Thank you to the Fistula Foundation on behalf of the women and girls being helped to regain their lives.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am president of the Board of One by One at www.fightfistula.org. Fistula Foundation helps fund the fistula repairs we do at our Fistula Care Clinic, Gynocare, in western Kenya. Fistula Foundation pays for the fistula surgery and care, and we identify new fistula patients, provide transportation to Gynocare, and train repaired fistula survivors to teach their communities about fistula and its causes. These Regional Representatives also identify new fistula patients for treatment. We also have fistula educational programs in schools in Kenya. Working with FistulaFoundation has has made it possible to repair over 240 women so far this year and transform their lives. Great cause!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Fistula Foundation has emerged as a dynamic, resourceful, creative funder in obstetric fistula, a condition suffered by the most marginalized and underserved women in the world. As a clinical insider, this organization continues to impress me with their efficient, respectful use of donor funds matched only by their skill at ascertaining and supporting programs and centres that mirror these results for the greatest good of the women served.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I was born to missionary parents in Ethiopia and so have a very soft spot for the Country and her people.
Here, in North America, I am an Obstetrical nurse and so know first hand of all the health care luxuries we take for granted. We have clean beds, sheets, food, medicine, 24 hour Anesthesia
coverage for pain relief, 24 hour Obstetrical care, pads, showers, and a call bell to ask for help.

Compare this to an Ethiopian woman who walks for days, eyes downcast in humiliation , to seek medical help.

I give monthly because I do not want to disappoint her.
Others are doing the hands on work in Ethiopia but I know they need funds and that is my part.
I know many of the places where the clinics are being built around the country, and am impressed with the foresight to staff it with capable Ethiopians. I have seen the original Hospital in Addis.
All in all I am proud to be working with the Fistula Foundation.

Grace Donald (since 2006)

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Addis Ababa Ethiopia. Viewing their movie "A walk to Beautiful".

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Somehow appeal to women more--for help.

April 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Aira Hospital in Ethiopia received financial support from The Fistula Foundation to provide free surgical treatment of women with obstetrical fistulas. The support has had an imediate and profound impact on our fistula service, a tremedous help for the hospital and the suffering women with fistulas.
The Fistula Foundation has a straight forward and no nonsense approach without a lot of red tapes. A God sent NGO!
The Fistula Foundation and its dedicated staff has my most profound respect.

Dr Erik Erichsen
Senior surgeon
Aira Hospital
Ethiopia

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Ethiopia

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing

March 31, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 31, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

The Fistula Foundation is a non profit whose work far exceeds a charge to do good; this is a charge for change on a global stage. When you learn about fistula, you cannot forget it. It haunts you. It pulls at your soul, to take up the charge and help in the fight to heal and regain dignity and to be alive in the world again.

Have you heard the story of Mahabouba Mohammed? In 2003, Nicholas Kristof, wrote about Mahabouba in his New York Times article:”Alone and Ashamed.” Today, I saw Mahabouba’s story through the eyes of Dr. Sr. Priscilla Busigye at the Maternal Deaths & Fistula Multi-Religious Forum:Faith Securing Maternal Health hosted by Religions for Peace and the United Nations Foundation. I listened with tears in my eyes to a child’s story of horror and an unbreakable spirit. I then reached out to the Fistula Foundation to become educated on this dreadful illness and they provided me with expert advice and a charge to help them in their efforts to eradicate this dreadful suffering.

As the executive director of the Salus Foundation, (a nonprofit founded to educate and help poor girls and their families) I learned through the conference and most importantly through the education of the Fistula Foundation about this dreadful suffering. Fistula which reduces the poor to the lowest unimaginable depths, must and should be eradicated.

The Fistula Foundation is world class in their commitment and work to work to eradicate this curable suffering. They must and should be supported by all of us.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Through pictures and testimonials of those who are dedicated to the eradication of Fistula and those who have suffered.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would provide them with all the resources needed to eradicate Fistula in world wide.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Become a Fistula Foundation Circle of Friends Ambassador. Do you feel others should hear more about these women whose lives are devastated by fistula? You can be their voice. Our popular Circle of Friends program is designed for people like you who want to do something more. Bring YOUR circle of friends together and make a difference. It's that simple. Help others in your community learn about our global work and efforts to restore dignity, one woman at a time. And why not have fun while you're at it? Invite your friends, colleagues and neighbors to a fundraising or informational event such as a video screening or evening out featuring stimulating discussion. For more information, please visit our website. Volunteer