Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
248 Reviews
1234.967745
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

We learned about fistulas from watching a documentary we borrowed from the library. It broke our hearts and we wanted to help make a difference in their lives. Our family has been volunteering with The Fistula Foundation and so have some of our daughter's friends. It has been a life-changing experience for all of us! The staff is very kind and compassionate, and the office is a very peaceful place to work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give us more work to do! :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 21, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 21, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Fistula Foundation has helped women in Zambia through the Ministry of Health in partnership with Medecins Sans Frontieres-Spain in Luwingu, a rural district if Northern Zambia. MSF is running a Sexual Reproductive Health and PMTCT project up to June 2013. So funding from the Foundation has helped to repair fistulae for 48 women from March to October 2012. We hope the Founadtion will continue to fund this noble cause to bring dignity and joy to as many women as require this help. From: Winter Musonda, IEC Programmes Officer, MSF-Spain, Luwingu Zambia.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I occasionally do IT support for the Fistula Foundation and envelope stuffing. They are lean and mean team dedicated to saving as many women as possible from the horrors of fistula. They will make the best use of whatever you give them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

I have been a volunteer with the Fistula Foundation for about a year and I am very impressed with the work that they are doing for these young women. I enjoy my time helping out and find that the people that work for the Foundation are very committed to this very worthwile cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I'm a new volunteer to the Fistula Foundation, helping with some of the CEO's upcoming presentations. I'm deeply impressed by the staff's passion for their mission as well as the mission itself. They show great focus and a fierce commitment to improving the lives of women with this condition. As a volunteer those are two things I look for; I want to have a sense that my contributions have a tangible effect both for the nonprofit and the people they serve. I feel confident on both counts, and I look forward to continuing to work with them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I started volunteering for the Fistula Foundation in December 2011 because I wanted to do something positive over my holiday break. I chose the Fistula Foundation because they were close to my home, and because I was familiar with fistulas after seeing the movie A Walk To Beautiful. I later became part-time staff to be able to continue my work with them on a regular basis. I feel that a fistula is such a debilitating yet treatable/preventable injury for so many women worldwide that I want to do whatever I can to reduce the number of women who live with this condition every day. The Fistula Foundation is making it possible for me to make a difference to women around the world, and to help women regain their dignity. The Foundation is run by a small staff who work hard on a lean budget, so that most of the money goes to fistula repair. The work I do in the office is not always glamorous, but I know every time I am there that I have made a difference in the lives of many women. Everyone has been friendly and kind whenever I am there, and I look forward to the days I go in. They make sure everyone feels welcome, and that everyone has a way to volunteer and make a difference. I would certainly recommend volunteering at the Fistula Foundation to anyone.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer at the Fistula Foundation since 2010. While the tasks I help out with aren't earth-shattering themselves, I am so pleased to contribute to the organization's mission and always look forward to working with the extremely dedicated and enthusiastic staff at the Fistula Foundation. Though they are only a small group, they manage to create an incredible amount of support for some of the most marginalized women in the world. Their commitment to women's dignity in the face of fistula is inspiring, and I happily encourage others who support this cause to join them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 20, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 20, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I work in northern Tanzania performing obstetric fistula surgery over several different hospital sites. Without a car this was proving to be very difficult indeed.
After approaching The Fistula Foundation and outlying the need, it was granted in a seamless and timely fashion. I can now reach
more patients with greater ease and reliability.
Dr Andrew Browning
Director
Selian Fistula Project
Arusha
Tanzania.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

By receiving the grant to buy a car quickly after making the application

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

March 28, 2011

more

March 28, 2011

I read an article in the paper about the Fistula Foundation and was bothered by the lack of medical treatment for many woman. I was upset for several days when I would think of the isolation and the loneliness these woman must feel. I also thought how lucky I have have been living in the United States with great health care. Having health care options when delivering my children as well as great after care is something I took for granted for myself and had never considered it would be different for woman around the world. As a woman I feel I must contribute to other woman in our world that are less fortunate than I.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have read about the results of this organization, but have been lucky that I live in a country that provides great woman's health care

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change anything.

March 28, 2011

more

March 28, 2011

Since I have been back to work, my volunteer time has been cut back, but that doesn’t mean that my concern regarding this issue has declined.

It has always been a point of pride that I was able to volunteer for such a stellar entity addressing a fundamental concern for women. The
opportunities to help -- whether with mailings, analyzing conference data, or gift fulfillment-- each was a welcome option to contribute.

Knowing the stringent adherence to donor wishes, and having participated in fulfilling donor desires regarding gift fulfillment, it has always been clear to me that the Fistula Foundation treats donor requirements for donations with integrity. There also is never any issue as to where the funds are going….they are going to the grantees in a timely fashion.

So thanks for the opportunity to contribute, whether time, talent, or funds, to an entity that deploys those contributions responsibly.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As a volunteer, fulfilling donor gifts, and processing mailings; also have provided feedback when asked by Exec Director for various campaign ideas.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Would increase campaigns so that there is one at least every quarter.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Become a Fistula Foundation Circle of Friends Ambassador. Do you feel others should hear more about these women whose lives are devastated by fistula? You can be their voice. Our popular Circle of Friends program is designed for people like you who want to do something more. Bring YOUR circle of friends together and make a difference. It's that simple. Help others in your community learn about our global work and efforts to restore dignity, one woman at a time. And why not have fun while you're at it? Invite your friends, colleagues and neighbors to a fundraising or informational event such as a video screening or evening out featuring stimulating discussion. For more information, please visit our website. Volunteer