Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
288 Reviews
1234.951395
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 18, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 21, 2012

I worked as a Peace Corps volunteer in Somaliland in the 1960's and went back some years ago on my retirement. I have been working with a group of Somali doctors who set up a fistula hospital there. ... more

October 18, 2014

Anfac was a 16 year old Somali girl in a refugee camp on the Kenyan border with Somalia. She was raped by 2 soldiers, 2 soldiers who then killed her brother who was trying to rescue her. Anfac ended up as a broken soul with an obstetric fistula. Through funding from The Fistula Foundation to the National Borama Fistula Hospital in Somaliland, Anfac was found, diagnosed, transported with her mother the 700 miles to the hospital, repaired. Kate and I met her there. Anfac was kept on at the hospital which underwrote her going to school, where she quickly learned English, computer skills, on a course to become a nurse while working at the hospital. This hospital provides free fistula repair and recovery facilities to over 450 patients per year. The Fistula Foundation has provided equipment, a bus to pick up patients, funding for over 50% of the operating costs of the hospital (the remainder of which is largely funded by the doctors themselves), and a wonderful, talented obstetric fistula surgeon from New York University (who operates, teaches residents, nurses and medical students) and comes twice a year. The Fistula Foundation has been doing this consistently for over 5 years. Fistula cases within 50 miles of the hospital have been reduced markedly and are dealt with on a current basis. The hospital is now reaching out to provide obstetric fistula education to the people throughout the Somali-speaking areas of the Horn of Africa and to extend their care throughout the region.

Why and How: Dedicated doctors, Kate Grant and her wonderful team at The Fistula Foundation

June 21, 2012

I worked as a Peace Corps volunteer in Somaliland in the 1960's and went back some years ago on my retirement. I have been working with a group of Somali doctors who set up a fistula hospital there. It is free, and set up solely to help repair the destroyed birth canals of the thousands of women in the Somali region who suffer from fistulas because of no pre-natal care, inadequate trained birth assistants, and no post-natal care. These women are ostracized from society. I helped the National Borama (Somaliland) Fistula Hospital (NBFH) apply to The Fistula Foundation for assistance. The Fistula Foundation welcomed our request, understood the fistula problems in this region of Africa, helped us with a grant application, were very clear and specific with their suggestions and timely with their responses. As a consequence The Fistula Foundation helped NBFH pay for operating equipment, doctors, patient care and operating expenses. This increased the number of patients who could be treated. There were about 400 patients treated in 2011 and, with the continuing support of The Fistula Foundation, the plan is to increase patients treated to about 500 in 2012. Needless to say - we think The Fistula Foundation is wonderful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I was touched by reading an editorial by Nicholas Kristoff in the New York Times many years ago and told many women in my office about the great work of Dr. Hamlin. I have donated to the Fistula Foundation many times since that date and continue to tout the work of her great organization as an example of helping women regain their dignity and contribute to society.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 28, 2013

I remember when I learned about Obstetric Fistula and what it can do to women. After hearing the horrible facts, I realized that I had to do something to help these women suffering. I had seen a film ... more

August 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Fistula Foundation helps women with obstetric fistula overcome their condition. Fistula causes women to be shunned from their community and this organization gives them their lives back. You can sign up to get emails from the foundation that tell you stories about women with the condition, ways you can help, and many other things.If you have the opportunity to help The Fistula Foundation, take it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I remember when I learned about Obstetric Fistula and what it can do to women. After hearing the horrible facts, I realized that I had to do something to help these women suffering. I had seen a film about this condition, called, A Walk To Beautiful. I decided to look up who had made this film to find out who I could help. Now, I am connected with The Fistula Foundation and hope to raise more money soon. The experience I have had with this group is wonderful. They have answered all of my questions, and given me numerous ideas to support the affected women. I can not imagine a better way to help a cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

We have donated time and money over the years to help people and animals, but no other donation even comes close to giving us the feeling that were truly making a change in the world as the ones we have made to the Fistula foundation..When you take a moment and really think of the pain and endless suffering these young women endure, it is heart breaking..For the price of a weekend in the city, you can give a woman her life back, end her misery and she can become mentor to other women..I often wear the beautiful scarf that I received from Fistula foundation, when people ask about the meaning on the scarf logo, I am happy to tell them about this foundation and their hard work, and what a wonderful outcome it would be if they would donate as we have...Elizabeth and Donald Kaneshige

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to let more people know just how awful the fate of these women will be if left untreated...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 26, 2013

more

October 26, 2013

I think the first time we heard of the Fistula Hospital was on the Oprah show. My wife and I have been going to Ethiopia as missionaries/volunteers since 2002. We thought we would check it out. Wow were we impressed. The facility was well maintained and the care provided was excellent. We have been allowed to tour the hospital and interact with the patients. We were treated with respect and I had the feeling that every person who came to the hospital was treated as an equal. It didn't matter weather you were a patient or Oprah. The staff is professional and the whole place is focused on helping the patient, many who are still young girls who should never have gone through what they have. The vision to help them and give them a second chance at life is a sacrifice few people attain to. Supporting this cause is not a waste.
There is nothing fancy for Dr. Hamlin to live in and nothing is wasted. When we last met her in 2012 she was still operating at 87.
I was impressed that what was a bare hillside when she arrived had been transformed into a small paradise, and Dr. Hamlin knew the biological name of almost every plant, much which was planted with her own hands.
There is a joy in helping the helpless, especially those, who through no fault of their own, are cast aside by society. There is no way to put a price on what Hamlin Fistula Hospitals has done for these precious girls, and no praise high enough to those who labour selflessly.
Sincerely, Jack Verburg, Canada.


Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NONE..it is first class....

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

since the day Oprah had the MD speak about the Fistula foundation, I've been given donations every year because all women deserve to be treated with respect and dignity and I'm sure they receive it with the help of all the people involved in the organization. thanks for sending pictures of women who were able to turn their life around. Charya

More feedback...

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

PBS documentary introduced me to the incredible doctors and staff helping to transform the lives of women. I watch my bank account each month for the $37.50 going to Fistula and relish in knowing I will have helped save one life by the end of each year. I am a school teacher who wants to publish children's books and then donate 80% of what I make to Fistula. That would be a dream come true. I can only imagine the number of lives in a year then! I was also warmed by having talked to someone personally at Fistula when I had called with a question. They are a small group achieving monumental things. I am honored to be a part of that!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make a way for donators to sponsor an actual individual and be able to correspond if possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

In high school, I created my own volunteer project to help this organization after watching the DVD 'A Walk to Beautiful.' I was absolutely struck by the conditions that women with fistula are subjected to, and I wanted to help out! I contacted the Fistula Foundation and received a packet filled with helpful tips & information for becoming a Circle of Friends point person. A little over a year later, God blessed the project and my supporters & I were able to donate the cost of two fistula surgeries! I am very happy with this organization; I still receive newsletters, photos, and hand-signed notes from CEO Kate Grant & the rest of her team telling me how important my work was and continued support is. I have also checked out the organization's tax & income information, and everything looks to be as aboveboard & efficient as possible. Thank you for doing what you do, and doing it so well!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing comes to mind!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I myself am a Pre-Med student, and my Goal is to become an Urogynocologist to help cure women who are suffering from Obstetric Fistula. I became a volunteer to help this organization and so far I am doing good at spreading the words about Fistula at my current University. The NGO is amazing and I am really glad they could help those women. I cannot stress how much glad I am that such organization exists. I will do anything I can to help them achieve their Goals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

when I saw "A walk to beautiful" on PBS in 2008 I knew that if I helped women repair these devastated conditions, in Ethiopia, we could get to the Congo. Not only this amazing amazing ORGANIZATION got to the Congo they are now all over the map helping women, now in 20 countries helping Hospitals, other heath organization, bring so needed help to cure a devastating Fistula condition, and get women back with their families, communities and the work force to better their life their community and their family!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Become a Fistula Foundation Circle of Friends Ambassador. Do you feel others should hear more about these women whose lives are devastated by fistula? You can be their voice. Our popular Circle of Friends program is designed for people like you who want to do something more. Bring YOUR circle of friends together and make a difference. It's that simple. Help others in your community learn about our global work and efforts to restore dignity, one woman at a time. And why not have fun while you're at it? Invite your friends, colleagues and neighbors to a fundraising or informational event such as a video screening or evening out featuring stimulating discussion. For more information, please visit our website. Volunteer