Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
288 Reviews
1234.951395
Write A Review
October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

I don't remember where/when I first learned that there as such a thing as a "fistula" & how it
condemned women to a life of misery through no fault of their own. Some time later, after reading
Nicholas Kristoff's column, I found that there was some way I could help & began to
donate
to the Fistula Foundation. I look forward to their newsletters to read about what they have
accomplished & hope that someday they'll be able to expand their operation to give life & dignity back
to many more women suffering from fistula. I feel good knowing I'm playing a very tiny part.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No suggestions; it does an amazingly fine job now.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

Became a long time donor after watching the PBS documentary "A Walk to Beautiful". All women should be able to have a sense of dignity and I feel this organization provides that.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The suffering endured by women with fistula brings tears to my eyes; even more so knowing their suffering is completely fixable and preventable. They suffer alone, ostracized from their community, having lost their baby, their value as a wife, and control over their own bodies. Even worse, in some cases the women have suffered sexual violence. I cannot think of a better cause than to support the Fistula Foundation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None. The Fistula Foundation makes it easy for donors to support the charity in a way they are best able. The personal support of the foundation staff and ease of fundraising are huge assets to the foundation. There are other charities that are so inflexible and impersonal in their means of support and fundraising that I do not wish to support them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

I first donated to the Fistula Foundation after seeing an interview with Catherine Hamlin. I was persuaded when I learned that Dr. Hamlin's patients call her Mother, that they are given a new dress and bus fare home when they are recovered from the surgery, and that they are encouraged to get married again if they have been abandoned. I like the fact that the FF is highly rated on Charity Navigator and BBB for efficient use of funds and that, unlike some other charities, I am not bombarded with requests for more money after I have already made a donation. I participate in the Love-a-Sister program at Christmas and on my birthday and will continue as long as I can afford to do so. The FF does great work!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

I didn't even know what a fistula was, until I read an ad about The Fistula Foundation. I was horrified to learn that women, through no fault of their own, had to lead isolated, physically and emotionally, lives, unable to raise their children --- all because they couldn't afford an operation to correct a problem that rarely happens in developed countries. I am humbled and pleased to contribute to this highly efficient, caring, and committed organization. It is not often that you can donate $450 that will change a woman's life! This is my number one charity, and I am thrilled to be a part of such a worthwhile endeavor.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage more people to contribute, so more women could be served.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

I first heard about the fistula foundation via a book that talked about how little money some charities actually contributed to their apparent causes, and how the fistula foundation was so amazingly good in comparison. As a result I looked at the web site of the foundation and was so impressed with what they were doing for women in need, that I was grateful to be able to make a monthly donation. They are really effective rather than being all talk and no action.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

encourage it to promote even further how effective they are, in comparison to some other more well known NGO's.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

These women with fistula tear my heart out. So ostracized and shamed for something that is not their fault. See "Walk to Beautiful". Although we would hope that this problem could be eradicated some day just by better maternity care and better treatment of women, nevertheless in the meanwhile I cannot think of any cause so worthy. Thank God this foundation is reaching out to these women in such need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase its outreach somehow.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

This organization has provided an outlet for me to participate in changing the lives of women I will never meet living in places I will never see. But by inviting me to be part of "Love a Sister" which provides obstetric surgeries to needy women around the world, I have been enriched and my vision broadened. The response of staff to my emails, calls, and my visit to Foundation offices have been warmly and humanely. personally addressed. My husband and I contribute to several charities that deal with global poverty, and this charity ranks among our most cherished. We hope to always have a relationship with the Fistula Foundation.

I especially appreciate that there are few full-time staff involved and that most of my contribution is being funneled to direct services to the women who need them through partnerships with hospitals and clinics serving women with obstetric fistula.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

This is a wonderful charity, doing work that isn't popular, or high profile....but incredibly powerful and life changing for women throughout the world. It is our pleasure to support The Fistula Foundation and we look forward to seeing the continued positive results from their hard work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I have been a donor for several years to this most worthy foundation. I know without a doubt that I am helping change women's lives when I contribute. This organization is highly rated and I know that my dollars are helping unfortunate women, not going to unnecessary administration costs. The handwritten thank you notes I receive for each donation are and added bonus!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them even more money, if I could.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Become a Fistula Foundation Circle of Friends Ambassador. Do you feel others should hear more about these women whose lives are devastated by fistula? You can be their voice. Our popular Circle of Friends program is designed for people like you who want to do something more. Bring YOUR circle of friends together and make a difference. It's that simple. Help others in your community learn about our global work and efforts to restore dignity, one woman at a time. And why not have fun while you're at it? Invite your friends, colleagues and neighbors to a fundraising or informational event such as a video screening or evening out featuring stimulating discussion. For more information, please visit our website. Volunteer