Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
248 Reviews
1234.967745
| 1 ... 5 6 7...25 |
Write A Review
October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I learned about this organization on television. The more I heard the more concerned I became. How dreadful it was for these woman to have to live under those conditions. I could not imagine how difficult every day life was for them. The more I heard and saw the more my heart went out to them. What if this was happening to a family member and she had no where to go for help? That is when I decided I had to send a donation to this wonderful organization. Even though times are financially hard I try to send several donations every year. I told my best friend about this and she immediately started sending donations. We often discuss how lucky we are that we live where we do.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I learned about the Fistula Foundation thru a column written by Nicholas Kristoff of The New York Times. Immediately signed up to be a monthly donor. So many nonprofits have lofty goals but it is not so easy to locate one like this that makes an immediate and lasting impact on people's lives. I am quite sure that I will support the Fistula Foundation for many years to come.
Susan K.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

In 2009, I happened to learn about the appalling life-long consequences of untreated obstetric fistula among poor women in developing countries. I also learned that the cost of treatment is quite low and that treatment enables these women to resume normal lives. The Fistula Foundation has been a leader in providing this treatment around the globe and has partnered with other organizations to further expand its reach. Moreover, it has consistently received very high ratings from Charity Navigator as an efficient, well-run organization. As a consequence, I have made ongoing monthly donations for the past 4 1/2 years, I intend to continue doing so for the foreseeable future, and I have encouraged many friends to join me.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

probably not unlike other thoughtful women, I can get struck by compassion fatigue and guilt.
When I found I could change one woman's life by putting a large percentage of my charity budget in one place, I did it. Now I do it each year and know both she and I feel better. That card that says
a sister has been made whole again means a lot.

The organization does NOT harass me with weekly requests as many do. It also does Not use the manipulative mailing of cards or stickers that are a "gift" accompanied by fund raising letter. This tells me about the organization and is appreciated.

I find myself a bit envious of two writers who describe going to the hospital in Addis Abba. What a privilege.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I have been donating for several years and urge my friends to do so as well. As far as I can tell this organization does important and wonderful work to help women heal and restore their dignity for a relatively small price.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I was a Community Health Agent Peace Corps volunteer in Niger, West Africa and saw first hand how some women and girls are affected by fistulas. I whole heartedly support the fistula foundation.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

In 2004 I went with a small group from my husband's Rotary Club to give polio drops to children in Ethiopia. One of our members had heard of the fistula hospital in Addis Ababa and brought some equipment to take there from our group. On our visit we heard a lecture about the amount of suffering fistulas caused so many particularly very young wives in the country and had a tour of the hospital on one of the most memorable mornings of my life. I cannot express how impressed I was with the joy the patients and the attendants showed, with the cleanliness of the hospital and the beauty of the grounds, all for the wellbeing of the patients. We were told how many young girls with fisulas had committed suicide after being rejected by their husbands and families. This hospital and those formed over Africa and some of Asia after our visit has enabled so many young women to reclaim their lives. I have never witnessed the dedication I saw at that hospital. Concern, caring and love for these women was evident everywhere we looked. I have been a regular donor even since my visit for I want to have a small part in this great endeavor. Mary Anderson Hill

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any changes to the organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

Last year my daughter hosted a brunch and we were each invited to contribute the amount of money we would have spent on brunch to a non-profit organization. As a group, we decided to donate our "brunch money" to the Fistula Foundation. It was staggering to learn that our money was enough to provide surgery for a young woman. I am now a monthly contributor to the Fistula Foundation and am honored to help provide medical care for women.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They are doing heroic work, with limited overhead costs.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

since the day Oprah had the MD speak about the Fistula foundation, I've been given donations every year because all women deserve to be treated with respect and dignity and I'm sure they receive it with the help of all the people involved in the organization. thanks for sending pictures of women who were able to turn their life around. Charya

More feedback...

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

We had the privilege of visiting the Hamlin Fistula Hospital in Addis Ababa Ethiopia several years ago and were impressed by the peace, serenity, and the joy of the women who's lives were being changed for a pittance. It was an island of quiet calm in the chaos of Addis Ababa. How often can you change a women's life for $450? And be assured that your money is being spent responsibly? This is a charity that deserves praise and support.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Become a Fistula Foundation Circle of Friends Ambassador. Do you feel others should hear more about these women whose lives are devastated by fistula? You can be their voice. Our popular Circle of Friends program is designed for people like you who want to do something more. Bring YOUR circle of friends together and make a difference. It's that simple. Help others in your community learn about our global work and efforts to restore dignity, one woman at a time. And why not have fun while you're at it? Invite your friends, colleagues and neighbors to a fundraising or informational event such as a video screening or evening out featuring stimulating discussion. For more information, please visit our website. Volunteer