Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
249 Reviews
1234.967875
| 1 ... 4 5 6...25 |
Write A Review
October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I've become a donor after a birth of my first child which was comfortable and painless. I realize it is not a reality for many women around the world and I am happy to support the organization that champions this important idea.

The topic of fistula is definitely hard to highlight,
especially in contrast to more "feel good" type of causes; still, the organization does a great job focusing on the mission without turning the benefactors into faceless powerless victim cases. At the same time, it never falls into the 'poverty p0rn' trap.

I also like the organization does not affect the local dynamics/politics too much - I detest initiatives that are too disruptive/disincentive to the local community.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 22, 2012

My husband shared Nick Kristol's New York Times article about the Fistula Foundation with me some years ago, and we have been enthusiastic supporters ever since. It's a hard subject to learn about, ... more

October 24, 2013

My husband and I have contributed to the Fistula Foundation for many years and it is one of the organizations that I admire and promote the most. I've been especially thrilled to see how their work is spreading beyond their original mission field.

I hold The Fistula Foundation up as a
great example of how a well organized non-profit can make nearly miraculous (for the women served) transformations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More social media outreach.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My husband shared Nick Kristol's New York Times article about the Fistula Foundation with me some years ago, and we have been enthusiastic supporters ever since. It's a hard subject to learn about, but nothing compared to what living it must be. It makes me HAPPY to be able to help!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I recently became aware of the problem through a movie and about solution provided by The Fistula Foundation.
As a male, I am happy to contribute to lives of women in this way.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

They do very important work and need all the support they can get. We need more resources and attention on this issue given its severe impact on the women it affects. This foundation efficiently channels resources in this direction, and transforms the lives of these women, restores their dignity. They keep donors well informed but don't solicit funds aggressively. And they never use 'guilt marketing' which I appreciate as a donor.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make them bigger

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I learned about the Fistula Foundation many years ago and was appalled when I read the stories of how these innocent girls and women were ostracized by their community for what they were FORCED to endure through no fault of their own. To force a young girl to marry and become pregnant when her body is still developing and is not capable of carrying a child is totally barbaric; then to punish her mercilessly when the delivery is unsuccessful and allow her health to degrade to such a degree is beyond my comprehension.

I realize this is a cultural situation in these societies, but I would call it more a patriarchal tenet that I hope and pray will change as more attention is being given to girls/women worldwide and their grossly unfair treatment in so many ways.

I don't read much of Dr. Catherine Hamlin who was the one that first came to my attention when learning of fistula and her remarkable efforts to establish centers of aid for these patients. I do know that I am thrilled at the steady and widely growing progress this organization has gained through the years I have been associated with it. It is also very, very reassuring that this non-profit ranks so highly on the scale of those that can be trusted to use the funds donated for the right purpose!

Carolyn Marie Mason
Carolynmarie.mason@gmail.com

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I learned about the Fistula Foundation when I saw the film "Half the Sky" on PBS. I was so inspired and touched by what amazing things the organization was doing that I HAD to find a way to support these efforts. I became a monthly donor, and I am so glad that there are reputable groups like the Fistula Foundation around to truly make a difference in the world. They are always excellent communicators and extremely transparent with all of there activities. Keep up the great work!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing - it's extremely well-run and organized.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I learned about the Fistula Foundation when I read the article "A fate worse than death for scores of African women" By Morgan Winsor, CNN. I was so touched by what these women were going through that I HAD to find a way to help. I became a monthly donor, and I am so glad that there are reputable groups like the Fistula Foundation around to truly make a difference in the world.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

Our faith-based group of Muslim and Christian women learned about the Fistula Foundation through a member who has visited one of their sites in Africa. We have donated for several years and have been very impressed with the work you do. Your informational mailings have been very inspiring. Keep up the good work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I am a historian of the ancient and medieval European worlds and know about how fistula tainted the lives of women before surgery was possible. About 1900, when it became possible, it saved so many lives and psyches. I sought out a place to give to support this surgery and have been a donor for a long time. I was delighted when Nicholas Kristoff mentioned the Fistula Foundation in a column and it got more attention. Thank goodness for him, and for all the Foundation does, and for the donors and volunteers who help.
Pangur

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I read the book Half the Sky and knew I wanted to help women through the Fistula Foundation. It is unthinkable that this happens, but there is hope through this organization. They give women their dignity and life back through a simple procedure. I would encourage any one to support the Fistula Foundation.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Become a Fistula Foundation Circle of Friends Ambassador. Do you feel others should hear more about these women whose lives are devastated by fistula? You can be their voice. Our popular Circle of Friends program is designed for people like you who want to do something more. Bring YOUR circle of friends together and make a difference. It's that simple. Help others in your community learn about our global work and efforts to restore dignity, one woman at a time. And why not have fun while you're at it? Invite your friends, colleagues and neighbors to a fundraising or informational event such as a video screening or evening out featuring stimulating discussion. For more information, please visit our website. Volunteer