Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
288 Reviews
1234.951395
Write A Review
October 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been supporting the Fistula Foundation almost from its inception. I am overjoyed watching the program grow from helping a few, to helping so many. The foundation isn't just applying bandaids, it is totally transforming individual lives. What could be better?
October 14, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 31, 2013

I first learned about the Fistula Foundation from a Nicholas Kristof column in the New York Times. I was moved by the opportunity to help other women in such a profound way and signed up to give mont... more

October 14, 2014

I've been donating to the Love a Sister program ever since reading the Nicholas Kristof column about the Fistula Foundation in the NY Times several years ago. I still tear up every time i receive a certificate telling me I have completed my donation and changed a woman's life. To think I can make such a difference for one person and the Fistula Foundation makes it possible. I started giving in honor of my mother, who modeled a powerful belief in human dignity, and since her passing, give in her memory each year. FF is clearly diligent with my money -- the level of contact with me as a donor is typically more about sharing important news, which only makes me want to give all the more. Bravo to an exceptional organization doing extraordinary work in the world!
October 31, 2013

I first learned about the Fistula Foundation from a Nicholas Kristof column in the New York Times. I was moved by the opportunity to help other women in such a profound way and signed up to give monthly through the Love-a-Sister program to fund one woman's fistula repair. I am now completing my fourth Love-a-Sister donation and plan to continue with a fifth. I appreciate that the foundation does not send unnecessary and costly printed appeals and stays in touch on its work through occasional emails. And I am always moved to tears when I receive confirmation that I have supported one woman's life-changing operation. As a way to make a difference in the world, I highly recommend giving to the Fistula Foundation.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 23, 2013

I never knew about fistula issues and how devastating it can be for a new mother until I stumbled upon this extremely well run organization. A mom is literally ostracized and sent to live a lonely li... more

October 14, 2014

Learned about this great organization through Oprah and I was horrified at what this condition does to a woman, ostracizing her from her community and forcing her to live alone for all her days. This organization LITERALLY gives women their lives back with a relatively simple inexpensive operation. In the developed world we can avoid obstetric fistula with a C-section. These women do not have such choices. Great organization doing a world of good.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NONE

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 23, 2013

I never knew about fistula issues and how devastating it can be for a new mother until I stumbled upon this extremely well run organization. A mom is literally ostracized and sent to live a lonely life away from her family and village simply because of a completely treatable and reversible "side effect" to giving birth. By enabling these mothers to have these surgeries we are literally giving them their life back. It's so simple and so gratifying to know that I have helped another woman in this way.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NONE!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

I learned about the Fistula Foundation on Oprah which is odd because I hardly ever watch that show. I must've been home sick that day. I had never heard of obstetric fistula and was horrified not only by the physical aspect of it, but by the treatment of women suffering from it.

The beauty
of this foundation is you know exactly how many women your donation is helping. I've been sending checks for about five years and am so pleased to see how the foundation has grown. There isn't any reason all women suffering from fistula cannot be helped. It's just a matter of money and time.
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

Learned about the organization via Nick Kristoff and I have been contributing regularly ever since.

I've been doing a birthday fundraiser on my birthday every year. I ask people to contribute and I match their contributions.

What I say to people is this: your contribution, no
matter how small, makes a REAL DIFFERENCE here. A $5 donation measures on the scale in the effort to totally change a woman's life. The organization is extremely efficient -- the money goes to service -- not overhead. The Foundation isn't bankrolled by any of the huge foundations like Ford or Gates -- so what we do really matters. Go ahead, start small. Keep in touch and keep supporting their good work.

Ridge (in New Joisey)
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

After reading "The Hospital by the River" by Dr. Catherine Hamlin in 2004 I have been a donor and supporter of the Fistula Foundation. I share with other women the plight of these young girls forced into marriage at too young an age or end up pregnant due to a rape. Sharing with others what happens when they can not deliver their baby has appalled and shocked most everyone that I have told. We don't hear about fistula's here in the USA and it is not in the news. It continues to happen to too many girls and education is the only way to help bring this around to the public and the media. The Fistula Foundation is doing an excellent job is getting this horrible tragedy out to the public and helping change the lives of thousands of girls through surgery. If you have not read Dr. Hamlin's book...READ IT!!! You can not remain silent after that!
October 7, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 6, 2012

I am a donor to the Fistula Foundation because its mission is to help women who have been ravaged by rape, forced marriages or preteen marriages which result in outrage to their bodies by men who don'... more

October 7, 2014

The Fistula Foundation funds reconstructive surgery for some of the most down-trodden women in the world. Often excluded from their homes, families and villages because they were raped or forced into early marriages, bearing children when their bodies are not ready for this, their birth canals are ripped apart when the rape occurs or the child is born and they become incontinent and worse. They are in pain, face ostracism, etc.

Doctors and other medical workers are trained by the Fistula Foundation to do surgery which has been needed in the USA since the Spanish Civil War. TFF has now set up in countries such as Ethiopia, Rwanda, Afghanistan ... places where abject poverty and lack of education affect women disproportionately.

The clinics that have been set up become centers for education and retraining for the women and their children who stay and heal, learn and thrive, become trained and become active members of society instead of rejected miserable people who die from starvation or worse.

I understand that for $450 you can not only save the life of a woman but put her back on her feet with dignity and success. Seems a small price to pay.
June 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a donor to the Fistula Foundation because its mission is to help women who have been ravaged by rape, forced marriages or preteen marriages which result in outrage to their bodies by men who don't care. Women are chattel and Fistula Foundation returns these seriously injured women to sustainable, valuable and valued positions in a society which had shunned them or killed them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

I saw a documentary about the women who were served through the foundation, and felt a desire to learn more about the work being done. Their service to the women goes above and beyond the medical treatment provided, as a true example of every person deserving dignity.
October 3, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 23, 2013

My daughter has her Master Degree in Human Rights. Last year she decided to create a website centered around Mother's Day. Her premise was the enormous amount of money that Americans spent on flower... more

October 3, 2014

The Fistula Foundation is one of those rare charities that funnels virtually every penny donated toward the goal of the charity. Almost nothing goes toward the "administrative" expenses that can so often suck the efficiency of a charity. This little charity has managed to become a behemoth in its niche. They offer hope to the women of developing countries who suffer the stigma of obstetric fistula and are ostracized by their community to the point that they must live alone with their misery. A mere $450 can change the life of a woman who has been consigned to this life long sentence. The Fistula Foundation not only performs the surgeries but also teaches the area physicians the technique so that when they must leave they have left in place persons who can carry on the needed aid. When I donate money it gives me great satisfaction to know that it works so efficiently and that it gives a woman somewhere back her dignity. What greater gift can there be sister-to-sister?
October 23, 2013

My daughter has her Master Degree in Human Rights. Last year she decided to create a website centered around Mother's Day. Her premise was the enormous amount of money that Americans spent on flowers and candy on this one day when if we could focus that effort on Mothers who need our help we could truly make an enormous difference. She chose five lower profile charities that she knew were renowned for their transparency in administration costs and their effectiveness in the field. The Fistula Foundation was one of her top choices for the amazing job they do in changing lives for very little money. I was overwhelmed by the outstanding job they have managed to do while keeping administrative costs to a bare minimum. This is the hallmark of what all good charities should be. All funds given should hopefully go toward the stated good and not to the day to day. The Fistula Foundation is a shining star of efficiency and good work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't imagine what needs to change. That is exactly why The Fistula Foundation is such a miracle.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 28, 2013

I remember when I learned about Obstetric Fistula and what it can do to women. After hearing the horrible facts, I realized that I had to do something to help these women suffering. I had seen a film ... more

August 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Fistula Foundation helps women with obstetric fistula overcome their condition. Fistula causes women to be shunned from their community and this organization gives them their lives back. You can sign up to get emails from the foundation that tell you stories about women with the condition, ways you can help, and many other things.If you have the opportunity to help The Fistula Foundation, take it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I remember when I learned about Obstetric Fistula and what it can do to women. After hearing the horrible facts, I realized that I had to do something to help these women suffering. I had seen a film about this condition, called, A Walk To Beautiful. I decided to look up who had made this film to find out who I could help. Now, I am connected with The Fistula Foundation and hope to raise more money soon. The experience I have had with this group is wonderful. They have answered all of my questions, and given me numerous ideas to support the affected women. I can not imagine a better way to help a cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Become a Fistula Foundation Circle of Friends Ambassador. Do you feel others should hear more about these women whose lives are devastated by fistula? You can be their voice. Our popular Circle of Friends program is designed for people like you who want to do something more. Bring YOUR circle of friends together and make a difference. It's that simple. Help others in your community learn about our global work and efforts to restore dignity, one woman at a time. And why not have fun while you're at it? Invite your friends, colleagues and neighbors to a fundraising or informational event such as a video screening or evening out featuring stimulating discussion. For more information, please visit our website. Volunteer