Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
288 Reviews
1234.951395
Write A Review
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

I became a direct withdrawal monthly donor some years ago. I supported the care for one woman each year making me a "sister." I am so proud of that. Two years ago I increased my donation to help two women per year. A new dress and a new life. I so wholeheartedly support this organization that it is hard to express. All you have to do is imagine that you are one of these women. This organization is a life changer. Praise and thanks for your remarkable work.
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

I learnt about the problem of fistulas and the devastating effects it has , by reading "The Hospital by the River" by Dr catherine Hamlin.
The stories of these poor women really affected me , and I looked for ways to help.
The Fistula Foundation helps women in measurable , dramatic
ways.
They give the women and girls their lives back. Truly from despair to dignity!
Unlike some problems, e.g. poverty, I believe that supporting this charity will help individual women and I am happy to help as much as I can.
Plus I just love that the majority of the money goes to help , is not used up in administrative costs and that it is a highly respected charity that gets the work done.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing I know of, wish more people would support them though

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

It was during the launch of Fistula Foundation and Astellas partnership in Nairobi that I noted the amazing work done by the foundation to help hundreds of women access appropriate treatment for fistula. The inspiring and dedicated individuals like Dr. Mabeya and Kate Grant who have put smiles back to thousands of women who had been devastated by obstetric fistula. Keep up the good work and we the advocates of the end fistula campaign shall always be available to offer whatever support needed from us.
October 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 23, 2013

The Fistula Foundation is a dynamic organization with a small staff that does an amazing job educating the world about the health needs of women impacted by complications of childbirth or lack of pren... more

October 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

In the relatively short time that The Fistula Foundation has existed, this group of dedicated humanitarians has already efficiently used the funds they raise to cure women around the world of fistula and enable the affected families to become cohesive units. Educating others who are not aware of how damaging fistula is to the life of a woman and her family has been another service of this organization. Using items crafted by local artists is an interesting promotion used in their donation process. All donations are individually acknowledged and the Foundation faithfully keeps donors updated on how the money is used and appreciated by those who receive it. Please give what you can to make a family strong again.
October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Fistula Foundation is a dynamic organization with a small staff that does an amazing job educating the world about the health needs of women impacted by complications of childbirth or lack of prenatal care. The effect of the money they raise helps women overcome challenges from childbirth and resume normal, productive lives. Reaching out to so many different areas of the world, the Fistula Foundation is to be commended for their dedication to providing care to countless women who have been forgotten and neglected by their own communities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I do not have any changes to suggest. The organization is well run and effective.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 28, 2013

I watched the documentary A Walk to Beautiful, and instantly I logged on to the website to donate. These women need our help and this organization is excellent! So many lives saved, truly thankful for... more

October 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Fistula Foundation is one of those rare organizations that puts the bulk of the money to actual use. They help so many women suffering from such an unpleasant and downlooked-upon condition, that the society they live in actually cause! They not only help women who already have the condition, but they also educate villages in how they can prevent this! I love Fistula Foundation.
October 28, 2013

I watched the documentary A Walk to Beautiful, and instantly I logged on to the website to donate. These women need our help and this organization is excellent! So many lives saved, truly thankful for The Fistula Foundation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None whatsoever

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

Compassion in the best sense of humanity. The Fistula Foundation demonstrates the better angels of our nature.
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

I learned about the Fistula Foundation after I had a Total Abdominal Hysterectomy. Due to a surgicail error, I developed a vesicovaginal fistula. I was blessed to have an extremely supportive spouse/family and friends and a skillful doctor who reparied the fistula. It was during my ordeal that I about the difficulties and treatment endured by women, outside of the United States, who suffer from fistulas. I read about the Fistula Foundation and knew that it was important to support its extremely worthwhile endeavor.
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

I first learned about Fistula Foundation through a documentary and was very moved by it . It had a big impact on me both as a mother who had two safe birth experiences and as a nurse . I have been fortunate enough for the past 5 years to gift one surgery yearly for a woman who suffers from this complication . Hopefully in the future I will be able to increase this to two surgeries per year. But, regardless of one's income and ability to give, Even $10 would be a show of support and appreciated !! This is a great organization working with a population that is so disenfranchised by their own societies and families. Fistula Foundation gives them the freedom to live their lives again and even more importantly provide training so maybe the need for surgeries will decrease in the future. I hope that in the future that I might be able to support Fistula Foundation as a volunteer too in some capacity ! Louis C.K. is right on when he endorsed them !!!
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

I also learned about The Fistula Foundation from Nicholas Kristof and have been very pleased with the important work that the program is doing for at-risk women. Not only is the Foundation effective, but it is a very efficient organization with tight financial controls. We have given contributions to the Foundation as holiday gifts to our children, in addition to contributing on a regular basis.
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

I learned about this organization from information I received in the mail as well as from a piece by Nicholas Kristof. I was stunned about how devastating this condition is at many level for women in impoverished and uneducated areas. I was impressed by the dedication of the doctors who repair the fistula and their assistants, For such a small sum of money a woman's life is turned around to a degree that is immeasurable. I have been happy to donate to this great organization for many years and plan to continue.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Become a Fistula Foundation Circle of Friends Ambassador. Do you feel others should hear more about these women whose lives are devastated by fistula? You can be their voice. Our popular Circle of Friends program is designed for people like you who want to do something more. Bring YOUR circle of friends together and make a difference. It's that simple. Help others in your community learn about our global work and efforts to restore dignity, one woman at a time. And why not have fun while you're at it? Invite your friends, colleagues and neighbors to a fundraising or informational event such as a video screening or evening out featuring stimulating discussion. For more information, please visit our website. Volunteer