Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
283 Reviews
1234.964665
| 1 2 3...28 |
Write A Review
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

I became aware of the Fistula foundation in 2007 after watching lovely Dr. Catherine Hamlin making a plea on Oprah for support of this foundation she started with her husband many years before ...at that time the organization was in dire need of financial support ...my heart went out to all those women who thru no fault of their own were robbed of their dignity way too early in life and forced to live as outcasts for the most --- and I was very impressed by Dr.Hamlin's courage to do something about it!
So... I became a supporter then,and still am one on a regular basis throughout each year - and even though I have other charities I like to support the Fistula foundation always had and always will have a special place in my heart! It's been a true gift to watch over the years how fruitful all efforts have been,and the restoration of dignity being brought to so many women thru a relatively simple medical procedure - thank all of you who keep this work going so very much!!!
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

Every month when I send a check, I wish I could send more.
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

As Louis C.K. put it, the folks who do this important work are a "good and blameless bunch". I'm so grateful to everyone at the Fistula Foundation for doing what they do to change women's lives. These women have been through such horrific experiences, and then are left to face a life of being shunned and shamed for something they had no control over. It is heartbreaking to say the least. Thank you, from the bottom of my heart, to everyone at the Fistula Foundation.
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

I was first made aware of The Fistula Foundation and the problems these beautiful women were having from the Oprah Show. It touched my heart and I have been making donations to this fantastic organization every since. What a privilege it is to have a small part in changing someone's life! This organization is amazing.
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

I first became aware of this problem after seeing a television current affairs story on Dr Catherine Hamlin (a great Australian!).

Women and girls in developing countries are disadvantaged enough without being shunned and ostracised by their communities for a condition that is rare to
non-existent in developed countries.

I will continue to support this great cause and spread the word about it.
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

I became a direct withdrawal monthly donor some years ago. I supported the care for one woman each year making me a "sister." I am so proud of that. Two years ago I increased my donation to help two women per year. A new dress and a new life. I so wholeheartedly support this organization that it is hard to express. All you have to do is imagine that you are one of these women. This organization is a life changer. Praise and thanks for your remarkable work.
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

I learnt about the problem of fistulas and the devastating effects it has , by reading "The Hospital by the River" by Dr catherine Hamlin.
The stories of these poor women really affected me , and I looked for ways to help.
The Fistula Foundation helps women in measurable , dramatic
ways.
They give the women and girls their lives back. Truly from despair to dignity!
Unlike some problems, e.g. poverty, I believe that supporting this charity will help individual women and I am happy to help as much as I can.
Plus I just love that the majority of the money goes to help , is not used up in administrative costs and that it is a highly respected charity that gets the work done.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing I know of, wish more people would support them though

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

It was during the launch of Fistula Foundation and Astellas partnership in Nairobi that I noted the amazing work done by the foundation to help hundreds of women access appropriate treatment for fistula. The inspiring and dedicated individuals like Dr. Mabeya and Kate Grant who have put smiles back to thousands of women who had been devastated by obstetric fistula. Keep up the good work and we the advocates of the end fistula campaign shall always be available to offer whatever support needed from us.
October 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 23, 2013

The Fistula Foundation is a dynamic organization with a small staff that does an amazing job educating the world about the health needs of women impacted by complications of childbirth or lack of pren... more

October 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

In the relatively short time that The Fistula Foundation has existed, this group of dedicated humanitarians has already efficiently used the funds they raise to cure women around the world of fistula and enable the affected families to become cohesive units. Educating others who are not aware of how damaging fistula is to the life of a woman and her family has been another service of this organization. Using items crafted by local artists is an interesting promotion used in their donation process. All donations are individually acknowledged and the Foundation faithfully keeps donors updated on how the money is used and appreciated by those who receive it. Please give what you can to make a family strong again.
October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Fistula Foundation is a dynamic organization with a small staff that does an amazing job educating the world about the health needs of women impacted by complications of childbirth or lack of prenatal care. The effect of the money they raise helps women overcome challenges from childbirth and resume normal, productive lives. Reaching out to so many different areas of the world, the Fistula Foundation is to be commended for their dedication to providing care to countless women who have been forgotten and neglected by their own communities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I do not have any changes to suggest. The organization is well run and effective.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 28, 2013

I watched the documentary A Walk to Beautiful, and instantly I logged on to the website to donate. These women need our help and this organization is excellent! So many lives saved, truly thankful for... more

October 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Fistula Foundation is one of those rare organizations that puts the bulk of the money to actual use. They help so many women suffering from such an unpleasant and downlooked-upon condition, that the society they live in actually cause! They not only help women who already have the condition, but they also educate villages in how they can prevent this! I love Fistula Foundation.
October 28, 2013

I watched the documentary A Walk to Beautiful, and instantly I logged on to the website to donate. These women need our help and this organization is excellent! So many lives saved, truly thankful for The Fistula Foundation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None whatsoever

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Become a Fistula Foundation Circle of Friends Ambassador. Do you feel others should hear more about these women whose lives are devastated by fistula? You can be their voice. Our popular Circle of Friends program is designed for people like you who want to do something more. Bring YOUR circle of friends together and make a difference. It's that simple. Help others in your community learn about our global work and efforts to restore dignity, one woman at a time. And why not have fun while you're at it? Invite your friends, colleagues and neighbors to a fundraising or informational event such as a video screening or evening out featuring stimulating discussion. For more information, please visit our website. Volunteer