Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
248 Reviews
1234.967745
| 1 2 3...25 |
Write A Review
October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

In 2004, while watching the Oprah Winfrey show, I saw Dr. Hamlin describe fistulas and the free reconstructive surgery that her hospital provided in Ethiopia. I felt overwhelming sadness for the young girls who suffered from this condition. I then felt compelled to make a money donation to The Fistula Foundation and have continued to be a long time donor. I know the donation is put to excellent use in restoring the health, dignity, and self worth of these young girls.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I first learned about The Fistula Foundation after reading Half the Sky. After reading more about obstetric fistula, I felt that no woman should ever be denied participation in her community because of trying to bear a child. I decided to honor my mother's memory a year after her death by encouraging my family and friends to donate to the Love a Sister program. We raised enough to sponsor one woman's surgery, and I decided to continue my support by making monthly donations on my own. I know that if my mother had known about this organization and its aim, she would have been deeply moved by their mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't know the logistics and money that go into it, but I would love to see holiday greeting cards/postcards/ecards that I could send to my family and friends so that more people could learn about the great work The Fistula Foundation does.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I watched the documentary A Walk to Beautiful, and instantly I logged on to the website to donate. These women need our help and this organization is excellent! So many lives saved, truly thankful for The Fistula Foundation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None whatsoever

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I remember when I learned about Obstetric Fistula and what it can do to women. After hearing the horrible facts, I realized that I had to do something to help these women suffering. I had seen a film about this condition, called, A Walk To Beautiful. I decided to look up who had made this film to find out who I could help. Now, I am connected with The Fistula Foundation and hope to raise more money soon. The experience I have had with this group is wonderful. They have answered all of my questions, and given me numerous ideas to support the affected women. I can not imagine a better way to help a cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

We have donated time and money over the years to help people and animals, but no other donation even comes close to giving us the feeling that were truly making a change in the world as the ones we have made to the Fistula foundation..When you take a moment and really think of the pain and endless suffering these young women endure, it is heart breaking..For the price of a weekend in the city, you can give a woman her life back, end her misery and she can become mentor to other women..I often wear the beautiful scarf that I received from Fistula foundation, when people ask about the meaning on the scarf logo, I am happy to tell them about this foundation and their hard work, and what a wonderful outcome it would be if they would donate as we have...Elizabeth and Donald Kaneshige

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to let more people know just how awful the fate of these women will be if left untreated...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

When I first learned about Fistula, I had a beautiful and healthy toddler in my life. I could not believe that such birthing conditions could exist anywhere in the world. Today my daughter is the same age as these young girls... When she was little, I would ask for donations to this charity in lieu of birthday presents. She had everything she needed but they didn't. After all these years, it is still the charity that is the nearest and dearest to my heart.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

First, this Foundation has TOP rating on Charity Navigator (means EXCEPTIONAL re finances, transparency and results)! Aside from that, not long ago I did not know what a Fistula was. I believe it was Nicolas Kristof's work in the New York Times that made me aware. As a mother of 2 children I know what labor is like and I feel blessed to have the healthcare I have now and had when I was pregnant. I also have a daughter and cannot imagine her in difficult labor at a very young age (any age) and ending up with a fistula and thus shunned by the whole village. The important work which this foundation does is not that complicated, they are just missing the funds to do it more broadly. I believe that women need to be much more supported than they are in society especially in developing countries. I too get teary at the thought of what some of these women endure. Dignity is such a basic right that we really take totally for granted. This foundation is earnest and effective in its work (as well as with its communication with donors) and I am very very happy to be able to help.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2013

more

October 26, 2013

This charity represents a condition that has the potential to change not just individual lives, but whole communities. A fistula can leave women isolated and unable to contribute to the community socially or economically, which can have huge knock-on effects for the individual and their dependants. The Fistula Foundation works to improve lives so is one of the most effective charities I know of.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Partner with maternal health charities to prevent the need for fistulas.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2013

more

October 26, 2013

The Fistula Foundation serves a community of women who would otherwise remain forgotten, neglected and suffering. I heard about this foundation through "Half the Sky" and was amazed (and saddened) that I had never before heard of such severe conditions surrounding the lives, community and health of these precious and deserving females. May the Fistula Foundation grow in support and effecacy so that the number of women enduring such experiences diminishes to non-existance.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase awareness by means that do not reduce the services already provided. Ask gynecological physicians to display posters and/or informative materials in their offices as a means of getting the word out there. Provide more non-professional volunteer opportunities to assist in these efforts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2013

more

October 26, 2013

I first learned of the Fistula Foundation when Dr. Catherine Hamlin was interviewed many years ago by Oprah Winfrey. I was shocked by the horrible circumstances of the young women with leaking fistulas. I sent a check that day and have become a long term donor, often in honor of women in my family at holidays. (Birthdays or Christmas) I have also recommended this non-profit to a good friend, who has family working in Africa to control the AIDS epidemic; and she has become a supporter. We believe in, and trust, this very worthy organization and the people who work for it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Become a Fistula Foundation Circle of Friends Ambassador. Do you feel others should hear more about these women whose lives are devastated by fistula? You can be their voice. Our popular Circle of Friends program is designed for people like you who want to do something more. Bring YOUR circle of friends together and make a difference. It's that simple. Help others in your community learn about our global work and efforts to restore dignity, one woman at a time. And why not have fun while you're at it? Invite your friends, colleagues and neighbors to a fundraising or informational event such as a video screening or evening out featuring stimulating discussion. For more information, please visit our website. Volunteer