Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
7 Reviews
123.1428645
Previous | Next
Write A Review
December 10, 2013

more

December 10, 2013

I got my current dog from the Escondido Humane Society in 2011. I found the staff to be very professional and helpful at that time. I also donate funds at least three times a year. I am very concerned by the most recent reviews. I also noticed that the older reviews were high but the more recent ones are not. I have a also heard some verbal complaints about the current staff and volunteers that were less than complimentary.

Jerry

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would suggest a complete review of all staff personnel and volunteers and get rid of the dead weight.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been an avid supporter to the highly respected Escondido Humane Society (EHS) for nearly 6 years, both in terms of financial giving and volunteer support of the various programs. My home is a great EHS Foster Home and we have fostered and been responsible for getting over 12 dogs in our “at home foster care” adopted to great and loving families. Many of these great dogs came to us broken and with many health and behavioral problems. Have we been a great EHS supporter – Yes! However, in the past few months we have seen actions by EHS senior management terminating long term employees without cause in a callous and unprofessional manner, the abrupt cancellation of dog training programs like the AKC Canine Good Citizen Programs which were in place for close to 5 years and run by highly trained and certified trainers. In addition, more terminations have also occurred to senior volunteer’s running various dog programs. The terminations of paid employees without cause, termination of volunteers without cause, and termination of solid dog training programs without cause are now beginning to have an adverse effect on the dogs and the morale of the many volunteers associated with EHS. The senior EHS Management has been unwilling to listen to the volunteer for their advice, but seems more content with running the show in any manner they find acceptable, and the phrase “My way or the highway” comes to mind. In summary, I believe that withholding your donation dollars will have a profound and immediate impact to the poor thinking and the bad behavior being exhibited by the senior EHS management staff. I have now terminated my volunteer time and financial assistance until the management of EHS greatly improves. I strongly urge you to do the same. My personal background includes senior management for six years at a large and well recognized San Diego non-profit as an Executive Board of Director Member, board of director at a for Profit Company, and senior management positions of companies on the east coast and here in San Diego and an officer of the USMC. Should you have concerns of my thoughts, please review my professional background at Linkedin.com.
Sincerely, Rick J. Espitia

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Convince EHS Senior Management of the need to develop the mission, vision and goals known to all of the volunteers. Bring the volunteers into the developmental stage of the mission, which means to solicit the ideas, thoughts and experience of the volunteers. The volunteers are totally left out. The so called volunteer "Liason Team" is not doing justice to a very important task, and merely recites what EHS management tells them.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Somewhat badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Regarding a comment above, I wouldn't call an organization, which has closed its board meetings to the public it takes taxes from, transparent.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 21, 2012

more

Review from JustGive
March 21, 2012

I've been coming to their big fundraising event, Paws in the park, every year since their 2001 shelter fire. I also worked as a volunteer for the 2010 event. This is a 1000 mile round trip for me, so I don't do it on a lark. They are a nice, dedicated and competent group of people who have created a first-class facility out of a tragic situation. I suggest you read the financial reports from charity rating sites. You'll see that they're very good at putting donated money to work and have an open and transparent organization. It's nice to see people who do some real good.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 17, 2011

more

Review from JustGive
November 17, 2011

Escondido Humane Society does a wonderful job caring for the animals waiting to be adopted. We were instructed very well as volunteers to cuddle and care for the animals so they will be wonderfully adoptable! I just wish more would be done to educate people about spaying and neutering so that the number of animals brought in are reduced. EHS is doing a great job caring for such a large number of animals until they find their fur-ever home. Blessings to all at EHS!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I see animals being adopted everyday, and the care that EHS gives each animal is really wonderful.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to educate people more about spaying and neutering. It is a difficult task, because some people just don't want to be responsible, but more education would be good.

September 15, 2011

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 15, 2011

THE ONE COMMENT I READ HERE IS 1000% PERCENT FALSE; THIS PERSON MUST HAVE SOME SORT OF "AGENDA". WE ADOPTED A TOY POODLE FROM THE ESCONDIDO FACILITY ABOUT 5 MONTHS AGO. WE OBSERVED THAT SAID FACILITY WAS EXTREMELY WELL RUN AND ALL THE ANIMALS HOUSED THERE WERE TREATED VERY WELL. OF ALL THE SIMILAR NO KILL SHELTERS WE HAVE VISITED THE ESCONDODO WAS THE BEST WITH REGARD TO EFFICIENCY AND CARE OF THE ANIMALS HOUSED THERE IN. FOR SOME IDIOT TO MAKE NEGATIVE COMMENTS ABOUT THEM IS DISPICABLE !! WE CONTRIBUTE TO THEM FREQUENTLY FOR WHAT THEY DO AND COULDN'T BE HAPPIER WITH OUR ADOPTION.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

ADOPTION

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Absolutely nothing

May 8, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
May 8, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

The Escondido Humane Society has turned a one time wonderful organization into the laziest bunch of Humane Officers I have ever had the unfortunate opportunity to deal with. On so many calls, the citizens of Escondido have contacted the Escondido Humane Society for help with injured animals only to be told that they would not come out and assist unless the citizen had the animal boxed and contained. Are they offering a liability case? Could be. What happens if a citizen gets injured while attempting to do something that the Humane Officer should be doing but won't because thaey are too lazy. Does the citizen have the right to sue the Escondido Humane Society? I would hope so.

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Probably waste it.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers