Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
1234.9255
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I’m writing this review from a waiting room at Children’s Hospital while my daughter undergoes her second cochlear implant surgery. I’ve got about five hours to sit here, and I’ve spent a lot of it pondering just how lost I would have been over the past 18 months without the support offered by the Decibels Foundation. The answer is, “almost completely.”

I simply can’t imagine navigating the emotions (frustration, guilt, anger, sadness, pride) or the logistics (picking surgeons, finding a dispensing audiologist, how to start preparing for IEPs and school) of having a deaf child without Decibels’ help. Through the foundation, we’ve found exceptional professionals to help our daughter develop spoken and signed language and to help us figure out which questions to ask and how to get answers. Just as importantly, the Decibels Foundation has introduced us to a network of families with whom we can share, vent, laugh, and (occasionally) cry. It’s become one of the most important influences on our lives.

I constantly tell friends and family members, that we’re the lucky ones: this is the best time and place in the history of the world to have a deaf child. I say that, in large part, because of the ways that the Decibels Foundation has given us information, hope, and support. We will be eternally grateful for all that the foundation has done, and we look forward to working with them over the coming years.

In short, if you are looking for ways to have your donations make a disproportionately large impact on the lives of families in need, I urge you to support the Decibels Foundation. They’re good people, doing amazing and important things.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Our son was diagnosed with hearing loss when he was born. At first we were worried, scared, uncertain about what he would need and how we would find the right ways to take care of that need. Once we were connected with the amazing people at Decibels, we realized that there was a whole team of people who would provide information, offer advice, do amazing fundraising to be sure that the programs children with hearing loss need would function at a superb level - and they also give the kids an opportunity to know each other (so our son knows he's not the only one who wears something in his ears) and gives the parents an invaluable community of support, encouragement and companionship as we all take care of our kids.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Our daughter Erin was born profoundly deaf. At the age of three months we started going to Minuteman Arc in W. Concord MA. Through Minuteman we got involved with The Decibels Foundation. Before Decibels we felt lost, confused, and scared. The people at Decibels helped us with so much information and were so caring in every way. We really don't know what we would have done without them being there for us!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Our son was born with a hearing loss. We learned about the hearing loss through the newborn screening testing. We met with many individuals and organizations prior to being referred to Minuteman ARC in W. Concord, MA through which we got involved with The Decibels Foundation. While everyone prior to Minuteman and Decibels were caring and well intentioned, Decibels and Minuteman were simply unmatched in their compassion, their breadth and depth of services offered, and their general professionalism! I have and will continue to recommend The Decibels Foundation to anyone dealing with a child with hearing loss. They are, simply, the best!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My daughter, Ellie, was diagnosed with hearing loss at age 2 1/2. The Decibels Foundation has helped us in so many ways: providing uplifting support, timely information, high quality services, and a general sense of "belonging".

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

The Decibels Foundation made a lifelong impact on our family. Our daughter was able to recieve the critical services she needed to overcome the challenges associated with hearing loss. My husband and I were also able to receive the critical information, education and access to top language and medical specialists in the field. We are forever grateful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

I can not imagine where my family would be without the Decibels Foundation. Everyone involved is caring, educated and has changed our lives for the better. Our daughter would not be doing as well as she is without this incredible foundation. They have educated us, supported us and will continue to support us for years to come. They have helped us navigate our daughter's unique journey into the hearing impaired world and given us the confidence and support needed. We have made lifelong friends and feel extremely lucky to know these amazing people that have supported our daughter and our family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Decibels Foundation has changed our family's present and future. Last year our newborn son was diagnosed with hearing loss in both ears. He would need hearing aids in order to develop oral language and communication. We were also urged to have our 2 year old daughter's hearing tested and discovered, to our amazement, that she too had moderately-severe hearing loss and would need hearing aids. Living in a part of the country with an abundance of world class medical institutions and centers for learning, we expected that support, advocacy and information would be easy to come by. We were astonished to learn that the opposite was true. After disheartening months of searching and finding no significant help in the areas of auditory development, speech therapy and appropriate developmental assistance, we stumbled upon the Decibels Foundation and one of the vital hearing loss programs that this foundation supports. Within weeks our children were involved in substantive programs with knowledgeable and caring staff. Our children were with kids just like them and they received the therapies that they needed in order to benefit from their new technology. Our family went from one in crisis to one in community. From a family that felt powerless to one that has become empowered. A family in despair to one that has found laughter and so much joy in our new normal. We are so grateful to the Decibels Foundation for giving our children such a great start in our family and our community. Because of the amazing work of Decibels, we can communicate effectively as a family with each other and our children can look forward to a future fully integrated into the life of our community. The work of the Decibels Foundation is profound, transformative and persisting.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers