Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
1234.9255
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 14, 2012

I found out about the Decibels Foundation when my son with hearing loss was about 10 months old (he is now 2 1/2). It has been a live-saver in providing education about the resources available to our ... more

October 31, 2013

Decibels was a huge help! When we arrived we knew no one else that had a child with hearing loss and they provided such a great network of families and support for us as parents, and such a great learning environment for our son. The people there are just great, incredibly helpful and supportive.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it able to serve more people in a broader area.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I found out about the Decibels Foundation when my son with hearing loss was about 10 months old (he is now 2 1/2). It has been a live-saver in providing education about the resources available to our family. The connections with other families are so helpful. I have a far better understanding of my son's needs and experience from my interactions with the staff and families associated with the Foundation. My ability to advocate for my son and his needs has been so profoundly improved. I can't begin to express how grateful I am that this organization exists. I only wish all families with children who are deaf or hard of hearing could have access to the wonderful resource that is the Decibels Foundation.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

We stepped into an unfamiliar world when we found out that our son had hearing loss. We didn't know how to best advocate for our son, or even what he needed. It was pretty lonely.

With the help of the Decibels Foundation, we've found access to critical services and our son is doing very
well. As parents, we've found a community of that faces similar challenges that we can learn with. Our son receives speech therapy, attends playgroups with other children with hearing loss, and we as parents receive training in how to better advocate for our children as they outgrow Decibel's sponsored programs.

Simply put, these services don't exist without organizations like the Decibels Foundation. I can't say enough good things about Decibels or the community it has helped create!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

As a parent of a child with bilateral hearing loss, the Decibels Foundation has been an invaluable resource. Through their support and services, they helped my family feel control, direction, and hope. We know we have a reliable resource to find out about technology, services, and educational options. My daughter attends the toddler program, and her speech development and socialization are on par with other children her age. Without Decibels, we would not feel as hopeful as we do for our daughter's continued success.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them a big grant so they can provide services to even more families!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 14, 2012

My son entered the EI that the Decibel's Foundation helped to create after we had been in another program and received no help. The help my son received was life changing. He was able to get the ser... more

October 31, 2013

My son is now 4 but we found the Decibel's Foundation when he was 15 months and they saved his life. He got the speech he needed and they helped boost his confidence for the transition into pre-school. The Foundation gives endless contributions to this minority disability population...

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it bigger!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My son entered the EI that the Decibel's Foundation helped to create after we had been in another program and received no help. The help my son received was life changing. He was able to get the services he needed while I was able to get the support I needed as a parent. These are some of the most generous people I know!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

As the father of a child born with hearing loss, I would like to acknowledge how the Decibels Foundation (Maynard, MA) has been anda continues to be an important contributor to the resources, opportunities and support we rely upon in our efforts to provide our daughter with the skills and abilities she truly needs. Thanks to Decibels, we are confident that our daughter will be able to meet any and all challenges despite her hearing loss. Simply, the staff, supporters and folks associated with the Decibels Foundation are some of the very best people I have ever met, and they deserve recognition and thanks for the much-needed work they do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

My two-year-old daughter was born profoundly deaf and now has bilateral cochlear implants. Since she was 5 months old, she has attended an early intervention playgroup specifically for children with hearing loss. Without the support of the Decibels Foundation, this type of playgroup would not exist. My daughter gets focused sign-supported instruction from amazing, caring teachers, who all have experience in working with deaf and hard of hearing children. My husband and I can certainly see her improvement in communication, both spoken and signed. While the children attend the playgroup, parents can participate in a support group, which has been a tremendous help to our family in this journey, both practically and emotionally. Without Decibels helping us to make sense out of the information overload, we might not be in the same, good, place that we are today.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

My son attends an Early Intervention group, supported by Decibels, specifically designed for children with hearing loss, one of only two such groups that I know of in Massachusetts or country for that matter. It creates a community, a support group, educates the children, educates the parents, educates local school districts, solves practical problems, and raises awareness for the hearing loss community - all of which are in short supply when a family receives a new diagnosis of hearing loss. One of Decibels's missions is to bring all of this to more families in more geographical areas. My family is very grateful to have been lucky enough to access this community of families and supportive professionals. We do not take it for granted!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would have every single family given a hearing loss diagnosis be given access to these people!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My son attends EI group supported by Decibels. It's fantastic - I see how his communication skills improve with each class. Decibels make a huge impact on my son's development.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 16, 2012

Decibels is a fantastic organization. They have helped my son tremendously by providing access to speech therapy, music therapy and connecting with other parents of children with hearing loss. My fa... more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Decibels has made all the difference in my child's life. Diagnosed with hearing loss at birth, my son has been a client here since he was 3 months old. Through Decibels we receive speech therapy, progress updates and consultation for pre-school. We are tremendously grateful for the wonderful service we receive here. Thank you.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 16, 2012

Decibels is a fantastic organization. They have helped my son tremendously by providing access to speech therapy, music therapy and connecting with other parents of children with hearing loss. My family will be forever grateful for this wonderful organization. Truly life changing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I want to acknowledge the enormous gratitude my family has for the work Decibels does. I think very highly of the program and saw it as an integral part of my son's development and success in life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers