Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
1234.9255
Write A Review
November 4, 2013

more

November 4, 2013

My daughter was diagnosed at 3 months with hearing loss. We were devasted.Since starting the decibels foundation my daughter is doing great!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I am, to the Decibel Group, called, "Nana June". My grandson Christopher and I were at this group every
Wednesday for a year. My daughter, Heidi, is a school teacher in Concord, Ma. and could not take Christopher to his group on each Wednesday. So I did. This group is a caring group of
people who
know so much about the children and their disability. Christopher has bilteral hearing loss and if it
wasn't for this group, he would never have been the child he is now. I went into a one on one session each Wednesday where the parents or grandpaentns would talk about their trials and tribulations with their children's hearing loss. My heart went out to them. We became a stong caring group of people
who had one thing in common - a child with hearing loss. God bless this group.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

tell all the people about this wonderful group - for those that do not know it exists. I would not change one thing about this group. They are terrific.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 14, 2012

I found out about the Decibels Foundation when my son with hearing loss was about 10 months old (he is now 2 1/2). It has been a live-saver in providing education about the resources available to our ... more

October 31, 2013

Decibels was a huge help! When we arrived we knew no one else that had a child with hearing loss and they provided such a great network of families and support for us as parents, and such a great learning environment for our son. The people there are just great, incredibly helpful and supportive.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it able to serve more people in a broader area.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I found out about the Decibels Foundation when my son with hearing loss was about 10 months old (he is now 2 1/2). It has been a live-saver in providing education about the resources available to our family. The connections with other families are so helpful. I have a far better understanding of my son's needs and experience from my interactions with the staff and families associated with the Foundation. My ability to advocate for my son and his needs has been so profoundly improved. I can't begin to express how grateful I am that this organization exists. I only wish all families with children who are deaf or hard of hearing could have access to the wonderful resource that is the Decibels Foundation.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

We stepped into an unfamiliar world when we found out that our son had hearing loss. We didn't know how to best advocate for our son, or even what he needed. It was pretty lonely.

With the help of the Decibels Foundation, we've found access to critical services and our son is doing very
well. As parents, we've found a community of that faces similar challenges that we can learn with. Our son receives speech therapy, attends playgroups with other children with hearing loss, and we as parents receive training in how to better advocate for our children as they outgrow Decibel's sponsored programs.

Simply put, these services don't exist without organizations like the Decibels Foundation. I can't say enough good things about Decibels or the community it has helped create!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 14, 2012

The Decibels Foundation is an invaluable resource for Boston/ metro west families by providing best in class support services for children with hearing loss and their families. By funding and suppor... more

October 31, 2013

The services that The Decibels Foundation helps fund are invaluable to the children and families that receive them. This foundation is unique and provides deaf children critical early childhood services that they may otherwise not have access to.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012

The Decibels Foundation is an invaluable resource for Boston/ metro west families by providing best in class support services for children with hearing loss and their families. By funding and supporting these critical programs the Decibels Foundation is able to ensure that kids and families are provided with a solid foundation in which to build from.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

As a parent of a child with bilateral hearing loss, the Decibels Foundation has been an invaluable resource. Through their support and services, they helped my family feel control, direction, and hope. We know we have a reliable resource to find out about technology, services, and educational options. My daughter attends the toddler program, and her speech development and socialization are on par with other children her age. Without Decibels, we would not feel as hopeful as we do for our daughter's continued success.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them a big grant so they can provide services to even more families!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 14, 2012

My son entered the EI that the Decibel's Foundation helped to create after we had been in another program and received no help. The help my son received was life changing. He was able to get the ser... more

October 31, 2013

My son is now 4 but we found the Decibel's Foundation when he was 15 months and they saved his life. He got the speech he needed and they helped boost his confidence for the transition into pre-school. The Foundation gives endless contributions to this minority disability population...

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it bigger!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My son entered the EI that the Decibel's Foundation helped to create after we had been in another program and received no help. The help my son received was life changing. He was able to get the services he needed while I was able to get the support I needed as a parent. These are some of the most generous people I know!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

As the father of a child born with hearing loss, I would like to acknowledge how the Decibels Foundation (Maynard, MA) has been anda continues to be an important contributor to the resources, opportunities and support we rely upon in our efforts to provide our daughter with the skills and abilities she truly needs. Thanks to Decibels, we are confident that our daughter will be able to meet any and all challenges despite her hearing loss. Simply, the staff, supporters and folks associated with the Decibels Foundation are some of the very best people I have ever met, and they deserve recognition and thanks for the much-needed work they do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I found Decibels when looking for a high school internship opportunity that involved community service. I was able to work closely with both Decibels and organizations they support including Minute Man Arc. My experience with Decibels was so much more than I expected, teaching me important life lessons, especially the importance of passion for what you do and the astounding ability to give so much of your time and dedication in order to help others. This organization is truly one of a kind and is one of the best.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would help to expand it and increase publicity so that it could help more people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

My two-year-old daughter was born profoundly deaf and now has bilateral cochlear implants. Since she was 5 months old, she has attended an early intervention playgroup specifically for children with hearing loss. Without the support of the Decibels Foundation, this type of playgroup would not exist. My daughter gets focused sign-supported instruction from amazing, caring teachers, who all have experience in working with deaf and hard of hearing children. My husband and I can certainly see her improvement in communication, both spoken and signed. While the children attend the playgroup, parents can participate in a support group, which has been a tremendous help to our family in this journey, both practically and emotionally. Without Decibels helping us to make sense out of the information overload, we might not be in the same, good, place that we are today.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers