Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
76 Reviews
1234.934215
Write A Review
October 19, 2014

more

October 19, 2014

We were very much looking forward to working with the cradle. Upon intial consultation we went to a meeting to give us more information about this agency. Unfortunately we were very much discouraged from adopting with them based on the fact that we had been married 5 yrs( too short in their mind) and that we were an interracial interfaith couple. They still took our money but we're so discouraging and negative about the whole adoption process claiming " adoption is the most painful process" that we chose not to work with this agency. I have done some research and talked with a few other couples who have similar backgrounds to ours and all were told the same exact thing. Shame on this organization for having preconceived notions about loving families who want to extend their homes to others. We were blessed with a natural baby of our own. I'm glad we stopped working with this organization. They are by no means professional
July 24, 2012

more

July 24, 2012

I found The Cradle through a local place called 1st Midwest Pregnancy. I was approximately 8 weeks pregnant. I worked with them through the next 7 or so months to work out an adoption plan that I was comfortable with. Since I knew who the birthfather was, they were obligated to contact him and let him know that I was in the process of making a plan and he could either fight it, or sign the papers agreeing to an adoption plan. The birthfather chose to fight it. The Cradle sent attorneys into court on my behalf and on the behalf of my unborn son. The court dates kept getting pushed out and pushed out until I was approximately 8 months pregnant. The courts decided against me and went in favor of the birthfather. By this point I had already pretty much chosen a family, all thanks to The Cradle for allowing me to continue looking into families looking to adopt, but I was notified by The Cradle giving me the news of the courts, and then saying that I could not continue in the process unless I could get the birthfather to agree to sign the papers. I immediately called the birthfather to talk with him and see his thought process. The call ended with him agreeing to sign the papers. I called The Cradle, told them the news, they then sent someone to get the papers signed by the birthfather, and I went forward with the family I had chosen earlier. I would do anything I could to help out The Cradle and get their name out there. They are a wonderful agency with many wonderful employees who are there for anything you may need.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

11 years ago, I contacted The Cradle when I was barely 8 weeks pregnant and without much support. During the 7 months I worked with The Cradle to make an adoption plan and the months that followed my placement, the counselors and other employees of The Cradle made me feel so comfortable with my decision. When my open adoption had some communication issues, they were quick to help for the sake of our daughter. In the years since placement, I have cherished the relationships I have developed because of The Cradle. I am proud to be apart of the The Cradle family as birthmom to an amazing almost 11 year old girl. Without The Cradle's support and ongoing mentoring, I feel like I would still be as lost and scared as I was at 22.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2001

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

We adopted two babies form the Cradle. One has sinced passed away. There were not very many "good" adoption agencies in the 1960's. The Cradle was everything we were looking for and was affordable for us. We now have grandchildren by our "Cradle babies". Life has been good to us and to a great extent that is because of the Cradle. They still keep in touch with me, and that is good. James DeLill

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

I thank God and the Cradle every day for our 2 wonderful children. They complete and fulfill our lives. And now we have grandchildren! What a blessing! The Cradle facilitated our dreams. May they prosper forever! We love you MORE! The McMahon Family:)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

As part of a couple seeking to adopt, I've quite enjoyed the experience through The Cradle. It's a marathon, but like a great marathon preparation course, they have it very well plotted out and explained. The parent-to-be classes have been terribly informative, the recommended outside readings extreme value-adds, and all of the staff so positive and supportive. There are no guarantees, but we're so happy for how well The Cradle prepares its adoptive parent clients to provide the best possible environments for the children they place.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

Our family adopted el;sewhere, but we sought out post-adoption therapy at the Cradle 9 years ago. The excellent therapist helped us with issues of attachment and identitiy building. I felt so welcmoe and at home at the Cradle that I began volunteering, first as a cuddler in the nursery and subseqquently as a committee member and find-raiser. I joined the board of directors more than 4 years ago and underwent a thorough orientation process. My experiences at the Cradle continue to teach me about the vast universe of adoption, especially about the needs and rights of birth parents. The Cradle staff and boards are highly ethical and always give priority to the needs of the child when making decisions and setting policies.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

The Cradle made us a family. We are a two-generation Cradle family, as my husband and his sister were both adopted from there. The care and compassion they showed to my in-laws over 40 years ago is still very much in evidence now. We love that The Cradle is not about finding children for adoptive parents, but about finding parents for children. The fact that they go to great lengths to care for and support birth mothers/parents was a huge factor for us in choosing to use The Cradle. Their nursery provides wonderful care for children who are waiting for adoptive families. Our son spent nearly eight weeks there, and received top-notch care from the nurses and volunteers who staff the nursery.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

The Cradle helped complete our family. We adopted our soon-to-be three-year-old son with The Cradle's help and are so appreciative of the caring, hands-on, and comprehensive services/support they provided throughout the process. Thank goodness we turned to them for assistance when we needed it!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

We are clients of the Cradle who utilized their services in the adoption of our son, who is now six years old. The staff at the Cradle were amazing through the process, offering technical know-how, walking us through the entire process smoothly, as well as incredibly caring emotional and counseling support throughout the process. Their caseworkers are constantly supportive, very sensitive to the needs of clients, both birthparents and prospective adoptive parents. The Cradle also offers impressive educational services for families in the form of workshops, support/discussion groups, and online webinars/workshops to address various issues and situations that arise in the adoption process. The Cradle is also with us still, six years after adopting our son, by offering ongoing community activities (picnics, family outings, annual holiday gathering) and educational activities, as well as an open resource to answer questions that continue to arise as a family built through adoption.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers