Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
75 Reviews
1234.973335
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 17, 2012

more


1 previous review
July 4, 2012

I am a cuddler in the nursery at the Cradle. I do it selfishly, because I love babies, but more than that, these babies need all the love and attention they can get before they have a family to go to.... more

October 17, 2012

The Cradle is an adoption agency in Evanston, IL. It places babies, given up for adoption, housing them in their nursery and caring for them until a family is approved. They have "cuddlers" to help the nurses by holding and feeding the babies. I am one and adore the "job". It is a non-profit organization which only asks prospective parents to pay what they can afford and the balance comes from contributions.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 4, 2012

I am a cuddler in the nursery at the Cradle. I do it selfishly, because I love babies, but more than that, these babies need all the love and attention they can get before they have a family to go to. The nurses and nurse's aides are all great,, but most of the time there are too many babies that need to be cuddled. That's where I and the rest of the volunteers come in.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

I have volunteered and my family and I have made donations to The Cradle. The best experience of all for me is that I have the privledge of being on the nursery staff. I look forward to each and everyday I am there. I love to attend the Christmas and Spring open house every year. Its hard to put into words the feeling you get when you see one of the infants that we cared for in the nursery. They are walking, talking going to school. They are angels from heaven. The wonderful staff in every dept. at The Cradle makes it the very special place that it is.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a Cuddler at the Cradle for 12 years. We hold ,feed, and love those babies , just until their mom and dad comes for them. The peace and joy those babies give you cannot fully explained. We are there for them, but they are there for us as well. The joy you see on the parents faces as they meet their new baby, is nothing like you have ever seen.The CRADLE is a truly beautiful place, in every sense of the word. The care they receive from the nurses, the love and respect given has no match. The provide a home for these babies, until they" go home."Everyone that works at the Cradle , in every aspect, is well trained , kind and respectful. That what makes the Cradle work so well, and you will not find place that compares to the cradle. I can't wait for the days I go to Cuddle..it is truly a special place to a part of. Diane

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I started cuddling about 6 years ago. The Cradle Nursery staff is so respectful with the babies (and with each other and the volunteers). I was so impressed with everyone from Victoria, the nurses, the infant aides and the other cuddlers. Then we had a chance to get to know what else goes on in the building with cuddler meetings. They let us know how the Cradle functions on all the other levels. As an educator, my antenna is always up. I am so proud to be a part of this organization. It truly feels like family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I started "cuddling" when my youngest twins started 1st grade and a neighbor had told me she heard this was the best volunteer job out there! And she sure was right! I sometimes run to get there on time after a hectic morning with teenagers, dogs, and general errands and then settle in with a baby and leave a calm, relaxed and fulfilled volunteer. I think it is the best kept secret that we have this tremendous resource right here in Evanston and I'm so proud whenever I see the Cradle in the press or hear someone talk about it and I say "I'm a part of that great organization!"

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

The Cradle is an amazing place filled with care and love! Everyone is warm, intelligent and organized. The Cradle has been placing children first since 1923 by making sure every little detail is taken care of. I consider it an honor to volunteer there. The Cradle rocks!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I have volunteered at the Cradle, as a "Cuddler" since the last of my four children started 1st grade... He is now 24. The Cradle is the most special place I know; special because it is welcoming and kind, encouraging and helpful without a trace of judgement. It promotes a culture of true respect and dignity for the people involved in an adoption. Every single person, on both sides of the adoption. Most importantly, it never forgets its mission: to do what is best for the baby.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I have been a 'cuddler' for over 5 years now and the Cradle, along with it's employee's and volunteers, are a dedicated people who really care about the children. It gives one perspective on what is really important in life. I am blessed to be part of this tremendous organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I am lucky enough to be a "cuddler" at the Cradle. I get to come in and cuddle the babies! That means feeding, burping and well...cuddling. I get to see first hand how well the babies are treated and how much care and love is provided for these babies. It is always a pleasure.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

the loving care babies receive in the nursery and the counseling the birth mothers receive go beyond the standard of care. Every one is treated with love and respect.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers