Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
76 Reviews
1234.934215
Write A Review
June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

Our family adopted el;sewhere, but we sought out post-adoption therapy at the Cradle 9 years ago. The excellent therapist helped us with issues of attachment and identitiy building. I felt so welcmoe and at home at the Cradle that I began volunteering, first as a cuddler in the nursery and subseqquently as a committee member and find-raiser. I joined the board of directors more than 4 years ago and underwent a thorough orientation process. My experiences at the Cradle continue to teach me about the vast universe of adoption, especially about the needs and rights of birth parents. The Cradle staff and boards are highly ethical and always give priority to the needs of the child when making decisions and setting policies.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

The Cradle made us a family. We are a two-generation Cradle family, as my husband and his sister were both adopted from there. The care and compassion they showed to my in-laws over 40 years ago is still very much in evidence now. We love that The Cradle is not about finding children for adoptive parents, but about finding parents for children. The fact that they go to great lengths to care for and support birth mothers/parents was a huge factor for us in choosing to use The Cradle. Their nursery provides wonderful care for children who are waiting for adoptive families. Our son spent nearly eight weeks there, and received top-notch care from the nurses and volunteers who staff the nursery.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

Excellence, integrity, mission, standards, stewardship of financial resources, outcomes, lifetime commitment - just a few of the reasons I am involved. Over the years, The Cradle has made such a significant impact on the loves of so many. Lucky are those whose lives are touched by The Cradle.......

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

I've been privileged to be a Board Member of this fine organization for the past several years. I've worked with and around non-profits for most of my 30-year career and I'm struck by the professionalism of every member of the staff at The Cradle. Not only are they committed to the people they serve (the babies/children), but they do so using insightful strategies and the highest possible ethics.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

The Cradle helped complete our family. We adopted our soon-to-be three-year-old son with The Cradle's help and are so appreciative of the caring, hands-on, and comprehensive services/support they provided throughout the process. Thank goodness we turned to them for assistance when we needed it!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a Cuddler at the Cradle for 12 years. We hold ,feed, and love those babies , just until their mom and dad comes for them. The peace and joy those babies give you cannot fully explained. We are there for them, but they are there for us as well. The joy you see on the parents faces as they meet their new baby, is nothing like you have ever seen.The CRADLE is a truly beautiful place, in every sense of the word. The care they receive from the nurses, the love and respect given has no match. The provide a home for these babies, until they" go home."Everyone that works at the Cradle , in every aspect, is well trained , kind and respectful. That what makes the Cradle work so well, and you will not find place that compares to the cradle. I can't wait for the days I go to Cuddle..it is truly a special place to a part of. Diane

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

We are clients of the Cradle who utilized their services in the adoption of our son, who is now six years old. The staff at the Cradle were amazing through the process, offering technical know-how, walking us through the entire process smoothly, as well as incredibly caring emotional and counseling support throughout the process. Their caseworkers are constantly supportive, very sensitive to the needs of clients, both birthparents and prospective adoptive parents. The Cradle also offers impressive educational services for families in the form of workshops, support/discussion groups, and online webinars/workshops to address various issues and situations that arise in the adoption process. The Cradle is also with us still, six years after adopting our son, by offering ongoing community activities (picnics, family outings, annual holiday gathering) and educational activities, as well as an open resource to answer questions that continue to arise as a family built through adoption.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

Over 12 years ago we reached out to The Cradle looking for information about adoption. They were compassionate, knowledgeable, understanding and helpful. They helped us navigate the hoops and red tape of international adoption. Without The Cradle our family wouldn't be complete. Because we believe so strongly in what The Cradle does and how they do it, we have stayed active with The Cradle ever since; Attending events, volunteering, serving on committees. The Cradle provides a very important service to families and does it well!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

The Cradle has been a stellar member of the community for over 75 years. We reached out to the Cradle to start our family and they've been an integral part of our family ever since. The Cradle staff members are excellent and passionate in what they do. Their guidance in the adoption community continues to be extremely important to all of us.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

The Cradle started as a way to build our family through adoption, but in the end they BECAME part our family through their actions, support, and unwavering kindness as we journeyed through adoption. The Cradle helped educate us on the concept and truths around open adoption—a situation that we were slightly resistant to initially. And as it has come to pass, it was simply because we were not educated on it; we had our own ideas and assumptions, but they were unfounded and driven from “fear”. The Cradle never judged us for our fears, questions or concerns, but rather their supportive staff LISTENED and provided information to help us make decisions on where we stood throughout the process ourselves. We also had a very tough situation in the middle of our journey in which we had to decide to walk away from a match and again, there were no judgments, they kept the baby first throughout the entire process and this helped us in our final decision to ensure the child went into a home better equipped to love, nurture and care for them. I’ll wrap up my comments with this: The Cradle is child-centered; the children come first. And with this one fundamental guiding principle they make all of their decisions, recommendations, and resource allocations. EVERYONE, executive leadership, social workers, nursery staff, etc. embodies this vision. THIS places them above all other organizations that help children and families in my book. If it’s in the best interest to keep a child with their birth family they support them to do just that. And if an adoption plan is best for the child they work hand in hand with the birth family and adoptive families to ensure a positive and healthy transition. The child is FIRST. I started out as an adoptive mother with The Cradle, but due to their example, I was compelled to volunteer for the organization. Through my time, effort, and dollars I know I can’t ever match what they have really done for me and meant to me and my family; but I will certainly try and help them continue on with their mission and vision because it is changing the lives of amazing little children, and that’s worth fighting for!

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers