Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
75 Reviews
1234.973335
Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
October 17, 2012

more


1 previous review
July 4, 2012

I am a cuddler in the nursery at the Cradle. I do it selfishly, because I love babies, but more than that, these babies need all the love and attention they can get before they have a family to go to.... more

October 17, 2012

The Cradle is an adoption agency in Evanston, IL. It places babies, given up for adoption, housing them in their nursery and caring for them until a family is approved. They have "cuddlers" to help the nurses by holding and feeding the babies. I am one and adore the "job". It is a non-profit organization which only asks prospective parents to pay what they can afford and the balance comes from contributions.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 4, 2012

I am a cuddler in the nursery at the Cradle. I do it selfishly, because I love babies, but more than that, these babies need all the love and attention they can get before they have a family to go to. The nurses and nurse's aides are all great,, but most of the time there are too many babies that need to be cuddled. That's where I and the rest of the volunteers come in.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 24, 2012

more

July 24, 2012

I found The Cradle through a local place called 1st Midwest Pregnancy. I was approximately 8 weeks pregnant. I worked with them through the next 7 or so months to work out an adoption plan that I was comfortable with. Since I knew who the birthfather was, they were obligated to contact him and let him know that I was in the process of making a plan and he could either fight it, or sign the papers agreeing to an adoption plan. The birthfather chose to fight it. The Cradle sent attorneys into court on my behalf and on the behalf of my unborn son. The court dates kept getting pushed out and pushed out until I was approximately 8 months pregnant. The courts decided against me and went in favor of the birthfather. By this point I had already pretty much chosen a family, all thanks to The Cradle for allowing me to continue looking into families looking to adopt, but I was notified by The Cradle giving me the news of the courts, and then saying that I could not continue in the process unless I could get the birthfather to agree to sign the papers. I immediately called the birthfather to talk with him and see his thought process. The call ended with him agreeing to sign the papers. I called The Cradle, told them the news, they then sent someone to get the papers signed by the birthfather, and I went forward with the family I had chosen earlier. I would do anything I could to help out The Cradle and get their name out there. They are a wonderful agency with many wonderful employees who are there for anything you may need.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

11 years ago, I contacted The Cradle when I was barely 8 weeks pregnant and without much support. During the 7 months I worked with The Cradle to make an adoption plan and the months that followed my placement, the counselors and other employees of The Cradle made me feel so comfortable with my decision. When my open adoption had some communication issues, they were quick to help for the sake of our daughter. In the years since placement, I have cherished the relationships I have developed because of The Cradle. I am proud to be apart of the The Cradle family as birthmom to an amazing almost 11 year old girl. Without The Cradle's support and ongoing mentoring, I feel like I would still be as lost and scared as I was at 22.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2001

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

The Cradle helped us form our family 40 and 37 years ago, and we served on the Board for many years. We are very proud of The Cradle for continuing to practice the highest ethical standards in very difficult times for agencies whose sole priority is the best interests of the child. The Cradle is unquestionably the best adoption agency in the United States.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

We adopted two babies form the Cradle. One has sinced passed away. There were not very many "good" adoption agencies in the 1960's. The Cradle was everything we were looking for and was affordable for us. We now have grandchildren by our "Cradle babies". Life has been good to us and to a great extent that is because of the Cradle. They still keep in touch with me, and that is good. James DeLill

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

I thank God and the Cradle every day for our 2 wonderful children. They complete and fulfill our lives. And now we have grandchildren! What a blessing! The Cradle facilitated our dreams. May they prosper forever! We love you MORE! The McMahon Family:)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

The Cradle is one of the most passionate and yet focused non-profit that I have been involved with. The board is professional and thinks about ways to expand the reach of their mission--creating families for children. The work they do to help each birth mom (and dad) make the right decisions for their child is inspiring. Knowing each situation is unique, they give women the resources to make the right choice for their child and themselves.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

As part of a couple seeking to adopt, I've quite enjoyed the experience through The Cradle. It's a marathon, but like a great marathon preparation course, they have it very well plotted out and explained. The parent-to-be classes have been terribly informative, the recommended outside readings extreme value-adds, and all of the staff so positive and supportive. There are no guarantees, but we're so happy for how well The Cradle prepares its adoptive parent clients to provide the best possible environments for the children they place.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

I have volunteered and my family and I have made donations to The Cradle. The best experience of all for me is that I have the privledge of being on the nursery staff. I look forward to each and everyday I am there. I love to attend the Christmas and Spring open house every year. Its hard to put into words the feeling you get when you see one of the infants that we cared for in the nursery. They are walking, talking going to school. They are angels from heaven. The wonderful staff in every dept. at The Cradle makes it the very special place that it is.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

Our family adopted el;sewhere, but we sought out post-adoption therapy at the Cradle 9 years ago. The excellent therapist helped us with issues of attachment and identitiy building. I felt so welcmoe and at home at the Cradle that I began volunteering, first as a cuddler in the nursery and subseqquently as a committee member and find-raiser. I joined the board of directors more than 4 years ago and underwent a thorough orientation process. My experiences at the Cradle continue to teach me about the vast universe of adoption, especially about the needs and rights of birth parents. The Cradle staff and boards are highly ethical and always give priority to the needs of the child when making decisions and setting policies.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers