Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
78 Reviews
1234.910265
| 1 2 3 4...8 |
Write A Review
October 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

During a period of dealing with other health concerns this year. I was diagnosed with FCD. I really did not have time to focus on this as I was told I may eventually need surgery but years down the road. I came home and did a search on the internet so I could start to learn about Fuch's . I found Fuch's Friends website which is made possible by the Corneal Dystrophy Foundation and decided to join. I thought I could learn a little before I needed surgery down the road. I read all the posts each day and started to realize that the disease was affecting my life way more than I realized. I had just learned to cope. The thing that made me realize that I probably needed surgery soon was an incident that happened soon after seeing a second Dr. who told me I did not need surgery yet. Come back in a year. I was driving as the sun was setting and I was totally blinded by it and had to stop the car in the middle of the road. I could only think about what could have happened if I had had my 2 grandsons in the car and someone would have hit it.

I decided I needed to see one of the doctors recommended on the site. I did and had surgery 5 weeks later done by one of the top corneal surgeons in the county. The second is scheduled for Nov. I would never have known any of this without FF and would have still been just coping. Now I can see things at night like never before. The world is a totally different place at night for me and I have only had the first surgery.! The things that I have learned from The Corneal Dystrohy Foundation and Fuch's Friends have been invaluable to me. I am very thankful for the support from members and moderators and this journey would have been much more difficult without their help. I more than likely would still just be coping.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make more support groups that meet for lunch a few times a year throughout the U.S. so that more people would have access to them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The fuchsfriends yahoo group is made possible by the Corneal Dystrophy Foundation. If you have Fuchs or have a family member or friend with Fuchs, membership in this support group is a must. I was diagnosed over 20 years ago and could find nothing at that time to educate me on this disease. Fortunately, I found the Corneal Dystrophy Foundation website and their Fuchs Friends support group about 7 years ago. There was a symposium held in my area shortly after that which I attended and learned a great deal about the partial transplants that were then being done. My corneal specialist knew nothing about these partial transplants and was only doing full thickness transplants. My vision quickly deteriorated in the last 2 years and, only because of Fuchs Friends, I knew what procedure I wanted and what doctor I wanted to do it. As of this month, I am Fuchs Free and have crystal clear 20/20 vision. This Foundation and support group provide invaluable support and information.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I subscribe to a forum or Yahoo email group related to the Corneal Dystrophy Foundation and I believe that is also managed by by them. As a member of the email group I was able to learn a great deal and connect with others who were going through the same thing as I. If I had questions they were usually answered by someone in the group on a timely basis. I have had both of my eyes corrected now and am blessed because of that. Since I no longer have the problems I rarely have the need or time to stay involved, but do still receive the emails just to stay connected.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None known.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 23, 2010

I learned much about my inherited eye problem and found a great Doctor where my Winter home is near Ft. Myers, Florida. I have had one surgery so far and will need three more in years to come. I hav... more

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a member for many years and gained much insight and knowledge about Fuch's. I found the Doctor who did my surgeries through this group and have had a very good outcome. I have gone to two sysposiums that Fuch's Friends has had and meet many wonderful people. We have just recently started a local group here in the Chicago area and it is go great to talk to others with my eye disease.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage more local groups and local meetings.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2010

I learned much about my inherited eye problem and found a great Doctor where my Winter home is near Ft. Myers, Florida. I have had one surgery so far and will need three more in years to come. I have gone to one meeting of this foundation at Duke University in North Carolina and met some wonderful people. I follow their e-mailed blogs and use their site for further information on Doctors and such.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Yes, and they have been very helpful in educating me about my disease and getting help for it.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Fuchs' Friends Forum has provided me with a wealth of information and advice, especially when I was first diagnosed. Through the site I found a specialist who performed a Corneal Transplant on me. The results were miraculous.
I think the Foundation which supports this group has done a
great service to those who suffer from this disease.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have no changes to suggest

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Wonderful group of caring and very knowledgeable people who have provided excellent information about Fuchs Dystrophy, including cutting edge transplant techniques and medical providers in various areas of the US. This knowledge has helped me and many others to locate and converse with corneal specialists to obtain the best care available for our relatively rare disease. I first joined this group in 2005 when diagnosed, and returned this year when I became symptomatic. Through this group I was able to locate and schedule transplant surgery with an outstanding specialist.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make Yahoo go back to the 'old' way of reading and searching group posts!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Wonderful group. Excellent information. Very helpful to me personally and, I am sure, to many others. I will continue to support financially even though I no longer read the emails daily because of my busy schedule.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Joined this group as soon as I was diagnosed with Fuchs. Extremely helpful. Thank you for all your expertise.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Great group. Helped me through my partial corneal transplants for Fuch's Corneal Dystrophy over the past 10 - 11 years. Always had the latest technical information available on the web site and discussion group.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Finding the CDF was a godsend to me when I was desperately trying to learn more about my corneal (Fuchs) dystrophy. I was in the dark about my options for management of the disease, options for care and, ultimately, surgery. I cannot say enough about the weight that was lifted off my shoulders when I opened the door to the CDF. Knowledge is power, and support of peers and experts gives one hope. Empowerment and hope are a huge part in the processes of healing and wholeness. Thank you, CDF, for giving me both!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

If they lived near San Jose Ca could help us get the Quarterly Newsletter produced (folding, stapling, labeling).