Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.888895
Write A Review
August 2, 2013

I learned from Charity Navigator that several organizations We have been supporting for years were much lower rated than The Conservation Fund. So we decided to put our money where it could be more effective.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2013

I am only a teenager but I am planning on exploring all that my home country has to offer so I was looking for a group that I could trust to help me look after it until I can. The Conservation fund comes extremely highly recommended, I assume largely to how transparent and honest they are with the public with any and all relevant information! I strongly believe that I can trust this group with my donation and I will definitely give more on later occasions!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

I understand this charity works to change the environment politically and in other ways.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Investigate the CEO's salary to see if it is reasonable to reduce the salary.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

May 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have always supported the preservation and protection of our ever-fragile environment. The Conservation Fund has the highest rating on Charity Navigator, and is extremely efficient in how it distributes its funds. I am proud to be a small financial supporter of the environment, and I look forward to a greener future that The Conservation Fund will make possible.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My experiences with The Conservation Fund are with the Texas field office (see: http://www.conservationfund.org/places-we-work/texas/). I have known Texas Director Andy Jones and his colleague in the Pineywoods, Julie Shackelford, for more than a decade. Whenever I can provide assistance, I jump at the chance. I only wish I could do more.

What I have witnessed is a no-nonsense, scientific, intellectual, and businesslike approach to habitat conservation. The Conservation Fund is lean and focused. They have also been among the first to adopt new business models in keeping with the times. Their approach is a bit like a SWAT team - they identify the need, and they proceed to fix it. The end.

I have worked for other conservation and wildlife nonprofits over the years, both as a staff member and as a volunteer. The Conservation Fund stands head-and-shoulders above the rest. Whenever I have asked for advice and assistance, they have given it to me without delay and without question. They are not emotional, but they are kind, and they adhere to the highest ethical standards.

Other groups in the conservation arena are quite adept at "feel good" self-promotion, and many are also staff-heavy. The membership you contribute is eaten-up quickly by administrative overhead, and the land and/or species protected are relatively fewer. When asked, I always suggest people contribute to The Conservation Fund. I have the utmost trust in them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I believe a few more staff might be helpful, particularly in the communications and development arenas. Donors, volunteers, and the general public want and need to know more. The more they know, the more support that can be secured. The Conservation Fund would benefit from more staff dedicated to managing public access to the organization, so the conservation experts can focus on their jobs. Having said that, I can't imagine the organization becoming too staff-heavy. They know what works best!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I've been a long time supporter and advocate of the fund. They assisted me and my former employer (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service) in protecting many thousand acres of valuable wildlife habitats. They facilitated these actions in most professional and efficient manner and did so with a minimal amount of funding spent on administrative overhead.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I support the Conservation Fund over other environmental charities for four reasons.
1. It protects not only environmentally sensitive land, water, air, and habitats; but historic and culturally important places too.
2. It makes local individuals and groups partners in its efforts, rather
than alienating local interests.
3. It is nonpartisan.
4. Most important, it is incredibly efficient. I know that almost all the money I give protects important places and habitats, rather than being eaten up by overhead and administrative costs.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am impressed by the ratio of "good deeds" to fundruaising and administrative costs. My core values match the Conservations mission of preserving land using partnerships with public and private entities so that conservation fosters economic viability. I further believe strongly that our chldren need to know nature on a first name basis, and to feel at home there, which is a core program of the Conservation Fund.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

After many years sending support to the Nature Conservancy, I have learned more about the CONSERVATION FUND, and now, because it has a far superior ratio of funds used for conservation to funds used for administration, I NOW only support the FUND and will make it a beneficiary in my will. I also like the possibility of having my donations used in Virginia, my home. The work done to preserve land and all the creatures and diverse plant life it supports is a most valuable function!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 8, 2012

Each year my husband and I decide where we would like to donate money. I feel that conservation of land is of the utmost importance to the future of our country and our world. As the population of humanity increases, the threat to pure open space also increases. We are proud to donate to a group like the Conservation Fund that not only has a worthwhile goal, but also makes the most of its money by not wasting its resources on things like mailings, advertisements, or unnecessary staffing. As long as this organization continues its excellent work, we will continue our support.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers