Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.909095
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
January 18, 2014

Came across the Conservation Fund while I was browsing a website on the most efficient charities in America. I'm an architect in Chattanooga and have witnessed the witnessed the benefits of public/private partnerships and non profit organizations. I'm also a lover of the outdoors and historic places, and noticed that the Conservation Fund had worked on some projects in my region. All of these factors made it seem like the Conservation Fund was a great charity to donate to and I continue to proudly support it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 20, 2013

Your recent help in the Fiery Gizzard land purchace inspired my donation. My family is from the Tennessee Savage gulf area "God's country" and has been there for over 200 years. I love natural beauty and it does not get any better. I travel all over this beautiful country and would like to help see it stay that way. I would like to thank you and support for your continued effort.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try for 4 stars.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 12, 2013

I have been a huge fan and supporter since I first learned about The Conservation Fund from Blaine Phillips, Jr, who is the Mid-Atlantic Regional Director., in 2008.

In my opinion, The Conservation Fund is a very special organiazation comprised of highly dedicated and passionate
individuals who deeply care about saving our habitat.

The Conservation Fund's role in making the first National Monument in the State of Delaware a reality is a powerful testament of how collaberative efforts between various organzations can have on making a vision a reality.

This is why I believe in and support The Conservation Fund.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 13, 2013

For several years, I've given off and on to various well-known conservation organizations. In response, I was inundated with calendars, greeting cards, address stickers and other unsolicited "stuff." It struck me that if we're into conservation, why in the world would we have various types of paper piling up in our house sent to us in the form of junk mail? I looked them all up on Charity Navigator, an assessment organization I trust, and discovered that none of them were particularly great stewards of donations. But I never found a good replacement until today. Although Charity Navigator ranks The Conservation Fund as one of the Top 10 Charities Everyone Has Heard Of, I had somehow managed to miss it. After reading their evaluation, then exploring the Conservation Fund's website, I feel so much better about where my donation is going. Even though it's not a huge sum, I feel pretty confident it will make a difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't know yet. Provided I don't get six zillion mailings a year, we should be in good shape!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013

This donation was made in memory of Eleanor June Mantoen, a lover of natural beauty. Your outstanding ranking on Charity Navigator made the selection of your charity an easy one.

More feedback...

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 2, 2013

I learned from Charity Navigator that several organizations We have been supporting for years were much lower rated than The Conservation Fund. So we decided to put our money where it could be more effective.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2013

I am only a teenager but I am planning on exploring all that my home country has to offer so I was looking for a group that I could trust to help me look after it until I can. The Conservation fund comes extremely highly recommended, I assume largely to how transparent and honest they are with the public with any and all relevant information! I strongly believe that I can trust this group with my donation and I will definitely give more on later occasions!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

I understand this charity works to change the environment politically and in other ways.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Investigate the CEO's salary to see if it is reasonable to reduce the salary.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

May 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have always supported the preservation and protection of our ever-fragile environment. The Conservation Fund has the highest rating on Charity Navigator, and is extremely efficient in how it distributes its funds. I am proud to be a small financial supporter of the environment, and I look forward to a greener future that The Conservation Fund will make possible.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My experiences with The Conservation Fund are with the Texas field office (see: http://www.conservationfund.org/places-we-work/texas/). I have known Texas Director Andy Jones and his colleague in the Pineywoods, Julie Shackelford, for more than a decade. Whenever I can provide assistance, I jump at the chance. I only wish I could do more.

What I have witnessed is a no-nonsense, scientific, intellectual, and businesslike approach to habitat conservation. The Conservation Fund is lean and focused. They have also been among the first to adopt new business models in keeping with the times. Their approach is a bit like a SWAT team - they identify the need, and they proceed to fix it. The end.

I have worked for other conservation and wildlife nonprofits over the years, both as a staff member and as a volunteer. The Conservation Fund stands head-and-shoulders above the rest. Whenever I have asked for advice and assistance, they have given it to me without delay and without question. They are not emotional, but they are kind, and they adhere to the highest ethical standards.

Other groups in the conservation arena are quite adept at "feel good" self-promotion, and many are also staff-heavy. The membership you contribute is eaten-up quickly by administrative overhead, and the land and/or species protected are relatively fewer. When asked, I always suggest people contribute to The Conservation Fund. I have the utmost trust in them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I believe a few more staff might be helpful, particularly in the communications and development arenas. Donors, volunteers, and the general public want and need to know more. The more they know, the more support that can be secured. The Conservation Fund would benefit from more staff dedicated to managing public access to the organization, so the conservation experts can focus on their jobs. Having said that, I can't imagine the organization becoming too staff-heavy. They know what works best!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers